Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster

Remove ads with our VIP Service
About Schmidt
Academy Award® Nominee
A man finds himself at several crossroads in his life at once; he retires from his job, his daughter is getting married, and his wife of 42 years dies suddenly. With no job, no wife, and no family,...  View more >

Starring Jack Nicholson, Hope Davis, Dermot Mulroney...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Jan 4, 2003
This movie did have it's funny moments.

The movie was way too slow moving and too much time was spent on Schmidt's personal life, where I think it would have been funnier with more time spent with the members of the groom's family.

One of the reasons that I went to see this film was because the TV ads showed Kathy Bates as a main character, yes she was, but I think that she should have had alot more screen time.

All in all, this is one film where I wish I would have saved the travel time to get to the cinema, and waited and rented it when it came to a nearby video store.
Jan 4, 2003
I want my money back!

This is one long boring movie full of product endorsements! Tony Roma's, Dairy Queen, Winnabago, Children' International ect... Don't spoil your impression of Jack Nicholson with this movie. Go rent "As good as it gets" and save your money.
Jan 7, 2003
I absolutely LOVED this movie, and from the sound of the laughter in the packed theater, so did they all! This movie was Jack Nicholson's shining moment - it was superbly acted, along with an outstanding supporting role by Kathy Bates.

I laughed throughout this movie, yet it also had the capacity to make me feel sad. I would highly recommend this movie to anyone (and have). Don't wait - see it today! It's well worth the money!
Jan 8, 2003
Jack is awesome in this movie. The supporting cast was solid too.
Jan 27, 2003
"About Schmidt" stars Jack Nicholson as a retired banker, who went on a personal journey to attend his only daughter's wedding after the death of his wife of 42 years.

Nicholson gave a powerful performance as a man who is at the crossroads of his life. His life is detail in a series of letters to a poor child who's living in Tanzania. Do you think that African child will give a hoot of what went on in the hottub between Nicholson and Kathy Bates?
Feb 24, 2003
Feb 28, 2003
It is alot different than I thought it was going to be. I am not a great fan of Jack Nickolson but after seeing the work he did in \"About Schmidt\" I have to admire him for his acting accomplishments.

The story has a genuine human touch and unique twist. I would strongly recommend this movie to any adult or anyone who has lived a long life. You can make a difference, and the movie ending brings out that fact. Go see it and see if you don\'t agree with me.
Mar 1, 2003
Halarious in some parts, but some parts are kinda boring. Nicholson and Bates are good enough to pull off any movie though.
Mar 25, 2003
A good film. Not excellent but good. A bit of a different role for Jack, but he does a good job. Worth going to see.
Apr 16, 2003
May 27, 2003
It is slow moving. It is boring. There's no plot to it at all. I was very disappointed.
Jul 9, 2003
Feb 29, 2012
May 27, 2012

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for About Schmidt.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2019, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook