Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Hidalgo
Held yearly for centuries, the Ocean of Fire--a 3,000 mile survival race across the Arabian desert--was a challenge restricted to the finest Arabian horses ever bred, the purest and noblest lines,...  View more >

Starring Viggo Mortensen, Omar Sharif, Zuleikha Robinson...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Mar 6, 2004
Hidalgo is a heartwarming movie about a man and his horse and their journey, not only in a race, but their lives. This is a movie that captures the audience, young and old. When I hear the audience participate in a movie, that movie has been taken down from the big screen and into our lives.

Children younger than 8 years old or so probably should not benefit from the violence, which on a gore level is about a three (one being implied violence and ten being graphic bloodshed), and it is a long movie for them to sit through. But it was definately worth seeing on the bigscreen and paying theater prices.

This is a movie that I will buy when it becomes available, and will enjoy watching many times with or without my family.
Mar 7, 2004
With all the hype about this movie prior to its release i was expecting just a little more, though it was entertaining it slowed down, and then stayed slow, to finish with a predictable ending. It was worth the money to see it, but maybe the build-up to for the movie was more than the movie itself !
Mar 7, 2004
A good fast moving movie for the whole family to enjoy
Mar 9, 2004
This is a good old fashioned adventure film that you can settle back into your seat and just enjoy. The scenery and filming is beautiful and the story is filled with excitement, personalities, and courage.

If you like films like Iron Will and other films of man and animal finding victory together, this is the film for you. If you like films that rely on beauty and the actors being responsible for keeping your interest, you will like this film. It is based on the life of a real person and the type of horse he spent his life trying to save, the western mustang.
Mar 10, 2004
A good action movie but even though based on actual events. Hollywood has embelished it beyond reality. Still an enjoyable afternoon at the movies.
Mar 10, 2004
Viggo Mortenson has graduate from middle earth to the middle east in \"Hidalgo.\" the story of a cowboy who takes part in a race across the sahara Desert. despite stuff being thrown at him. It\'s fun to see Mortensen in a cowboy suit batting nature, even other people in the race. It\'s based on a true story. So you have no reason to stay away from this movie. Believe me, Western Movies are coming back.
Mar 19, 2004
Not quite \"good\". Viggo was good, but that\'s about it. The characters were 2 dimensional and the story has been done soooooo many times before.
Mar 27, 2004
Aug 18, 2016
While I was skeptical about this movie when I first heard the description, I quickly got into the plot line. there were a couple twists that I wasn't expecting, but I really enjoyed it, especially the ending message. The tension and suspense were high right until the very end. It was nice to see the character development as the movie went on, and there were some very funny lines that I appreciated.

Overall, I really liked Hidalgo, despite initial reservations.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Hidalgo.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
News Headlines - Theaters - Movies - Reader Reviews - Movie Links
Your Account - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2021, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook