Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster

Remove ads with our VIP Service
The Bourne Identity
Based on the 1980 Robert Ludlum novel, an amnesiac finds himself pursued by hired killers. He sets out on a desperate search – assisted by an initially rebellious woman – to discover who...  View more >

Starring Matt Damon, Franka Potente, Julia Stiles...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jun 17, 2002
I read the book a few years ago. As I recall it seems to follow the book. I really enjoyed it. That is why I go to the movies. No fluff in this review.
Jun 19, 2002
Matt Damon stars as a spy who was awaken one day after he lost his memory and must get it back before he is killed.

"The Bourne Identity" is a thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat. Franka Potante stars as Matt love intrest who tries to help him. This is Potante's first English language film. for those who had never seen Potante is such German films as "Run Lola Run" and "The Princess and the Warrior," now's your chance to see a potential rising star.

I recently went to Yahoo to check out some Franka Potante web-sites and I came with only one official web-site that was written in German. I would like to see more web-sites dedicated to Potante. I'll sign the guestbook.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jun 24, 2002
If you like the book, you may be disappointed in the movie. Although the lead character's got the same name and he has amnesia, nothing else in the movie is from the book other than the cool Euro settings.

The pacing drags in places as does, surprisingly, the action. The book has a terrific, intertwined plot and characters you're interested in and care about. This movie misses on both counts.
Jun 27, 2002
I liked this one alot, and thought it was much better than most of the junk that comes out in the theatres. It has great flow, and never puts you to sleep. Matt Damon is excellent. Franka Potente is excellent as well, and extremely sexy. Great movie.

Jun 28, 2002
This film was slow and at times rather dull. Wait for a weekday special at your video store.
Jul 22, 2002
This film was amazing all around and kept me on the edge of my seat throughout the two hours. This is an excellent choice for those who enjoy action, spy, or just plain thriller movies.

The plot was a bit confusing at first, but it easily all comes together before you know it. Also, my advice would be to see this while it is still in theaters because it enhances the experience greatly.
Aug 26, 2002
There are those that asked, "Can Matt Damon pull off a role like this?" I'm here to say that the answer to this question is YES.

While the story isn't all that original, I found myself drawn in and enjoying this film from start to finish. Plenty of suspense and good interaction between Matt and his co-star, Franka Potente.

This one is worth a full price admission or rental.
Sep 29, 2002
I read the book just before seeing this movie, so was very disappointed in it. There was no middle! It rushed through his recovery, was sketchy about how he discovered who he might be, things started getting interesting - then everything was resolved!

My advice: Read the book, it's a much better story.
Nov 6, 2002
Excellent spy thriller! Great re-make of the prolific author of espionage thrillers, Robert Ludlum. This kind of "edge of your seat" entertainment appeals to audiences generation after generation. Hope to see more.
Apr 18, 2003
Jun 24, 2013
Jun 26, 2016
A very well filmed and made action film starring Matt Damon. Every second was fun and unique. At the time, a breathe of fresh air into the action genre.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The Bourne Identity.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2019, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook