Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Without a Paddle
Three young guys go into the Oregon wilderness in search of a lost treasure. They take a canoe upriver, and everything that can go wrong does. Hunted by two backwoods dope farmers, they encounter...  View more >

Starring Seth Green, Matthew Lillard, Dax Shepard...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Aug 21, 2004
Aug 21, 2004
Lazy, often inexplicable yet literal updating of Charles Kaufman's "Mother Day", eliminating that film's subversion of gender socialization in favor of, well little subversion of any sort. The movie is infantile without apology; its sense of humor revolves around excretion, body hair, stoned attack dogs, and homophobia. Homophobia especially.

The audience I saw it with predictably cracked up at a scene where the three heroes have to snuggle up for warmth; but were stone silent during the funniest scene where a redneck chops off the head of a trout and shouts at it, "How you like me now, fish?" which is funny exactly because it's impossible to discern why it's funny.

The whole theme of the movie is basically to "live life", an excuse for the infantilism it sounds like; only it doesn't make any sense as the person who delivers the message promptly marries his girlfriend once he gets home. The uptight doctor character is the one who should come upon the realization and deliver the message.

Anyway, as far as that laugh quotient goes that audience I saw the film with made just a few chortles in the first hour, it takes quite a while to get on with things, the filmmakers (it's directed by an Adam Sandler cronie, natch) get incredibly self-indulgent with simplistic button-pushing 80s nostolgia. They didn't even think it was that funny, and remember, I think they're morons.
Sep 1, 2004
This movie was well oriented. In a time when Character deveolpment and expansive plotlines are amiss, this movie shines through. It had a decent amount of background information on each of the characters... although because of the attention span of the group of people watching... (mostly young teenagers that can't get those cellphones out of their ears much less observe silence for a total one hour and fourty five minutes...) the development of the characters could've had much more depth.

The movie was action packed, and produced the humor that the trailers had promised... the same trailers that had plauged your favorite television program...to the point where you can quote almost every word Seth Green ever said. However, again it was a good movie and produced as much as it promised. The actors that did the job surely knew what they were doing, and it showed. I'd probably buy it on dvd, and watch it every now and then. The cast and crew delivered, and I'd love to see more from them.
Sep 4, 2004
Had some great humor in spots and was entertaing.
Sep 5, 2004
Sep 11, 2004
The kids pulled me to this movie and I went reluctantly. What a nice surprise---the movie was actually funny. I enjoyed all but the "poop throwing scene." I actually laughed aloud five or more times. This is a good father-son movie. Both generations will be laughing.
Sep 16, 2004
It was a very funny movie. Better than what I had expected. I would almost see this again.
Oct 1, 2004
Some funny parts, some very lame parts. Reminded me of a crappy version of \"Bubble Boy\". Almost a \"stay away\".
Nov 24, 2004
Nov 27, 2004
So funny it made me want to cry!
Dec 9, 2004
Saw this when it was shown as the in flight movie and edited for content. With the limited view and sound, it was still a good movie with plenty of laughs.

I\'m sure it would be a little better when viewed without the above limitations inflicted by airlines :)

I also think that Dax Shepard, who plays one of the main characters, will go on to a very successful carreer, much like Owen Wilson. His timing and delivery is great.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Without a Paddle.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2020, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook