Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End
Academy Award® Nominee
Our heroes Will Turner (Orlando Bloom), Elizabeth Swann (Keira Knightley) are now allied with Captain Barbossa (Geoffrey Rush) in a desperate quest to free Captain Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp) from his...  View more >

Starring Johnny Depp, Keira Knightley, Orlando Bloom...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

May 25, 2007
I loved the first two pirate films. However, I found this third one to be confusing, messy, and not as entertaining. I was really close to putting this film on the wait for rental category. I was really disappointed with it. The film did have its moments and the ending was a whirlind of pirate ship battle scenes. However, the drawn out dialogue, cheesy monkey and parrot scenes, and non-entertaining 2/3 of the movie were not suspensful and therefore did not build up the climax.
May 25, 2007
I thought it moved along well and had lots of action mixed with comedy, it's not a suspence od thriller movie it's comedy.

Sit back and enjoy
May 26, 2007
"Pirates 3" may be the nuttiest mainstream film I've ever seen that wasn't directed by Tim Burton. In the first hour alone we get ships sailing upside down, on sand, over the edge of the world, and atop an ocean of stars (that's not to mention 50-foot giants, flying monkeys, and pirates that look like makeup test rejects for The Joker). Mind you, none of this makes any actual sense, it's just there to look cool. And it does.

If you enjoyed the second "Pirates" film, then chances are you'll enjoy this one just as much. However, for me, the freshness of the series has all but worn off. In a three-hour epic adventure, I'd like to care about the love story, who's backstabbing whom, and who ultimately gets what they want.

Instead, I found myself watching the spectacular action scenes while remaining mildly interested in how everything turned out, mostly because I hoped it would answer whatever questions I had about the convoluted plot at that moment. It's tough to get attached to the characters on an emotional level when every time something thrilling or shocking or touching happens it's followed quickly by a slapstick, irreverent moment. This film doesn't know when to take itself seriously, and that's main problem with it.

Still, there's lots of good to be had. The previously mentioned nuttiness is there in full force. Perhaps the most jaw-droppingly wacky moment doesn't happen onscreen but in the soundtrack, when wailing electric guitars suddenly kick in. There's epic effects shots abound (the evil Lord Beckett's send-off is one of the most iconic final moments for a villain I've ever seen). The action is just as spectacular as ever, though there isn't a single scene to match the three-way sword battle in last year's installment. And the movie has moments of sheer brilliance; the wedding at sea comes to mind.

Basically, "Pirates 3" is still a fun, though lengthy, romp. However, while the original's charm lay in the haphazard yet loving way in which it was crafted, it seems that the sequels were only made to appear as if they were crafted in a haphazard yet loving way, and that comes across in everything from the dialogue to the action scenes to the jokes. It all seems a little more planned and therefore a little more soulless. But it wraps up the series nicely and it's probably the most thrillingly bizarre thing you'll see in the theatre this year. *** out of 4.
May 26, 2007
it wasnt as good as the first two...no where near. i ruined the whole pirates of the carribean thing...it stunk
May 29, 2007
May 29, 2007
its alot to sit through but I found it worthwhile to sit through. it is full of action. I think its a must see!!!
May 30, 2007
\"Pirates of the Caribbean:At World\'s End\" is an incredible copnclusion to the three-film trilogy. I like the action and the fun as Johnny Depp contiues his role as \"Captain Jack Sprrow. Probaby thye collest pirate in moption pictures history. but seeing this film is a bit of a burden, hearing rumors that Kiera Knightly might quit acting. If she does, it would be very sad for me, because I\'d admire her very much. the film is exciting, some of the best moments came at the end where a big battles between the pirates in a knock-down, drag-out fight to the finish. At 2 hours and 48 minutes, it may seem a little long, but it was worth it. If the series ends here, I\'ll be very happy indeed. It\'s high adventure you\'re seeking, look no farther than \"Pirates of the Caribbean:At world\'s End.\"
Jun 3, 2007
This was probably one the best movies I have ever seen. It kept me on the edge of my seat at all times wondering what was about to hapen next. The Beginning was a little confusing but everything started tying together at the end. I didnt even mind that it was close 3 hours long. I highly reccomend seeing it!
Jun 12, 2007
this movie sucks buttermilk
Jun 14, 2007
Jun 18, 2007
Jul 1, 2007
This movie is WAY too long, and it shows. It decends into idiocy. By the end of this movie, it is impossible to tell who is the bad guy and who is the good guy. Johnny Depp's character has lost all charm, and the story line with the other main characters almost becomes a parady of their original character.

The first Pirates movie was great, the second, ok, and by the third they have completely run out of storyline, and it is a confusing mess. I ended up hoping that they don't make a fourth.

Wait for the rental, if you are a fan of these movies.
Aug 23, 2007
AWESOME!!!

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
News Headlines - Theaters - Movies - Reader Reviews - Movie Links
Your Account - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2021, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook