Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster

Remove ads with our VIP Service
We Were Soldiers
On November 14, 1965, in a place known as the Valley of Death, Lt. Col. Hal Moore and 400 young troopers from the U.S. Air Cavalry were surrounded by 2000 enemy soldiers. The ensuing battle was one...  View more >

Starring Mel Gibson, Greg Kinnear, Keri Russell...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Mar 2, 2002
I thought that this movie was extremely well done. It had clear messages about how the soldiers were treated when they returned home, and portrayed the battle accuratly.

This movie is probably the goriest movie I have ever seen, and should NOT be seen by younger folks, it was so graphic that it was disturbing, But thats what war is, and no punches are pulled.

I recommend seeing this movie immediatly!
Mar 4, 2002
This is a great war movie. It is very close to the book, and is an honest look at what war really is, and a tribute to those that Americia chose to forget.

It really takes you back.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Mar 7, 2002
Up there with Saving Private Ryan in terms of quality, if you like intelligent war movies you'll want to see it. You'll cry, laugh (a little) and you'll want to own the DVD.
[--- Good ---]by  
Mar 9, 2002
A very good patriotic movie that doesn't glorify war, but does relect the courage and bravery and sacrifice of soldiers and their families for one another and country.

A lot of graphic violence which makes the war scenes real. From a strategic point of view, it was difficult for me to understand why our troops would land in a valley that was potentially surrounded by high ground and enemy troops. Our troops therefore were at a great disadvantage from the beginning, if I understood the battle correctly.
[--- Good ---]by  
Mar 10, 2002
Started out slow, I guess they really wanted you to know the characters before you saw them in battle. I didn't feel really attached to them anyway, but the lead character played by Mel Gibson did inspire you with his deep caring for the men under his command.

After they finally got into battle, the atmosphere of war was very realistic, with the constant bullets flying everywhere. It did seem different than other Vietnam movies I've seen, in that, there didn't seem to be as much confusion and the men were constantly talking on the radio or helping the wounded while it seemed they should have been shooting the rapidly oncoming enemy.

It made me think about how stupid America was in just dropping their soldiers right into harms way. What was the purpose of the war again? This movie doesn't even touch on that. ItÂ’s about the soldiers who were ordered into a battle and just tried to stay alive.
[--- Good ---]by  
Mar 12, 2002
I liked this movie but it had a few flaws. One was it started off too slowly. Not that the movie needed to go straight into combat to hold my interest, I just felt it went overboard with the home life aspect of the soldiers who would be going to Vietnam.

The acting wasn't bad. The cinematography was average. The editing was average. The special effects were halfway good. But I felt somewhat lacking in some areas.

I appreciated the inclusion of religion in the movie and the fact they weren't afraid to show Hal Moore's religious beliefs on screen.

I didn't like when the photographer after the battle grabbed his camera and they showed a montage of some of the pictures he actually did take. That seemed contrived and should have been put on during the credits. I think it would have been more effective there.

Those are some of my complaints. Not a perfect movie but not a bad one either.
Mar 20, 2002
"We Were Soldiers" is a powerful drama about the taking of "Valley of Death" in over 2000 soldiers loss their lives. Mel Gibson plays a leader of a platoon of troops who sent there to take the place. This is one of the first battles of a war that would later be called unwinable.

The film has taken three points of view; Gibson's troops, the enemy they're fighting and the wives back home. The camera never fliches as we see scenes of soldiers being killed in battle. "We Were Soldiers" is the first movie in years about the Vietnam War.

As long as they're are fresh stories from the dreadful war, there bound to be more movies like "We Were Soldiers."
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Mar 29, 2002
Being from this era, I thought this was a fantastic movie. It portrayed the men not as heroes or monsters, but as human beings, with all the love of their families, the courage under fire, the fear, the uncertainty and the tendency to sometimes make a bad judgement that we all have in us.

Gory and graphic, yes, it was, but so was the battle they fought. Maybe this movie affected me so strongly becaus the men who fought the actual battle could have been friends of mine, and now I have a real feel for what they went through.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Mar 31, 2002
This is just an amazingly real and touching piece of work. It's not just "Great American Hero" sort of war film, instead, it shows the audience a different perspectives, soliders, leader, family, enermy ..... must see.

I tend not to comment on the graphical part that makes the whole thing so real .... either ways, people will say too much or too little. No matter what, the stun is so real and well made.

I'm particularly impressed with the way Hal Moore looked at life and his mates. I wonder how was it possible for him to make it till the end .... I really thought all heros were gone in the war ....
May 21, 2002
Terrific!

I love a good war movie, but most especially when it's not the typical, glossed over, Hollywood, gung ho style of story.

We Were Soldiers will not disappoint you in this respect and is well worth a second visit.

Some real standout moments that put this movie head and shoulders above others of the genre were, the view from the Viet Cong side of things, their courage against overwhelming firepower and the losses they were prepared to take in their battle against what they saw as invaders of their country.

9/10 Any comments on my comments are welcome at fdperth@wiredcity.com.au

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for We Were Soldiers.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
News Headlines - Theaters - Movies - Reader Reviews - Movie Links
Your Account - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2022, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook