Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster

Remove ads with our VIP Service
The Village
Academy Award® Nominee
Set in 1897, a close-knit community lives in fear with the knowledge that a mythical race of creatures resides in the woods around them.

Starring Joaquin Phoenix, William Hurt, Bryce Dallas Howard...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Jul 29, 2004
better than signs
Jul 31, 2004
This movie was a major disappointment to me. I truly expected more from M. Night Shamalan after Sixth Sense and Signs.

From the trailers I'd been seeing, I expected a scary, thrilling movie, but it failed to live up to the advertising. The idea was interesting, reminiscent of a Rod Serling Twilight Zone episode, but definately not worth the 8 bucks.

Save your money and wait for the rental, or better yet until its on TV which probably won't be too long.
Jul 31, 2004
It was a good movie, not better than Signs. It wasn't really scary, as I thought it would be. But none the less a good movie. I didn't know how to feel about it. I feel like they need to make a part 2 to explain some things.
Jul 31, 2004
Worst of his movies to date. The only character you actually feel something for is absent for the second half of the movie. Leaving the plot to slowly stumble tword a half assed ending. The 'twists' were not so much as he delivers the hints and clues on a silver platter.

See this movie if you want to be mildly entertained, do not see this movie if you intend on being scared.
Jul 31, 2004
Disapointed.
Mixed Feelings.
I was expecting something more.
Its hard to explain without giving the movie away.

Pretend you have no idea what the movie is about (no advertisements, trailers etc) then the movie as a whole is worth seeing.

But if you go in thinking differently, your probably going to be disinchanted when you leave.

After I left the theatre all I could do was think about the movie and put the pieces together.

Even though it wasn't what I expected...all in all it was a good movie.
Jul 31, 2004
Another movie hyped up by the trailers. Not worth watching, period.
Aug 1, 2004
I read the other reviews before i went to the movie. I set my expectations low. Figured I'd check it out and hope for the best. I was pleasently surprised! I was hooked from the begging and am happy to say I had several good jumps. From the reaction of the rest of the audiance i'd say i wasn't alone. The fact that you leave the movie thinking and it stays on your mind says alot in itself. Was it as good as the sixth sense? No. Was it as good as signs? Yes.
Aug 1, 2004
I can understand the mixed reviews if you're going into this movie expecting a classic horror movie. The Village has "hidden secrets." I was surprised at every twist. The movie was not at all what I expected from the trailers. Go into it with an open mind and no predetermined ideas about it!

My husband and I discussed the storyline all the way home...."But what about this?" and "But what if...."

If you enjoyed Secret Window and Sixth Sense, The Village is sure to please.

And by the way---It did give me one major jump, sending the bucket of popcorn flying.
Aug 3, 2004
M. Night once again scares with a completely original and facinating story. If you appreciated Unbreakable, you'll like it. It wasn't Signs 2, but I jumped out of my skin several times; the suspense is definitely there.
Aug 4, 2004
This movie started out better than it ended. The ending was very unpredicted, yet also tacky.
Aug 5, 2004
Not as good as Signs...and I didn't like that one either.

Too bad as the story could have been great.
Aug 6, 2004
Aug 6, 2004
Very disappointing. May even be a stay away.
Aug 7, 2004
I was totally let down by this movie. The trailers seemed to be one thing but the movie was something totally different. I especially wanted to see this movie because I watched the T.V. show, Secrets of M. Night Shamalan a couple of weeks ago which really got me primed to see The Village. Sixth Sense and Signs were so much better and intriguing by M. Night Shamalan than this one.

Wait for the rental and you won't feel so cheated out of your hard earned money. Big let down!
Aug 7, 2004
If you go expecting a typical horror movie, you may be disapointed. If you go wanting to see an unusual good movie with some scary parts and a good story you will get what you want. Was very pleased with this movie. Highly recommend it.
Aug 13, 2004
Aug 13, 2004
I was so sorry to see the end of this movie - it ruined the entire movie - the end could have been SO much better. 3/4 of the movie is terrific but it's not worth seeing in the theatre. I rated this on the whole experience and it was such a let down.
Aug 18, 2004
Not M.Night's best work...but still good. If you watch it make sure you look for what he is really trying to say.
Aug 22, 2004
It was a great movie. But if you want to understand it listen to every word the characters say. If you liked the movies sixth sence and secret window you'll like this movei.
Sep 6, 2004
The trailers for this movie peddle it as something that it definitely is not. If you're going for a good scare prepared to be mighty disappointed. Far from scary...I thought this flick was interminably slow and tiresome...yawwwnnnnn

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The Village.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2020, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook