Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Big Fish
Academy Award® Nominee
Edward Bloom is well known as a teller of tall tales about his colorful life as a less than ordinary young man, when his wanderlust took him around the world and back again. His mythic exploits range...  View more >

Starring Ewan McGregor, Albert Finney, Billy Crudup...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Jan 13, 2004
"Big Fish" is Tim Burton fantasy tale of a man who likes to tell tall tales. A tall tale by my defination is either a lie that is strech into a fable or a truth that can be strech into a fablication. But I was drawn in by the stories he told, which made "Big Fish" a wonderful movie. Danny Devito is the stand out as the circus owner. You won't forget either the characters or the film.
Jan 16, 2004
Hard movie to describe, but a damn fine movie to watch. Its basically stories a father told to his son about his life, moxing truth and fiction. Tim Burton is at his imagintive best, with visuals that you can help but love. Outstanding preformances from the leads, Ewan McGregor, Albert Finney and Jessica Lange. Definite See Now.
Jan 20, 2004
Poor casting, flat acting, but I thought the ending really picked up the rest of the story. Just makes it to good.
Jan 31, 2004
A very heat warming movie worth the price of admission
Feb 2, 2004
There's an old adage that a big fish in a small pond becomes a small fish when in a big pond. Truth is, regardless of the size of the pond, a big fish is a big fish. Big in spirit. Some fish are born to be big, and even when it may seem that they are but a spec in the sea, they are still immense by nature. One such “fish” is Ed Bloom, the would-be folk hero of Tim Burton’s magical motion picture “Big Fish”. Bloom spends most of his time telling enchanting stories, supposedly true tales from his own life. He is a big fish, as the legends show, but are these stories complete fabrications from Ed’s imagination? Is he only a big fish in his mind?

Billy Crudup stars as Will Bloom, Ed’s estranged son who returns home when learning that Ed is dying. In true “Cats In The Cradle” fashion, Will hopes not only to repair his relationship with Ed, but to also finally understand his father. The real Ed Bloom, not the fantasy one from the many whimsical tales Will has listened to his entire life. The problem is Ed stands by his stories, making Will’s task nearly impossible.

Ed is at his best when recounting his incredible anecdotes, telling them with more ease than a memorized knock-knock joke. The movie itself is also at its finest when acting out these great stories. Ewan McGregor shines as the young Ed Bloom, having all the style and substance of a 1950’s Hollywood leading man. We watch as Ed’s fable is weaved with glass-eyed witches, giants with gentle hearts, and a love at first sight moment that literally freezes time. Between McGregor’s captivating performance and Tim Burton’s usual excellence in creating a fantasy world that feels fully acceptable, you can’t help but fall full force for the folklore of Ed Bloom’s life.

While the fantasy sequences are great, the moments we spend in the reality of the situation really hurt the film. Seeing Ed as an old man at the end of his life, played with an unfitting crispy coating by Albert Finney, provides an all too sobering truth. Those scenes rudely yank us away from the extravagant world of Ed’s past. They all but smack us upside the head and scold us for being so enthralled in Ed’s tall tales. Not helping matters, Finney and Crudup have nearly no chemistry together, causing the father/son relationship to feel forced and awkward.

Are Ed’s stories true? Are they embellishments of fact? Or are they complete fabrications? The film answers this, but it also provides us with a final query...does it matter? Looking at Ed’s saga, does it really matter whether those events he claims to have lived through actually happened? They’re stories. If people accept them as real, then they’re real. “Big Fish” asks us to let go of our common sense and simply believe that anything can happen. It sends us back to our childhood, a time when we knew slimy green monsters lived under the bed, not because we saw them, but rather because they had to live somewhere. Do you ever think back to some of the things you believed in as a child? Think about it. About how gullible you were. And now think about how fun life would be if you could still be that gullible. Just remember, anything can be real. All you have to do is believe.

So is Ed Bloom a big fish? Hey, what do you believe?

-Joe Lopez
Joemovie@aol.com
Feb 14, 2004
Feb 24, 2004
May 14, 2004
A different movie...But a very good story! Really enjoyed it!
May 15, 2004
I am a sucker for movies about interpersonal relationships. I enjoyed exploring the father and son bonding that takes place in BIG FISH. From early on, you know how the movie is going to end, but it is still a colorful ride to get there.

The bitter sweet ending left me teary eyed and sniffling. Take mom or dad to this movie with you. You'll leave the theatre saying, "Hey Dad....remember when....?"

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Big Fish.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2019, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook