Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Road to Perdition
Academy Award® Winner
A hitman (Tom Hanks) in 1930's Chicago seeks revenge for the murder of his family.

Starring Tom Hanks, Paul Newman, Jude Law...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Jul 17, 2002
"The Road to Perdition" is Sam Mendes follow-up to "American Beauty." The film is set in 1931 where Tom Hanks is a hitman for the mob. One night, his son witnessed what his father did, and he was sworen to protect him. Jude Law played a hitman who is out to get Hanks and his son.

The film is wonderful to look at. From the city of Chicago in 1931, right down to rural roads. Some of the scenes in that movie was filmed in West Michigan, not far from Kalamazoo where I live. I didn't meet Tom Hanks back then and I wish I had.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jul 21, 2002
The movie is excellent. It moves at a slow pace but moves just the same. It couldn't go any faster as one could lose the deeper meaning that the movie is trying to tell. The acting is outstanding just as you would expect from Tom Hanks and Paul Newman. However, the son, Michael, does a very good job as well.

I loved it and would see it again. I look for this movie to be nominated for an oscar for best picture for 2002.

Go see it now...
[--- Good ---]by  
Jul 26, 2002
Definately a good movie, but not some of his best work. We cried, we laughed, we kissed, we kissed some more, and...ummm, hmmm, perhaps my mind wasn't on the movie...

In any case, the movie felt like it could have had a different actor for the lead and it still wouldn't have been any the worse/better for it. None of the roles felt fleshed out enough, like say in Saving Private Ryan.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Aug 2, 2002
This was one awesome movie. Definately a different role for Tom Hanks who in my eyes is probably one of the greatest actors ever. If you like Hanks and Newman this is one movie you won't want to miss.

As serious as a movie as it is, there are some parts to laugh at. I hope you enjoy the movie as much as I did.
[--- Good ---]by  
Aug 21, 2002
An interesting movie to say the least. I like Tom Hanks and he does a great job of acting in Road to Perdition although I enjoyed him better in other movies.

I think they could have ended the movie in a different and more enjoyable way. That would have made me more of a fan of the movie. I give it 3 out of 5 stars.
Jul 21, 2003
May 27, 2012
Oct 13, 2012

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Road to Perdition.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
News Headlines - Theaters - Movies - Reader Reviews - Movie Links
Your Account - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2021, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook