Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
The Revenant
Academy Award® Winner
In an expedition of the uncharted American wilderness, legendary explorer Hugh Glass (Leonardo DiCaprio) is brutally attacked by a bear and left for dead by members of his own hunting team. In a...  View more >

Starring Leonardo DiCaprio, Tom Hardy, Will Poulter...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Jan 12, 2016
Boring...overdone sound track...silly "artistic impressions"...acting is just grunts and groans...made by people who obviously don't spend any time outdoors in the wilderness in the winter. A farce!
Jan 13, 2016
Jan 18, 2016
Very action packed , some great makeup . I did enjoy it , kept me on the edge of my seat , for the whole movie
Jan 18, 2016
As usual, the previews made this look like it was going to be epic! Leo DiCaprio sure didn't have many lines to learn...he was moaning or screaming during most of the movie. I wouldn't sit through it again. The two best parts of the movie were the bear attack & the horse going over the cliff! Wait for it to come on pay per view, is my recommendation!!
Jan 26, 2016
"The Revenant" is a very violent, but enduring tale of harsh survive of early America. As it turns out the place is full of trappers, Indians and Buffalo. Yes, this movie is very violent. so violent, that it makes "The Hateful Eight" look like "Goosebumps." So, if you saw "The Hateful Eight" and say that "The Revenant" is a piece of cake, don't kid yourself. If you're going to see it, be prepare. Leo DiCapario plays Hugh Glass, a trapper who out to skin animals. Later in the movie, he is brutally attack by a bear, Later they buried him alive and killed his son. When he crawled out of his grave, he vow to go after the man responaible, He is played by Tom Hardy who with he long bread, may be the cloest that he wiil come to playing Bane in "The Dark Knight Rises." DiCaprio played his role very well. So well, that he might get his very first Academy Award. The film's very violent, but well made by Director Alejandro Inanvitu, who directed last year's "Birdman."
Jan 31, 2016
i saw this movie at your theater two weeks ago and it has haunted me since as i would like to see it again, yes, it may be slow as some say and violent also but canada and argentina is spectacular with the snow. the bear scene is stupendouse alone as how they achieved it. Leo's lines were few but for the harsh weather conditions he put up with for such a great movie, to me that says oscar winner.
Feb 15, 2016
Okay, very slow sometimes
Jul 2, 2016
I did not like this film nearly as much as I thought I would. To start: Tom Hardy out acted Leonardo DiCaprio in the Revenant. Leo did nothing special except crawl around in the snow and mud most of the movie. The movie's opening sequence is actually really good. Unfortunately, the film is downhill from there. It didn't hold my interest and just became boring. Fast. Every minute of Leo grunting and spitting and crawling around felt like ten minutes instead of one. This leads directly into another problem I had with The Revenant: length of the film. This movie had absolutely no practical reason to be 2.5 hours and it felt closer to 4 hours. The middle hour of this movie could've easily been chopped down and summed up in about 10 minutes. There's a full 3 rounds of Leo vs. Bear and although the sequence was very well shot, it felt out of place and odd.

The movie is intense, that's for sure, but at one point it turned from a survival drama to a film about race disputes between Native Americans, French, and Americans. As much as a lot of critics and fans are raving about DiCaprio's performance, it was nothing special. I would argue he didn't even deserve the nomination, much less the actual Oscar win.

I felt hardly any emotional attachment to any character in this film. The characters I felt for the most were the little bear cubs after the bear fight.

All of this being said though, it is an extraordinarily beautiful movie. The scenery was gorgeous and the cinematography was wonderful. The way each scene seems like one solid cut with just panning the camera back and forth is definitely Inarritu's directing style, but this film seemed a little too messy, and Inarritu definitely should not have won the Oscar for best director.

This movie just got too much praise for what it actually was, which is a borderline incompetent film with about 75% of the camera shots just being a bunch of nature shots. These nature shots are, sure, pretty, but add to the run time way more than they should and really add no substance to the film that already barely has substance.

Not to mention the fact that you can barely call The Revenant "based on a true story" because of how much it differs from the reality of Hugh Glass' expedition. Just to put it in perspective of the differences from film to real life, Glass never had a son, much less relations with Native Americans. After being left for dead, he forgave his crew and friends who did so. These are huge themes that were changed for the film, and just made anyone who did any research on the real thing who also watched the film angry.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The Revenant.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2018, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook