Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Scary Movie
A parody from the Wayans brothers of the most popular images and talked-about moments from recent films, television, and commercials.

Starring Marlon Wayans, Cheri Oteri, Shawn Wayans...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jul 23, 2000
This movie is geared for the 20 something crowd. Most of the movie is about sex and drugs. Now I am part of the 20 something crowd and it was even to much for me. It was worse than American Pie.

Now it did spoof the horror films very well, but the laughs were few and far between. The previews showed the milder parts of the film, which I found to be the funny parts as well.

I would recommend not seeing this movie if American Pie turned you off.
Jul 23, 2000
Beware, you won't get many of the jokes if you haven't seen Scream and I Know What You Did Last Summer, but still okay.
[--- Good ---]by  
Aug 20, 2000
Scary movie was Ok. I mean, the spoofs were funny, but besides that it basically had no story line. I didnt expect it to but it was kinda thrown together.

It was funny, but geared towareds the party crowd. The show I went to had lots of smaller kids, which didnt totally understand half the things that went on (thank goodness) but if you have younger siblings, dont let them watch this.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Aug 27, 2000
This movie is not for KIDS!!!
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Aug 27, 2000
This is a movie for anyone else who is as tired of all of the recent so-called "Horror" films. Reminescent of the Airplane parodies, or those of the National Lampoon fame, this one also makes fun of several more recent movies and amazingly also has a fairly good storyline with a plausible, though silly, ending.

There is some parts of this movie that aren't appropriate for younger aged kids, but overall, was a fun and entertaining movie.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Sep 17, 2000
this movie would fit into the "so stupid, it's hilarious" category. i had heard some great things about the movie, and i had also spoke with some people who hated it.. but since i had already seen all the good movies in the theatre (i'm an addict) i decided to see it anyway.

i couldn't stop laughing... throughout the entire movie. it's a good thing i didn't get popcorn, because if i had, it would've been spit all over the floor. and i'm lucky i didn't pee my pants during the movie, either.

i'd say that scary movie fits in with the same genre as american pie. so if you loved american pie as much as i did, you'll love scary movie, too. go see it!!
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Oct 30, 2000
Hello,I thought the Movie had some funny parts here and there. But I would say wait until you can rent it out.

I would say its not worth the full theater price.
Jun 11, 2003
"Scary Movie" is a satire of horror movies that was made in the last few years.The film is divided between the scenes that are funny, scenes that are grossed out and scenes that are truly unfunny. I'd rather rent those movies that "Scary Movie" was suppose to satire.
Nov 25, 2003

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Scary Movie.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2019, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook