Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World
Academy Award® Winner
During the Napoleonic Wars, Lucky Jack Aubrey captains the crew of the H.M.S. Surprise. When the ship is suddenly attacked by a superior enemy, it is badly damaged and much of his crew is injured. In...  View more >

Starring Russell Crowe, Paul Bettany, James D'Arcy...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Nov 15, 2003
It's a good movie but you almost fall asleep between action scenes.
Nov 15, 2003
A good adventure yarn. Plenty of action, but linked with some of the (movized) reality of what life on an exteded sea voyage in a crowded man-o-war must have been like.

I particularly enjoyed the string instruments and Russel Crowe's violin technique. In an interview he noted the hardest part of his role was to learn to look convincing playing the violin. He did a reasonable job of it (save his lack of vibrato action to match the music over - but it takes a while to get that far with a fiddle!).

An entertaining flick.
Nov 19, 2003
A good guy movie. Lots of action etc. For the ladies, maybe too much. That's ok, we guys need a little time to ourselves now and then.
Nov 22, 2003
The action scenes, although few, are great. The language was hard for the non-nautical to understand and throw that in with the, at times, thick english accent made parts hard to decipher. My wife was still thrilled with the Russell Crowe eye candy. I think this should be seen on the big screen. The ending left sequel possibilities!?!?
Nov 23, 2003
A good movie to see with action and cast to support seeing it at the theater.
Nov 26, 2003
"Master and Commander:The Far side olf the world," is a advenutre by itself. Russell Crowne deserved another Oscar nomination as the captain, who goes after the French in the early 19th Century. Flawless acting worked very well. The Direction by Peter Weir is a joy to behold. what I love most about this film that I saw wooden shop engaging in combat. This film is wroth your time. A history lesson on the British's struggle against Napoloen's France.
Nov 28, 2003
worse movie i have ever seen...Don't bother renting it! Why waste your time and money
Dec 5, 2003
I thought it was a good movie, but not as great as it has been reported. I liked the story line, and the action, but it left something to be desired.
Dec 27, 2003
All in all a very good movie. Some slow parts in the middle but the fighting scenes make up for it.
Jan 7, 2004
Russell Crowe doesn\'t do action very well. His performance was not that good either. The story was weak. This film disappoints in so many different ways.
Feb 25, 2004
This movie was ok, but I didn't think it was that great. It's a good movie to rent, but I wouldn't spend my money to see it in the theater again. If you're a huge fan of nothing but sea life than you'll like it.
Mar 7, 2004
Mar 8, 2004
Master and Commander was brilliant!

I\'ve a real passion and interest in history and this movie was very historically accurate with perhaps the small exception of the cleanliness aboard ship in those times.

The battle scenes were excellent and although the film slows down between them it doesn\'t get boring at all.

Russell Crowe is pretty obnoxious and arrogant in real life and a lot of times that comes across in his movies in my opinion, but not this one. Besides, a number of scenes are stolen by his supporting cast especially the young boys and Paul Bettany who I thought was marvelous as Geoffrey Chaucer in \'A Knights Tale\'

Go and see it.

9/10
Mar 10, 2013

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2019, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook