Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Black Hawk Down
Academy Award® Winner
An action-drama from director Ridley Scott (Gladiator) about the ill-fated 1993 battle in Mogadishu, Somalia, during which 18 U.S. Army Rangers were killed.

Starring Josh Hartnett, Eric Bana, Tom Sizemore...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Jan 20, 2002
This was a great action picture. Very well done.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 20, 2002
Wow! That's all I can say! It was awesome, and very realistic! It kept me guessing all throughout on whether or not they could get out.

Josh Hartnett did a VERY good job, and looked very hot in uniform. If you have a weak stomach, I wouldn't suggest seeing this movie unless you bring something to cover your eyes. There are some VERY VERY graphic scenes in it.

I was very satisfied, even though I thought I wouldn't like it because of the lack of a love story. I would definately give this movie a 10 out of 10! I laughed, and I cried and I covered my eyes... I think that's qualification for a GREAT movie!
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 20, 2002
This was a very good movie. It portrayed war very well and makes you really think.

The acting, special effects and sets are great!! I would reccomend this movie without a doubt.

Just one quick note to parents....THIS IS NOT A MOVIE FOR KIDS UNDER 14!! I saw at least 6 kids at the show that were 12 or younger. Like I said this movie portrays war very realisticly and graphiclly. This movie is not for young children!
Jan 23, 2002
"Black Hawk Down" is a far better movie than the silly "Behind Enemy Lines."

"Black Hawk Down" was directed by Ridley Scott, who directed last year's Oscar winning film "Gladiator." Not bad for someone who doesn't rest on his laurels. The film is about the diasterous 1993 battle of Mogadishu Somalia, in which 18 servicemen died in the attack.

There's plenty of violence and gore, which is the reason for the R rating. It's there for a good reason. The country of Somalia is protesting the film for protraying their countrymen as savages. Well, anyone who picks up a gun and fires a UN peacekeepers are just that.

This powerful movie gets filmgoers in on what its like to be caught in the enemy's crossfire.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 24, 2002
Excellent movie. it seemed objective and very true to excatly the way things were. I hope people can begin to understand the horror or war.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2002
I think I breathed about once every 5 minutes throughout this movie. Seriously, I had to THINK about breathing in this movie. The dialogue doesn't matter, it's all just a part of the atmosphere. And atmosphere is what Ridley Scott is all about.

There is no plot but war, there are no characters but soldiers. It's a war movie, and quite possibly THE war movie. It redefines a genre, and it's breathlessly astounding.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 28, 2002
Outstanding movie: First-rate cinematography, excellent acting, exceptional directing & editing, extraordinary sound quality, … BLACK HAWK DOWN is about the 1993 U.S. Army Rangers’ battle in Mogadishu, Somalia. These Rangers were awarded with two Congressional Medals of Honor for conspicuous heroism. Tragically, 18 Rangers were killed in this battle.

Very few movies portray combat realistically. The vast majority of war movies show us a phony heroism in a fabricated combat. This movie realistically depicts what actually happened in that unfortunate battle. It very definitely is not for the squeamish. It tells us about the true heroism, patriotism, dedication, skill, and sacrifice that the Rangers had in the conflict. After seeing this movie, you will better understand why the U.S. Army Rangers were so brilliantly successful in Afghanistan.

Why did the Mogadishu mission fail? BLACK HAWK DOWN provides us with the answer. The Mogadishu mission did not fail because of any Ranger inadequacies. The U.S. Army Rangers are exemplary – they have no inadequacies. This mission failed, because Washington D.C. failed to provide the Rangers with the proper tactical air support that they so desperately needed. If the Rangers had the AC-130 gunship support that they requested, the Mogadishu battle would have been transformed from defeat in victory.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Feb 3, 2002
I do not desire to PooPoo on the memory of the soldiers portrayed in this film, but I do think the movie itself was average at best as far as war-like movies go. The film needed more background into the actual events that led up to those events. They needed to focus on fewer characters and the story line needed to be more organized.

In light of recent reviews - I wonder if I saw the same movie. I probably could have waited for rental and even then I would have had a hard time choosing between "Saving Private Ryan" and this film. "Saving Private Ryan", to me, was twice the film.
[--- Good ---]by  
Apr 14, 2002
This was an excellent film about the horrors of war, but it is not for everyone.

It was 2 hours of constant gunfire, shouting, guts and gore, and death. There is no character development such as in romantic war films. The military had to do job which was to defend and recover downed helicopters and to fight a Somali militia. Originally, it was a humanitarian mission to help starving Somalis who were at the mercy of a corrupt government.

The constant fighting gave me a headache, but, in reality, it showed the fatigue and tragedies involved in armed conflicts. It was a powerful message. One has to wonder if it is worth it to move into these areas, always at war, and to try to establish a democracy. It's almost as futile as trying to enter a neighborhood with gangs at war, trying to make peace. You begin to wonder if it is worth it to send our soldiers to die in their battles when they have no mindset for a democratic society.

We saw a couple who took 2 very young children to this movie late at night. It's not a film for children to see. How can these children, who should be seeing Mickey Mouse and the Muppets, sleep without nightmares?
Apr 17, 2002
Wonderful action. Wonderful direction. Wonderful cast. Wonderful acting.

All in all, a wonderful movie. I'll probably go see it again just so I can identify some of the characters we are introduced to at the beginning though.

9/10
Any comments on my comments can be sent to fdperth@wiredcity.com.au
Jul 21, 2003
Nov 24, 2011

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Black Hawk Down.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
News Headlines - Theaters - Movies - Reader Reviews - Movie Links
Your Account - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2021, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook