The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Wednesday, November 25th, 1998

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Very Bad Things
A bride-to-be (Cameron Diaz) will let nothing get in the way of her perfect wedding day, not even a bachelor party with deadly ramifications. With Christian Slater, Daniel Stern, and Jeanne...  View more >

R
strong, grisly violence, sexuality, drug use and language

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Very Bad Things.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by Mikey R Jan 25, 2000

This is the first (and hopefully last) time I've seen a movie and felt sick afterwards. I generally have a thick skin regarding movies (PRIVATE RYAN? No effect. SCHINDLER'S LIST? Not that bad). But this movie is different and, in a word, OBSCENE.

Yes, this movie is an obscene, disgusting, perverted comedy. I guess I'll never understand why people find vile comedies (EX: SOMETHING ABOUT MARY) so appealing. As black comedies go, this one is pitch black. It relies on shock value to get laughs. Now, maybe I'm just a purist, but I don't see the humor in a) A prostitute dying as a result of being accidentally slammed into a hook during sex, b) Her body being carved into pieces by an electric knife, c) A guy intentionally running over his brother, or d) a man killing a security guard by jamming a corkscrew into his heart. All these scenarios occur at the beginning of VERY BAD THINGS, and then it gets really disgusting.

I can safely say that I would NOT shake writer/director Peter Berg's hand if I ever met him. Anyone twisted enough to create this film doesn't deserve recognition or praise. If I owned a movie theater, I would refuse to screen this horrible film. The worst thing is that it CONDONES and GLAMORIZES such horrible violence. My only hope is that this film be banned and its writer arrested.

The ONLY good thing about the whole experience was that, along with the advance screening of the rotton film itself, I had the extreme pleasure of seeing an advance trailer for what will certainly surpass TITANIC's box office records, STAR WARS: EPISODE ONE. Let me say this: that flick is going to be BETTER than any from the first trilogy. EPISODE ONE WILL BE THE GREATEST FILM OF ALL TIME!

RATING: F- (Zero out of 10) EPISODE ONE trailer rating: A+++ (15 out of 10)!

 

[--- See Now! ---]by JAY Jan 25, 2000

WOW!

This is the best movie of the year with no dought. There is no thinking applied, the idea is original and gruesome and the acting is amazing. Saving Private Ryan, HA!

The academy should definately recognize Cameron Diaz for a best supporting actress.

A+

 

[--- Stay Away! ---]by gene Jan 25, 2000

Never before have I walked out of a movie feeling that I should call my mother, go to confession, and drink a gallon of bleach. I felt it portrayed some of the most evil people I have ever seen, and was an extreme, even for black comedy. It dissapoints me that those who make films rely on such displays of all that is bad to make a little cash. The movie did indeed keep my attention, but mainly due to the overall sense of horror it developed in me. I walked away wondering what the point was.

 

[--- Stay Away! ---]by MAC DADDY Jan 25, 2000

UGH! Very bad things is a very bad movie. I liked Cameron Diaz's role on "The Mask" and "There's Something about Mary" She got a lame role and her acting was really bad. The movie wasn't funny at all. IT'S STINKS!

GRADE:F

GOOD= The credits

BAD= THE ENTIRE MOVIE! IT'S TRASH, even Ringmaster is better then this movie.

 

[--- Stay Away! ---]by John Jan 25, 2000

PROLOGUE: The Friday after Thanksgiving, to me, is better than the holiday itself. I have a long standing tradition of hitting the malls for a day of early Christmas shopping, and then capping the day off at my favorite multiplex with a movie. Being that ENEMY OF THE STATE was sold out and I didn't feel like watching a kids movie like A BUGS LIFE or RUGRATS, I decided to check out VERY BAD THINGS. It was the worst moviegoing decision of my life.

Never before in my life have I actually walked out of a theatre (or considered doing so)during a movie. When I saw this movie, the only thing that kept me inside was that I wanted to see just how far the filmmakers would go. I CAN SAFELY SAY THAT THIS WAS THE WORST MOVIE I HAVE EVER SEEN. The most disgusting thing about this movie is that it glorifies horrible acts of murder and violence.

I would spit in the face of writer/director Peter Berg for thinking this vile film up, as well as Cameron Diaz, Christian Slater, Jon Faverau, Daniel Stern, and everyone else in the cast, for finding humor and merit in Berg's script.

To be honest, I am seriously considering filing a lawsuit against Polygram films, for producing this filth, as well as against the MPAA for rating this movie R. This is absolute pornographic violence, every bit as bad as those FACES OF DEATH films. This movie does not belong in movie theatres. It violates every obscenity law.

 

[--- Stay Away! ---]by Seymore Skagnetti Jan 25, 2000

Everyone who has seen this movie has either loved it or hated it. Count me in in the (much larger) group of those who think it sucks. Lousy acting, disgusting gags, and a lame script lead to one of the worst films I've ever seen. Don't see it.

 

[--- Good ---]by Jack Moninger Jan 25, 2000

Ever see those horrible WHEN ANIMALS ATTACK or WORLD'S SCARIEST FATALITIES shows on FOX? Imagine an entire movie of such gratuitous violence and you have 'Very Bad Things'. Everyone who has seen it hated it, and I agree with it. It just proves that actors are idiots, because this lousy movie drew some of Hollywood's best talent to Hollywood's worst script.

 

[--- Stay Away! ---]by Mark Welch Jan 25, 2000

My God, look what Tarantino has spawned. I donít know where to start with this film that insults the genre known as black comedy, a genre that Iím quite fond of, as many of you already know from reading my overwhelmingly positive reviews from filmmakers such as the Coen brothers, Todd Solenz, and Neil LaBute. But VBT has plot holes you can drive a truck through, goes over the top more often than a guest on the Jerry Springer Show just for the sake of doing so, and by the end is all over the map, not clarifying what the point to the whole mess is. Most importantly, itís simply not funny. Is it sick and/or warped? Sure. But so were Fargo, Thereís Something About Mary, Pulp Fiction, Happiness, The Big Lebowski, Reservoir Dogs and Welcome to the Dollhouse, just to name a few recent entries into the genre. So why did I give the previous 7 movies a (****) rating and VBT (* Ĺ)? Because Very Bad Things is not funny. The bad things themselves are what are supposed to be funny, not the quirky characters or the irony of a given situation or the well-written dialogue. VBT has none of these elements. Instead, Christian Slater rants incessantly, seeming like a bad parody of a typecast maniac. Not only are characters undeveloped, they are also inconsistent, an unforgivable mistake. And if imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, then perhaps Quentin Tarantino himself ought to get a chuckle over a scene with the main characters walking in slow motion, directly ripped off of the classic scene from Reservoir Dogs. That would be the only chuckle I can imagine anyone getting out of Very Bad Things.

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Trey Jan 25, 2000

Finally a movie that crushes all that lame candy-coated Hollywood trash (i.e. You Got Mail, etc. etc.) It is violent, it is sick and twisted, but it is unlike just about any film I can remember. Go just to see Christian Slater who reprises the psycho role that he did so well in Heathers. So don't be one of the goody-two-shoes boring suburbanites who say that this film is bad. Live a little and get on with your bad self for once!

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Ryan Jan 25, 2000

93 whopping comments under IMDB!!! This movie bombed in the box-office and it still has a whopping 93 comments in the IMDB. Everyone who so vehemently hates this movie is solidifying its place as a "cult classic" and a excellent run in video release. (Every teenager who reads one of your reviews will run out and rent this movie). You are indirectly helping this movie survive in the long run. GOOD FOR YOU!!! I just went to see this movie for the second time with some friends just to see why this movie has so many people up in arms!!!! We all still loved it! Yes it's twisted, yes it's sick, yes it's not everyone's cup of tea, but it is in no way a BADLY made movie. It's actually rather well-filmed, competently acted, and histerically funny "BLACK COMEDY". This movie had some balls! It didn't glorify violence or cater to perverts and sickos like many are saying. (That's the easy thing for people who hated this movie to claim). There really wasn't a boring moment in this movie. It delved into the psyche of 5 friends after a terrible accident occurs and follows them through their emotional breakdowns. It's a movie that follows the whole "worst case scenario" theory to a cue! It shows what could happen to some semi-normal guys (except Slater's character, who was messed up already) under "worst case scenario" circumstances. Honestly, I don't know why so many people hated this movie so much. Everyone got what they deserved by the moral standards. It's not like they all lived happily ever after and got away with the horrendous crimes they committed. Now that would have screwed up the movie. It was a perfect ending to a well-made and highly entertaining movie. E-mail me at: ryadogg@aol.com if you have any complaints. I'm not a ***** that hides behind a fake address and JUDGES people. It's only a movie, and a mighty good one at that!

 

[--- Stay Away! ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberMay 18, 2003

Cameron Diaz after coming off her greatest performance in "There's Something About Mary," must need a paycheck. then there's "Very Bad Things," a terrible film that was made before "There's Something," but is getting around to releasing the film because of the star power of Diaz. The film is unfunny and ugly. There's not one credible scene in the movie. "Very Bad Things," is one very bad movie. 




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.