Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
The Brave One
New York radio host Erica Bain (Jodie Foster) has a life that she loves and a fiancÚ she adores. All of it is taken from her when a brutal attack leaves Erica badly wounded and her fiancÚ...  View more >

Starring Jodie Foster, Terrence Howard, Naveen Andrews...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Sep 22, 2007
Jodie Foster does a great job, it's a good movie to see.
Sep 26, 2007
I\'m a Jodie Foster fan. This film is worth seeing because of the fine acting and because of the provocative ideas presented.
Sep 28, 2007
Sep 28, 2007
entertaining enough.
Oct 4, 2007
"The Brave One" has me recalling the 1974 movie "Death Wish." and I mean the first movie, not the sequels. "the Brave One" is to the Iraq War, what "Death Wish" is to the post-Vietnam War. the film has somne references to the Iraq War, but I'd rather put the praise where the praise goes, to the two characters in the movie who stood out. Jodie Foster gave a good performance as a woman who was attacked by punks who also killed her fiance and took their dog. Like the lead character in "Death wish" she goes around on a murderous spee. foster isn't the only good performer in the movie, terrence Howard gave a good performance as the cop who is assign to go after foster's attackers. He almost stole the movie from Foster. Jodie Foster did gave a great performance, but not enough to be a Oscar contender. In mindmine, she was honored enough. Those deserved votes should go to Keri Russell for "Waitness" and AnnaSophie robb for "Bridge to Terabithia." Other than that, I though "Thwe Brave One" was a eye opener on urban violence and how people respond to it.
Oct 8, 2007
At first I thought she was a murderer, but then realized any one she killed, she basically was defending herself in each situation. I tell my friends, go see it, tell me what you think. This would be interesting to take to a jury.
Nov 13, 2007
When you have 3/4's of the theatre full and do not hear anyone talking, whispering, etc. you know this movie gets your attention and holds it. Jodie Foster does a great job in the lead role. The storyline grips you and carries on to a great ending that blindsides you.
Feb 28, 2008
I wasn't quite sure what to expect from this movie. Was it a contemporary revenge flick, similar to the Charles Bronson "Death Wish" movies? Or, was it a thoughtful drama that examined the motivation of someone headed down the path of revenge after a brutal attack?

I can't imagine Jodie Foster being the Charles Bronson of the new millennium, so the latter situation is thankfully the closer scenario. Foster does an excellent job of portraying a woman who is afraid of loud noises and has trouble even getting outside the front door of her building.

The problem I had with the movie, though, is that it's a little uneven. I didn't care for Terrence Howard in his role as a supposedly grizzled veteran cop. He's not tough and definitely not grizzled. Fortunately, he's able to hold his own in his scenes with Foster, so their relationship is a redeeming factor.

Overall, I liked the movie. Would I recommend it to others? I would have to say a qualified "yes."

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The Brave One.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2019, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook