The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

© 2010 Paramount Pictures Corporation All rights reserved
.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, June 10th, 2011

Directed by J.J. Abrams
Genre: SciFi/Fantasy
Running Time: 1:52

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Super 8
In the summer of 1979, a group of friends in a small Ohio town set out to make a zombie movie. While shooting their Super 8 film, they witness a catastrophic train crash and, after barely escaping...  View more >

PG-13
intense sequences of sci-fi action and violence, language and some drug use

Starring Kyle Chandler, Elle Fanning, Ron Eldard...  View more >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  5 56 See Now! Percent
Good  3 33 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  1 11 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  0 0 Stay Away! Percent
9 Total Reviews

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by   Jun 10, 2011
Awesome movie. Make sure you stay into the credits, bonus material is really good.
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP Member Jun 11, 2011
What a great movie. "Super 8" takes us back to a time where summer movies are made from the heart. Not those who only intent are special effects and 100 million dollar budget. "Suoer 8" is a movie that's got everything. It has special effects, but it also had suspense and a big heart. The film is directed by JJ Abrans andd produced by Steven Spielberg. The film takers place in the 1970's, where a group of kids, while filming a zombie movie, they witness a train treck and within wreck and something escaper from one of the car and in a process, it's destroying a town. The Kids in the movie reminds me of the 1985 movie "The Goonies." One standout is Elle Fanning who I'm becoming a big fan of the actress. I like the movie. I like the direction of the movie I was on the edge of my seat until the end. I can't reveal the end, you just have to see it for yourself. The summer movie season isn't over till late August, but when it's over and one summer movie comes of mind, it would be a film that will stand on it's own and that movie is call "Super 8." You just got to see it to believe it.
[--- See Now! ---]by   Jun 14, 2011
[--- Good ---]by   Jun 15, 2011
[--- Good ---]by VIP Member Jun 17, 2011
My rating here, after having seen the movie last night, varies between a 'Good' and a 'See Now'.

I think the decision to keep most of what this movie was about a secret worked in its favor. I was very interested in how the movie unfolded as it happened, unlike so many other films where you've seen so much of it in the trailers/previews.

While I found the train-wreck sequence completely unbelievable, I enjoyed being transported back to 1979 Ohio for this story about some school-aged kids making a zombie movie when something extraordinary happens.

To say too much about this movie would undermine the secrecy that helped build interest and suspense, so I shall not say more, other than you'll want to stay for the credits.
[--- See Now! ---]by   Jun 23, 2011
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by   Aug 12, 2011
[--- See Now! ---]by   Aug 17, 2011
[--- Good ---]by VIP Member Dec 27, 2011
This movie received a lot of hype before its release, and my expectations for it probably outstripped the end result that was put onto the screen.

That said, however, Super 8 was good to watch. The kids did a good job in their performances (probably better than the adults did) and the tension about the origin and motivations of the monster was palpable. As with most monster movies, the actual monster wasn't as good as the mystery leading up to its reveal, but it wasn't a groaner either.

It's not one to own in my book, but it was definitely worth watching once.

Reader VoiceMake Your Voice Heard!

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Super 8.




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.