The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

© 2008 PARAMOUNT PICTURES ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, May 8th, 2009

Directed by J.J. Abrams

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Star Trek
Academy Award® Winner
The 11th installment in the Star Trek movie series. This will be a prequel, covering the time when a young James T. Kirk meets Mr. Spock at Starfleet Academy and take their first mission together.  View more >

PG-13
sci-fi action and violence and brief sexual content

Starring Chris Pine, Zachary Quinto, Eric Bana...  View more >

Academy Award® winner for:
* Makeup

Academy Award® nominated for:
* Sound Editing
* Sound Mixing
* Visual Effects
...
View more information about this movie >


Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Star Trek.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by The FLICK MAN. May 8, 2009
[--- See Now! ---]by Chaz May 8, 2009

WOW!
There just isn’t anything else that needs to be said.
From beginning to end this film keeps your attention.
Before the show starts get all the popcorn and drinks you want, because if you leave, you’ll miss something.

Young movie goers will get hooked on Star Trek and seasoned viewers will enjoy the way the Movie Makers put this together. It fits everywhere. All the pieces work.

I liked the way they developed all the characters.
Kirk being born at about the time his father died. You get to witness the famed Kobayashi Maru training exercise that we all heard so much about and we learn plenty of great details.

Spocks early childhood and the reason he chose Starfleet Academy over the Vulcan Science Academy.

Bones first encounter with Kirk which started a life-long friendship.

And Scotty…wow. What a perfect actor to play him.

Everything was perfect! Go see it in the Theater. Sit up close! Get right into this one folks. One last thing, after watching the end, you just know there will be plenty more.

Go see it now!
Live Long and prosper!
Say your prayers! 

[--- See Now! ---]by energy May 11, 2009
[--- See Now! ---]by Theresa May 11, 2009

WOW! I was concerned that they would not be able to capture all the complexities of each character and how they interact with each other, but they NAILED it! :-) What a delight to know they didn't miss the humor as well as capture the action and characters! Next time I'm seeing it on IMAX! I had a crush on William Shatner as Kirk and I'm surprised to find the same personality that Chris Pine brings to the role. Definitely a MUST SEE! :-) 

[--- See Now! ---]by BAMFRA May 12, 2009

Is this the best Star Trek movie ever? No, that distinction still belongs to Wrath of Khan. But this is a close second. A very well made, well acted movie, and worth seeing on the big screen as soon as possible. 

[--- Good ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberMay 13, 2009

I'm not a trekkie. I don't wear Spock ears and I don't attend Star Trek conventions. I like the new Star Trek movie a little, but not a lot. It's up to J.J. Abrams to pump new blood into the series. This movie follows the lives of James T. Kirk and Mr. Spock as they go though training at the Starfleet Academy and eventually end up on the enterprise. I love the new cast of the movie. Watching them on the big screen, made me think of the old cast from the 1960's. Like I always said before, I like the James T. Kirk's crew a lot better than the next generation. Even the villain is appealing. I even like the music score. it's great to restart the series. it's time to boldly go again. With the new Star trek movie, it's a start.  

[--- Good ---]by garystan May 13, 2009

Very good to excellent, maybe the best of all 11 Star Trek fillms. I have two ideas for improvement, the theater I saw it is had the audio so loud it was painful, a normal volume would make it more enjoyable. Second, the movie is apparently made for a society with chronic ADD, very fast action, maybe they could have made it into a 3 or 4 hour long version, maybe it would be the best film for the year, but it still might make it. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Tom K May 15, 2009

Best of the Trek films. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Niki May 15, 2009

Loved it! Used to watch the Original Star Trek with my dad and I really enjoyed this new start for people in my age group. You won't be disappointed. 

[--- Good ---]by The Reviewer May 16, 2009

If you're not a star trek geek, you might not get all of the hidden jokes and plot developement. As an objective observer, I thought that the film was entertaining but not one of the most climatic movies I've ever seen. The characters, while somewhat a product of teenage sex-symbol pop culture, were well developed. The action was non-stop. And the ending left me wishing there was a bigger climax. So, if I- not being a star trek fan can find enjoyment in this new film, the fan will most certainly be drooling and "trekking out" days after. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Ann D. May 28, 2009

Fantastic! Funny, exciting and awe-inspiring, The best Star Trek movie yet, in my opinion. See it in a theater - up front, where you can immerse yourself in the action. 

[--- See Now! ---]by artier75 Jun 5, 2009

Tells the whole story this movie would work for those who never saw one episode of star trek plus you get non stop action and a great ending for future movies best of the year so far 

[--- Good ---]by Carol Jun 13, 2009
[--- Good ---]by Sinamax Jun 16, 2009

I feel none of the Star Trek movies have been that good. This is the best of all of them but i still can't say i would tell you it is a "see now" type of movie. 

[--- See Now! ---]by art Jul 4, 2009

A good prequel to Star Trek movies. L. Nimoy shows later. 

[--- Good ---]by Scott Jentsch VIP MemberJul 8, 2009

It's better than I expected it to be.

Seeing in this on the big screen with a good sound system is important, as those aspects are going to be important to your enjoyment of the movie. There is a story here, but the visual and sound effects are what makes the impression.

Given what they've done here, I wouldn't mind seeing more installments of this rebooted series. 

[--- Good ---]by wetback39906 Jul 19, 2012



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.