Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster

Remove ads with our VIP Service
The 40 Year Old Virgin
40-year-old Andy Stitzer has done quite a few things in his life. He's got a cushy job stamping invoices at an electronics superstore, a nice apartment with a proud collection of action figures and...  View more >

Starring Steve Carell, Catherine Keener, Paul Rudd...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Aug 25, 2005
It was good, funny and realistic from a woman's point of view. We also took our 12 year old son to see it because it deals with lots of issues he'll be encountering in middle school and high school as many of the kids become sexually active.
Aug 25, 2005
I know that there are plenty of critics who like this movie. I had to make a rear exception. Steve Carell is no Woody Allen and "the 40 year-old Vergin is no "Play it Again Sam" There are some funny moments, but the character played by Carell does nothing but being ridicule by his friends for not having sex. It's much better than "Druce Bigalow:European Gigalo," but this film falls short. But at least I'm glad that Catherine Keener and Jane Lynch is in the movie.
Aug 26, 2005
Excellent, excellent movie. One of the funniest, most clever comedies I've ever seen. Go check it out, you won't be disappointed.
Sep 4, 2005
It was funny in some parts, but most of it was just silly. It has a feel-good ending, which I liked a lot. I wouldn't say don't see it, but I'd probably save the money and wait for rental.
Sep 10, 2005
Sep 18, 2005
Lots of laughs! It was a little naughty but then again, the title of the movie kind of lets you know that.
Sep 30, 2005
Oh my god!!The funniest movie I have seen in a long time. Laughing from start to finish.
Oct 7, 2005
Oct 20, 2005
Sorry to have to disagree so strongly with so many folks who actually found this tripe entertaining. I found the whole premise to be an example of low grade humor that I, personally, have a hard time stomaching.

It is difficult for me to believe that this movie could actually find an audience older than twelve who find it to be funny. I am patently offended by the message promoted by this movie that somehow, there is something wrong with us if we are not having gratuitous sex and that we are somehow, not fulfilled until we do.

Is that really the world view that we want our children buying into? I’ve heard this movie referred to as clever. What? How clever do you have to be to resort to prepubescent sex humor to get a laugh? Although, by today’s standards I suppose that’s the norm. It sure is a far cry from the days when comedians really had something funny to say.

Sure, it does introduce a “love” element into the, so called, plot but even that is relegated to the sewer by implying that until sex is involved it falls short of being fulfilling.

“There’s Something About Mary” it ain’t.
Dec 18, 2005
Very funny!
Dec 31, 2005
I laughed a lot. Comedies like this often drag at points, but this one kept moving.
Jul 19, 2012

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The 40 Year Old Virgin.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2020, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook