The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now


Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, February 13th, 1998

Directed by Frank Coraci 

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
The Wedding Singer

PG-13
sex-related material and language

Starring Adam Sandler, Drew Barrymore, Steve Buscemi...  View more >

he's gonna party like it's 1985!
View more information about this movie >


Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The Wedding Singer.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by Paul Hartlaub Jan 25, 2000

My whole family went to The Wedding Singer today, and except for our 3.5 year old (and 3 wk old), we thoroughly enjoyed it. For a superficial movie, it was relatively deep, with reasonable character development, a good message, and some fun music. Adam Sandler doesn't do a great job of acting, but is quite likeable. Drew Barrymore is wonderful, as is the supporting cast. The plot is a bit mature for our 3.5 year old (hence, PG 13 rating).

If you haven't seen the REALLY great movies currently at the big screen, see them (i.e., Titanic, Amistad, Good Will Hunting, As Good As it Gets) first, and see Wedding Singer on video eventually. But if you've seen
the big ones, go ahead and see Wedding Singer - you'll probably get a good laugh and enjoy the music and story.

 

[--- Good ---]by Ann Cook Jan 25, 2000

This movie was silly, predictable and well worth seeing if you want a pleasant couple of hours of light, non-thought provoking entertainment. Both Barrymore and Sandler are "cute". I was glad I saw it but I saw it free at a sneak preview so maybe if I had paid to see it I wouldn't have liked it as much. Who knows?

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Ryan Martinez Jan 25, 2000

Now, I know what a lot of you are thinking, you're all thinking why did he give this movie a must see? Well, I can explain this to you. The movie that you are about to see will be one of the funniest and
greatest cliche (did I spell that right) movie you'll see for awhile. I seem to of liked the 80's (after all, I was born around then) and always loved the 80's for its California, E.T. type style, so when I saw "The Wedding Singer" all those memories came flooding back to me. It was a sweet film, definitely a date type of movie, I went with my friend, which wasn't the greatest of choices. However, I soon forgot that I was even in the theatre when the movie started to play, the first thing that caught me was the music, how I loved it! I mean it was so eighties it was unbelievable, I actually had to catch myself from tapping my foot to the beat! Undeniably one of Adam Sandler's movies (and if you saw the other ones, and you see this one, you'll understand what I'm talking about) and Drew Barrymore was wonderful as the wounded 80's girl looking for love. Plenty of little things to catch on little phrases of 80's type things that'll make you grin our out right laugh at, catch them if you can. So, what I'm trying to say is that if you liked the 80's you'll want to see this movie, if not you can wait till it goes to the Budget, but go with a date, because if you're a hopeless romantic, this movie is a good jumping point.

 

[--- Good ---]by Christine Jan 25, 2000

This movie was really funny...it'll put u in a really good mood

 

[--- Good ---]by Ronnie Jan 25, 2000

I thought this was a good, light hearted movie. I went with a friend and her and I both agreed. It made me smile and still does when I think about it. Makes you believe in true love and happy endings.

 

[--- Good ---]by Steve J. Jan 25, 2000

First of all, you can skip the so-called "professional" reviews of this movie. They are misguided. Why do the pros assume that everybody who sees a movie is expecting a message? Why can't we just go to a movie to have fun? Well, if that's your objective, this movie is for you! It was really enjoyable watching
Adam and Drew in down-to-earth roles for a change. Both did a great job of portraying typical young-20s people from the mid 1980s. As a person who was in my young 20s at that time, it was fun to laugh at all of the strange and wonderful things that set that period apart. The music, the fashions, the trends; all were portrayed in an amusing manner that had me smiling when I left the theater. I even had a friend who sang at weddings during that time, and believe me, Adam nailed the part! If you just want to laugh and have a good time, go see this movie.

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Mike K. Jan 25, 2000

Great 80's retro music. Fun, witty, "romantic", and a memory flash back to the 80's. The movie had much more than shown in the previews. I've been to plenty of movies that were just "fill" around the previews.

If you were dating during the 80's, take the significant other and go see this!

 

[--- See Now! ---]by adam sandler (well, I'd like to be) Jan 25, 2000

Adam Sandler does it again. The Wedding Singer has such a great plot and so much heart. It's not some dumb movie about some dumb guy who meets some dumb girl. It really has soul and stuff the average person can relate to. Whether "Robby" (played by Adam Sandler) gets the girl or not, he shows a lot of human emotions. The acting is great and the actors are wonderful. I give it a five out of five stars!

 

[--- Good ---]by Bill Mykel Jan 25, 2000

I like this movie a lot. I found it a very pleasant diversion which is exactly what a movie should be. The first reason why I liked this movie was the music. I will probably buy the soundtrack. I've heard other critics call this movie "a 90 minute music video" I don't think that's a fair assessment but the music is a major part of the movie.

The second reason I liked the movie is the performances by Adam Sandler and Drew Barrymore are really well done. I initially thought that Drew Barrymore was miscasted as the "sweet, girl next door" type. But she pulls it off skillfully.

Obviously a person can't enter this movie with the same mindset that you would going to see "Titanic" or even "Scream 2" (which I liked better than the original). But if you just want to relax and have a good time then this is the movie you should see.

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Chris Jan 25, 2000

I think you should see the wedding singer immediatly. It's a great movie because it's funny and exciting. The story is about a wedding singer who is going to get married but his bride doesn't show for the wedding. He gets depressed but then meets a girl. The girl likes him but she is engaged to another man. See the movie to find out what happens next.

 

[--- Good ---]by Jessi Else Jan 25, 2000

"The Wedding Singer" is really a fun movie. There are so many great 80's jokes! I really enjoyed it. Keep your ears open for Adam Sandler's song that he wrote about his ex-fiance because it's really funny! It wasn't a hilarious movie, but there were parts that kept me laughing through the day. So see it if you can. Bring your friends, because it's definetly a friend movie. I hope that they make more 80's movies after this one! Who can resist such a fun blast from the past!!!

 

[--- Good ---]by Frijtof Jan 25, 2000

Great, fun, good date movie. Reminiscent of one of those light comedies from the forties or fifties with Heburn and Tracy. Normally Adam Sandler annoys me and Drew Barrymore scares me a little (bad experience with E.T., don't ask), but both were great in this light movie. Doubtlessly you will hear Drew Barrymore continuously described as "cute" in this movie, but there is no other good word available. She is just so---darned----cute. Adam Sandler gives a surprisingly understated performance as a wedding singer that lives for weddings, but can't seem to get to the altar on his own, his entire reason for being. The music, of course, is a trip and there are a number of 80's references that keep the film enjoyable. I'm currently going through an 80's retro phase now, so I'll be picking up the soundtrack, too. Seeing the movie on video won't diminish your enjoyment of the movie, so feel free to wait if you want. But when you do see the movie, just try and deny that Drew isn't the cutest little cutey you've ever seen. (Then mess with your head and rent Poison Ivy - Har!!)

 

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by Archcritic Jan 25, 2000

Billy, I mean Happy oh no I mean Robby.

Why do all Sandlers characters end in y or the "I" sound? I know why, I Called Lack of Original Material!

Over played, Adam Sandler has made another fuedal attempt at movie making. This time however he added a new twist to his self revolving madness. Instead of an idoit in the present, Robby is an idiot in the mid 80's. The most distrubing factor of this whole movie is that Sandler got a check out of it. The movie drags like gold chains that still hang around Mr. T's broken down washed up old body. Kudos, Mr. T. when I say "I Pity the Fool that pays to see this movie!" Sandler needs an original comedy role or perhaps a dramatic role in order to revive his career. He has potential, but this current career path is a one way ticket to partial role on the WB sitcom, that is to be cancelled at seasons end.

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Kelli Kopenski Jan 25, 2000

"The Wedding Singer" is a really great movie. I think that Adam Sandler sang the popular songs from the 80's really really well. Drew Barrymore played the role of Julia (to be Julia Goulia..hehe) very well, also. All of the actors/actresses did a really good job of portraying the roles that were given to them. Steve Buscemi also did a good job of playing a drunk, and there was a surprise appearance by yes, you guessed it, Billy Idol. He does a really cute bit on the airplane with Adam Sandler, but you'll just have to see it for yourself.

This movie is NOT another Billy Madison or Happy Gilmore (although those two were funny, also). This is a genuine American comedy where Adam Sandler and Drew Barrymore are drawn to each other after Glen cheats on her. The story takes place in 1985, and you'll have to listen for Adam Sandler's corny jokes because they are hilarious. SEE IT NOW!!

I give it ***1/2 out of ****

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Tabitha Jan 25, 2000

This was the greatest movie ever made. It had everything, including the Smiths and the Cure on the soundtrack. Adam Sandler even looks cute in a mullet. I haven't laughed so hard in a very very long time. I even cried at the end! Jon Lovitz and Steve Buchimi were fabulous. I can't wait to see it on video because then I can buy it and watch it again and again and again...

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Sarah Jan 25, 2000

I really enjoyed The Wedding Singer. I saw this movie in the theater three times. I found it to be quite funny, not to mention cute. Adam Sandler and Drew Barrymore really hit it off in this flick. I would recommend seeing this movie. It is funny, romantic and cute.

 

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by Ron Higgins VIP MemberJan 25, 2000

Wow - flash back to the 80's!

<A HREF="http://us.imdb.com/Name?Sandler,+Adam">Adam Sandler</A> stars as Robbie Hart in this comedy about a guy who has a band that does weddings and other events. He's gonna get married, but meets this waitress that works the hall that he performs at. This waitress, Julia, played by
<A HREF="http://us.imdb.com/Name?Barrymore,+Drew">Drew Barrymore</A>, is also getting married. But guess what? They're getting married to the wrong people!

Heavily overdone 80's themes fill this movie from start to finish. Were the 80's really like this? Yep, to a degree.

<A HREF="http://us.imdb.com/Name?Featherstone,+Angela">Angela Featherstone</A> plays Adam Sandlers girlfriend, Linda. She's not into what he has become, and done with his life. She wants more. There's a great scene in the movie between Linda and Robbie involving his Van Halen T-Shirt that's pretty funny if you know anything about the band.

Robbie has all the right lines when he's in front of an audience. He knows how to work a reception crowd. But that's all he does well, and it's gotten him nowhere.

It's been a while since I saw this movie, but recall that it was fun. The main reason I say "Wait for Rental" is that there's nothing here that needs to be experienced on the "Big Screen". This movie will look just fine on your 25" set at home.

Copyright 1998 - <I>Ron Higgins No unauthorized publication or distribution without the consent of Ron Higgins.</I>

 

[--- Good ---]by Martin Jan 25, 2000

Hilarious romantic comedy set in the 1980's. This film's plot and outcome is largely predictable but there are plenty of laughs to go with it. Music is good (mostly) and the acting is fairly good and the ending is, well, predictable...but well worth a look if you just want to sit back and relax and have a good laugh.

 

[--- Good ---]by Juan Jan 25, 2000

This movie was funny, but nowhere near as good as HAPPY GILMORE. It was not a typical Adam Sandler movie- too much romance and too little crude jokes.

 

[--- Good ---]by Erik Carollo Jan 25, 2000

"The Wedding Singer" is very predictable and somewhat contrived. It is also very funny.
While i do not recommend this one to Sandler fans(he cools off a bit)this is a decent film that has its moments. If it had a few more "moments" i would have given it a "Good". Sandlers performance is good, and so is Barrymores, but the story isn't good enough to get away with a low level of humor.
Don't get me wrong, as I said the "Wedding Singer" has some very funny moments, just not enough of them.

PG13-for language(I think)

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Dan Jan 25, 2000

You probably will not believe how good this movie actually is. The story-line was very well structured, and the comedy was top-notch. Not to mention the music, which will certainly resonate with 25-35 year olds. You won't be sorry you saw it.

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Anne Jan 25, 2000

This movie was exellent! I love it , I love it, I love it! And uh that's about all. Enjoy!

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Kelly Schneider Jan 25, 2000

this is such a funny movie. it also has my favorite acters, adam sandler and drew barimore. drew RULES! adam is pretty funny. the story is about how adam's girlfriend ditched him on his wedding day and how he hooks up with drew and they fall in love even tho she is ingaged to a really hot guy with a nice bod! if i was her, id stick with him becuz he has good looks and is also rich and thats the only 2 things any girl cares about. of corse, adam is so funny that you can probly figyure out who she marrys. the best part was when a grama starts rapping it was soooo funny!

 

[--- Good ---]by John Jan 25, 2000

This is a pretty good movie that suffers from the fact that its trailer was too good and gave away the wrong impression. I didn't expect the sensitivity from this movie. THIS IS A ROMANTIC COMEDY, not just your typical Adam Sandler movie. The best jokes are those pertaining to 80's trends (i.e. Drew Barrymore's Don Johnson wannbe boyfriend and his DeLorean). One of the movie's best lines comes when Adam Sandler is making fun of his friend's Michael Jackson wardrobe and says, "Say hi to Tito for me". I'm a big Adam Sandler fan, so I liked this movie, although it's not nearly as funny as his earlier efforts such as BILLY MADISON and HAPPY GILMORE.

 

[--- Stay Away! ---]by Jason Whyte Jan 25, 2000

I have never run into a character like Drew Barrymore's in "The Wedding Singer". Obviously written by guys, her Julia is a too perfect creation of goody goody niceness and schmaltz that I would never want to even date someone like this.

But Robby (Adam Sandler) wants her because she is so nice to him, and since Robby has been dumped by his fiancee' (Christine Taylor), Julia seems like the perfect choice. Yet Julia is engaged to Glenn, a pathetic and skirt chasing jerk <!-- (who seems the perfect man for fellow reviewer Kelly Schnieder) --> who has lots of cash<!-- (ditto) -->.

Its a leap of irony that this movie came out months before the vastly superior "There's Something About Mary", because "The Wedding Singer" seems like a film that would spawn out of "Mary's" success. This film couldn't decide what it wanted
to be: funny, sad, dramatic, or even well written. This is a far cry from the richly funny and spontanious "Happy Gilmore", Sandler's comedy about golfing that came out of nowhere. I never cared once about what was going on, much less
really cared for the appalling climax. Let's hope Sandler's next effort stay away from writers like this.

Grade: D

Tech Review:

Picture: 3 The picture is middling with good colors and black level.

Sound: 4 The dts soundtrack is very satisfying, with good channel sepearation and even a split surround effect or two.

Photography: 2 The film is matted to 1.85:1. Shots are mostly mediocre with no real caring for style. It's mostly tripod.

Length: 97 minutes. New Line Cinema. Rated PG-13 for language. jason_whyte@hotmail.com ICQ-4339199

 

[--- Good ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberJun 11, 2003

Adam Sandler's "The Wedding Singer" is quite funny, but there's more to it than being funny. It's the first movie from the 1990's that looks back on the 1980's with nostagia. Sandler as the Wedding singer is funny and yes he can sing. The film featuring Dew Barrymore as his love intrest. In addition, the fim has plenty of music from the 1980's. A fun ride down memory lane. 

[--- Good ---]by Scott Jentsch VIP MemberJul 21, 2003

The only Adam Sandler film I've enjoyed, much less been able to sit through. 




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.