Have an Account?
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service Facebook logoTwitter logo
Open Range
Four men free-ranging cattle in the Wild West encounter a corrupt sheriff and a kingpin rancher who rule their territory through violence and fear. When the two groups clash and a showdown is...  View more >

Starring Kevin Costner, Robert Duvall, Annette Bening...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Aug 16, 2003
The best western I have seen in a long time, action, comedy, romance and great scenery. Best to see at the big screen
Aug 17, 2003
Aug 19, 2003
The scenery was beautiful and the story line was realistic. The intimate relationship between the two roving cattlemen was touching and good to see. The romantic portion made me leave the theatre with tears in my eyes. The beauty of the area where they shot the film must be breathtaking -- what a place that would be to visit.
Aug 21, 2003
This movie takes a long time to get there, but it maybe displays the life as it was back then. The ending is the best gunfight display I have seen. Most real life. Was really hard to decide if this is a good or wait for the rental. Guess you can go see it and decide for yourself.
Aug 23, 2003
I loved "Dances with Wolves" and was hopeful that this would be along similiar lines, however it was not. Costner's bad movie streak chalks up another score with "Open Range".

I found myself often thinking during the first hour, "If I were watching this on DVD, I could take a nap right now". Now, just because the first hour was sloooooooooow doesn't mean it didn't have bright spots .. primarily with the character "Boss" (Duvall) and his interaction with the others. During the second hour you have most of the movie's action .. Benning enters the scene+romance, Gunfight and the citizens "taking a stand" .. but Costner is at best predictable in his role.

This is NOT "Dances with Wolves" .. not even close. Even shelling out for the cheap matinee became "lost dollars" .. wait for the DVD and grab a pillow.
Sep 3, 2003
One of the best movies of 2003. a skillful masterprice directed by Kevin Costner, who has made \"Open Range\" his best film since \"Dances with Wolves.\" Westerns hasn\'t been popular in recent years, but Director Costner who\'s in this movie, has reminded filmgoers that the gerne isn\'t dead. It\'s just needs a little tune-up. The cinemagraphy is wonderful to look at. Robert Duvall is excellent enough, hopefully to gain another Oscar nomination. I\'m glad to see Annette Bening back on the big screen again. \"Open Range\" may not bring back the westerns, but at least there\'s someone out there who cares.
Sep 4, 2003
Sep 9, 2003
Duvall and Costner are somewhat corney is their roles of aging cowboys, but the story keeps the viewer's interest and the action is exciting.
Oct 30, 2003
Enjoyable movie. Perhaps a bit long, with some slow spots, but that didn\'t detract much. Good cast.
Jun 22, 2022
I recently had the chance to watch this again on Amazon streaming, and I was reminded of how good it is.

I like Westerns as a genre, and this is a classic Western, with excellent performances and more than a little influence from Costner’s other work, Dances With Wolves.

Robert Duvall is perfect, as is Kevin Costner and Annette Bening. A supporting cast that includes Michael Jeter doesn’t hurt either!

It’s a shame that this isn’t available on Blu-ray, but the fact that it’s on Amazon gives plenty of people a chance to check it out for themselves.

This is highly recommended!

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Open Range.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Feedback
News Headlines - Theaters - Movies - Reader Reviews - Movie Links
Your Account - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2024, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook
Find Us on Instagram