Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow
Set in 1939 New York, a reporter notices that the world's scientists are disappearing. She and a pilot track down a mad scientist to foil his plot to take over the world.

Starring Jude Law, Angelina Jolie, Gwyneth Paltrow...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Sep 19, 2004
visually stunning. very entertaining.
Sep 20, 2004
This was almost painful. If you insist on seeing it, go alone, so you can leave when you want.
Sep 21, 2004
This is actually the best movie I've seen in years, no kidding. The most entertaining, fun and vibrant film I can remember; and I watch a lot of movies. See this movie now, it's like a new star wars movie, but there's no Jar Jar, and everthing is perfect. Good acting and script, everthing works.
Sep 21, 2004
Interesting use of computer graphics, but not that interesting. Guess I have outgrown some of my comics.
Oct 1, 2004
I guess I was expecting something else going in. Something closer to Indiana Jones, etc... What I got was a blah-looking film and a story line and characters that I didn't care about.

The story line didn't make any sense to me (even from a fictional point of view). Holes in the plot big enough to fly an airplane through. Don't waste your time. If you are curious about the visuals (only the actors in this film were real, everything else was supposedly computer generated), pick this up as a cheap rental someday. But spend no more than $1 on it, as it's just not worth it.
Oct 1, 2004
After seeing the trailer, I thought this movie had a lot of potential. It did, but it didn\'t meet it. Visually it was okay, but I didn\'t like the \"Buck Rodgers\" and \"Flash Gordan\" TV serial style.
Oct 4, 2004
"Sky Captain and the World of Tommorrow" is a movie worthy of the Saturday Afternoon matinees. the know the serials that domminated the big screen from the first decade of the 20th Century to the 1950's. First the cinemagraphy, it's beautiful! It's 1930's beautiful. Jude Law with help of Gwyneth Paltrow and the British battle the robots. So I guess between the depression and World War II, we have this alien theat to worry about. But despite that I really love that movie, and when it ends, I was begging for more. that's a postive comment about a movie wants to have fun.
Oct 12, 2004
The look of the movie bumps it up from a wait for rental. It looked good, but it seemed that the film makers spent so much time working on the effects, that they forgot to put in a really good story. Just didn't work, it was trying to hard to be other things, (Star Wars, Indiana Jones) and that hurt the film. It never found its own voice. Plus, it never seemed like Jude Law and Gwyeneth Paltrow were comfortable acting in front of the green screen. Both are capable of much better preformances.
Nov 27, 2004
great movie!

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2019, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook