The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now


Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, November 19th, 2010

Directed by David Yates

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Part 1
Academy Award® Nominee
The final chapter of the Harry Potter film series begins as Harry, Ron and Hermione leave Hogwarts behind and set out to find and destroy the Horcruxes--the secret to Voldemort's power and...  View more >

PG-13
some sequences of intense action violence and frightening images

Starring Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint, Emma Watson...  View more >

Academy Award® nominated for:
* Art direction
* Visual effects

The first of two parts.

Part 1 will be released during the holidays of...
View more information about this movie >


Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Part 1.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Good ---]by Tanya and Kevin Nov 19, 2010
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by BigScreen Reader Nov 21, 2010
[--- Good ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberNov 23, 2010

It's a good thing that "Harry Potter and the Deadly Hollows" are broken into two parts; otherwise I could've sat though a six-hour movie. As the next to the last Harry Potter movie opens, Harry and his frinds are on the run from Voldemort who wants to kill Potter in order to restore his true power. I can't reveal the ending, but it's a set-up for the final movie of the series, which will be release in July 2011. I'm already there. .  

[--- See Now! ---]by Sue Nov 23, 2010
[--- Good ---]by Sinamax Dec 1, 2010

I am a big fan of the series but I will have to say that this one was a bit slow and at times boring. I know it is the lead in to the final chapter but still it should have been better. A lot of wasted space. 

[--- See Now! ---]by M1D1 Dec 9, 2010

This is the best one yet! It sticks the closest to the book because they've given themselves enough time to tell the story with the second part coming out soon. 

[--- Good ---]by Scott Jentsch VIP MemberDec 23, 2010

I admit to feeling a little lost when it comes to this installment and the previous one (Half-Blood Prince).

Perhaps ardent fans are rewarded by knowing what's going on without it all being explained on-screen, but in these last two movies, I feel that those of us that have only seen the movies are at a disadvantage. Maybe I'm in a distinct minority because I've only read the first book, but a movie shouldn't require the viewer to have knowledge of other material to make sense.

That aside, this was an enjoyable movie. The sense of dread and near sorrow that is part of the first scenes with the three primary characters is palpable. It drags a little due to the exposition necessary to explain plot points from earlier installment, but I wasn't bothered by it.

Since it's the first part of a two-part finale to the series, it doesn't end with any closure, but at least they didn't say "to be continued..." as the last scene faded to black. Part 1 will only be able to be evaluated properly once Part 2 has been released, so the two can make the whole.

If you're a die-hard fan, you've already seen this, and probably more than once. If you're not a die-hard fan and you haven't yet seen it, you might be better off waiting until late spring when the home video release happens, and the wait for Part 2 on July 15th won't be so long. 

[--- Good ---]by wetback39906 Jul 31, 2011



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.