Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Whiskey Tango Foxtrot
When reporter, Kim Baker's (Tina Fey) life needs something more, she decides to ‘shake it all up' by taking an assignment in a war zone. There, in the midst of chaos, she finds the strength she...  View more >

Starring Tina Fey, Margot Robbie, Billy Bob Thornton...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Mar 4, 2016
Comedy? This movie is described as a comedy? Not too many laughs in it. A lot of really foul language, and drug use. It is a good movie, but don't go to see it expecting a comedy!!! It is an interesting story, and a good (realistic~~I guess) view of life over there. Shocking and hard to imagine. Tina Fey does a great job in it.
Mar 8, 2016
Tina Fey is appealing in the movie "Whiskey Tango Foxtrot." The movie has been view a comedy, but don't believe it. War is not funny. "M.A.S.H." the 1970 movie could be called a comedy despite despite the theme of the movie is war in Korea. But with this movie, they couldn't get away with it. Tina Fey plays a reporter Kim Barker who was assign to report from the battlefront in Afghanistan. I like the movie despite a few embrassing moments Margot Robbie is appealing as Fey's friend. I love tina Fey so much that, I'm willing to go though the horrows of war with her.
Mar 8, 2016
Mar 12, 2016
So boring, could hardly sit through it.
Sorry Tina.
Mar 20, 2016
May 11, 2016
Jun 26, 2016
Kim Baker (Tina Fey) is an American reporter who goes overseas to report in Afghanistan. Initially, she is very uptight and worried about her time there, but eventually she loosens up with the help of Tanya (Margot Robbie) and Iain (Martin Freeman). In Afghanistan, Kim has to adapt to a brand new and different culture and way of life giving her many Whiskey Tango Foxtrot (WTF) moments. While the film is well made with solid performances by the three leads, it falls short in pacing. The first half of the movie is such a drag, then everything picks up in such contrast that it's easy to get lost in what's happening. It's still an interesting premise and cool to see on screen such a different society and culture than America's, but if you never see it you're not missing out on a whole lot.
Jan 6, 2017
I underestimated this movie when it was released in theaters. Judging from the trailers, I thought this was going to be a straight-on comedy vehicle for Tina Fey, using the war in Afghanistan as a backdrop. I was wrong.

Tina Fey has shown once again that she is a strong comedic actress not only by holding her own as the main character, but also by not having to hit us over the head with her comedic chops at every turn.

The movie starts out as a familiar fish-out-of-water tale, and it's there we get to see her comedic side as she handles the differences between New York City and Afghanistan. As we get into it, though, the movie turns into a more serious story about the people living there, the soldiers, and the members of the press covering it all. Previous comedies in war situations have shown us that the seriousness subject can be covered while still balancing it out with some humor, which is likely fitting, as one method they have of dealing with the realities of their situation is with humor.

Don't go into this movie thinking you're going to see a traditional comedy and you'll be fine. I enjoyed it, and it makes me more interested in seeing additional movies from Tina Fey.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Whiskey Tango Foxtrot.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2019, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook