Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
I, Robot
Academy Award® Nominee
The year is 2035. Detective Del Spooner (Will Smith) is sent to investigate the death of a scientist, where a robot is the primary suspect. What he discovers, however, is a far more frightening...  View more >

Starring Will Smith, Bridget Moynahan, Bruce Greenwood...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Jul 17, 2004
It was a good movie, a little slow in spots but the effects were very good.
Jul 20, 2004
It was a great movie. When you think you had everything figured out, they thrown in a twist. Will Smith is great in this movie. I would definatly see it again.
Jul 23, 2004
I was very excited about this movie, not because it's based (loosely) on Isaac Asimov's short story collection or because it stars Will Smith, but because of the director, Alex Proyas, who directed one of my favorite films of all time: the criminally under-seen and completely-superior-to-The-Matrix scifi mind trip "Dark City." This was a very dark film with very little humor. It had flashy effects (for the day), but didn't overuse them. It had a message, but didn't pound us over the head with it. And it had some truly creepy villains.

"I, Robot" has none of those things. It overuses its cheesy CGI effects, Will Smith uses too much Will Smith-style humor, but its biggest problems are that its villains, the robots, just aren't very threatening, and by the end the message becomes so painfully clear (and cliche) when it is explained that it seems as though the filmmakers thought their only audience was one that only wanted action. This is a pure summer action movie from a usually-quirky director.

That said, it's a pretty good action flick. Will Smith, although a little silly, gives a decent performance as the robophobic main character, who begins to suspect that robot revolution is nigh. Of course, it is, but the question is who is behind it and why. There's plenty of red herrings, but I had it figured out from the moment the culprit first appeared onscreen. This movie uses all the usual tricks to try to surprise us, but we've seen these tricks too many times for them to work anymore. The movie does have a few aces up its sleeve, such as the very effective way that Will Smith's character came to be robophobic.

So all in all, the action scenes are good for the most part, even if the effects are overused, there are good performances, and its a little too predictable to be a good mystery. I can't help but wonder what might have happened had Proyas taken this in a darker direction, more like his previous flick. **1/2 out of 4.
Jul 24, 2004
I, Robot is a sci fi, action film with timely comic lines that only Will Smith can deliever. You won't be disappointed.
Jul 24, 2004
Best summer-film of the year. I found this to be one of better sci-fi films of the past 5 years - if not the best.
Jul 25, 2004
Any other summer, and this movie might have taken the title of "Best Movie of the Summer," but having to go against Spiderman, it won't get as much press.

It is a very good movie, a better, smarter plot then most summer movies put out there, some good action and effects. Will Smith is Will Smith, if you like him in other movies, you'll like him here. Easily worth the price of admission to see it in the theater.
Jul 26, 2004
It almost got a "See Now!" from me, but 2 things bothered me about the movie. First, the very poor CGI on the backgrounds. The robots looked GREAT, but the backgrounds looked very fake (when will people learn to light the actors to match the CGI and vice versa?)! There is also a scene where Wil Smith walks through thousands of robots; the robots suddenly look like cardboard cut outs - a poorly produced scene.

The other thing that bothered me was the ending. Without giving anything away, are they expecting to do a sequel? I hope not, this is one of those movies you leave on it's own.
Jul 28, 2004
Jul 28, 2004
"I, robot" is good, but great a science fiction movie, starring Will Smitha a police officer who is investigating the killing of a human by a robot. Smith playing a cop isn't anything new, but what's new is the special effects of robots which is quite different. I enjoy this movie because of the robots.
Jul 29, 2004
Jul 29, 2004
This movie had everything a good summer action movie should have: a decent plot, great visuals, and enough action to keep things going.

One thing I look for in science fiction films that are set in the future is how well the visual effects depict the future. If they are too much of a stretch, you're always slapped in the face with "we took this too far" effects instead of subtle progressions of modern-day people, places, and things.

Unlike many such movies, I, Robot actually has a pretty decent plot. The clues Will Smith follows to solve the crime are well done, and the character of the robot he suspects of the crime is done very well.

One thing of note, the movie's name is I, Robot, and the robots all look like descendents of the original iMac computer, with their translucent white shells and contemporary curved lines (iRobots?) Coincidence? Hmmm...

This movie is well worth the price of admission, have fun!
Aug 1, 2004
Fantastic movie! Great action, great plot!
Aug 3, 2004
There is not a boring moment. Full of action and lots of fun to watch.
Aug 18, 2004

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for I, Robot.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2020, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook