Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

Remove ads with our VIP Service
The Core
A scientist discovers that an unknown force has caused the earth's inner core to stop rotating. Joined by a team of scientists and two "terranauts" they attempt to detonate a device in hopes of...  View more >

Starring Aaron Eckhart, Hilary Swank, Bruce Greenwood...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Apr 1, 2003
My kind of movie, lots of cool effects and out of this world (or is that into this world) storyline. This is what entertainment is all about. Turn off the brain, sit back and enjoy.

Sure it pulls from movies like Armageddon and Deep Impact, but I thought Hilary Swank and Aaron Eckhart did a fine job in their roles. So if unbelievable Sci-Fi is your thing, make sure to check this one out.
Apr 4, 2003
Apr 8, 2003
When "The Core" was delayed from last November to late March, I knew there was trouble in River City, and I was right. "The Core," could've been a film worth of Irwin Allen. But the film has few good moments, all of it with special effects. But the acting, direction and screenwriting is full of dribble.

A crew is sat on a craft that looks like a Subway sandwich in try to restart the earth's core before the planet is destroyed. That plot of the earth with earthquakes and animals running amok could have been a movie by itself without the nonsense of either the crew or the craft. The cast did nothing but bricker almong themself.

I like the special effects, but there nothing to back the film up.
Apr 11, 2003
Apr 12, 2003
Great movie decent storyline, and excellent special effects a must see!
Apr 24, 2003
May 1, 2003
Good movie... same as armagetton... except under ground instead of in space.
May 2, 2005
1998 brought us two "end of the world" movies in the form of Deep Impact (the one with Tea Leoni and Robert Duvall) and Armageddon (the one with Bruce Willis and Ben Affleck). Five years later, someone decided that we needed another "end of the world" movie, but the asteroid thing had probably been done as far as it could go.

So, what to do? Global thermonuclear war? No, that's been done. Volcanoes? No, been there, done that, and besides, they're too localized to end the world (although they're pretty good in taking out mountain villages and good portions of large cities, as we saw in 1997 with Dante's Peak and Volcano.

Maybe someone even thought of using weather patterns and storms that would bring about a contemporary ice age, but they left Paramount and took off for 20th Century Fox to work for Roland Emmerich before that idea went anywhere.

Hmmm, end of the world... asteroids.... volcanoes.... magma.... where does magma come from? Ah, that molten center of the earth known as the "core" of our fine planet. What if it suddenly stopped doing its thing and it started causing all sorts of problems on the surface, and then only one guy would know what to do, and then he would get together with a group of people and fix it?

If you thought landing the Space Shuttle on a moving comet strained your believability, you had better send your disbelief packing for a two-plus hour vacation because this movie starts with landing a Shuttle where John Travolta raced a car in Grease and Arnold Schwarzenegger rode a Harley in T2. And that's the most believable part of this entire movie!

Hillary Swank is too good for this movie, but it's just right for everyone else. You end up rooting for everyone except the "rat" character, which I still don't understand why he's there. It's not like his role helps the credibility of the storyline any. Unfortunately, the entire movie feels like it was created by using a movie plot template of some kind. I can see the writers following the fill-in-the-blanks workbook as they put together the story, as none of the characters are original in their nature, but rather rehashes of movies and characters we've seen before.

Now, you would think that after saying this, I would say to avoid this movie and give it a "Stay Away!" rating. No, it's not that bad a movie. It's just not that good either.

It's worth renting, but certainly not buying.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The Core.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2019, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook