Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
The Happening
In this paranoid thriller, a family goes on the run from an apocalyptic crisis that presents a large-scale threat to humanity.

Starring Mark Wahlberg, Zooey Deschanel, John Leguizamo

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Jun 17, 2008
"the Happening" ia a thriller about people fleeing to save their lives from a unknown killer. Mark Wahlberg plays a science teacher who with a group of people which includes Zooey Deschanel as his love intrest, trying to flee somthing that is killing them. Director M. Night Shyamalan, who wrote the screenplay took the events of 9/11 and make it tnto a thriller. This is one of the better horror films of this year. the cast is superb and the fear is real. At the start of the movie there was one scene in the classroom as wahlber and his students discuss why the bees suddenely flew away and never heard of again. Later in the movie, people in parks in New York city and Philadelphia grew illusion and later took their lives. With that humans flee the cities in order to survive. I can't give you anymore details of the film, except it's scary. You will never know what will happen next. That is the fun of watching this movie. "The Happening" is proof that Shyamalam is our gerenation's Alfred Hitchcock.
Jun 18, 2008
I go to the movies solely to be entertained not to be “educated” by a certain political or social agenda or ideology. “The Happening” is entertaining on the surface and I enjoyed the movie on an elemental level. I did not enjoy the underlying message of “humans are bad and deserve to be punished for all the evil they have done to the earth and environment!” If I wanted to be lectured on the morals of ecological damage humans have done over time or (more to the movie) nature finally taking revenge on us. I would watch “An Inconvenient Truth” or “Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed” where I know the premise of the movie- and its political agenda.

I may be going overboard on this critique and reading to much into it...and I did actually enjoy the movie, just not its underlying theme.
Jun 24, 2008
Not as bad as the critics would have you believe. Its not as good as Signs, or Sixth Sense, but its still a pretty effective horror movie.
Jun 25, 2008
Good? GOOD? I can’t remember when I’ve seen a movie so void of any redeeming qualities. The acting stunk, the dialogue was horrendous (“cheese and crackers!!”?) and the plot was some kind of wacko, junk science, Al Gore inspired foolishness that defies belief.

This film was so bad that the four of us in my family are still tryin’ to figure out if it was supposed to be a parody of this genre of film or whether it was suppose to be taken seriously. All I know is that it seemed to illicit more laughs than gasps.

Combine all that with the unsettling images of most of the cast offing themselves and you’ve got one monumental waste of time.
Jun 25, 2008
Definitely not what I expected, and certainly not Night's best work, by far. Perhaps not even worth renting. It's sad because every other film I've seen with Mark Wahlberg has been great (Invincible, Shooter, Boogie Nights, etc.)
Jun 25, 2008
I've been a fan of M. Night Shyamalan since Sixth Sense, but this film was laughable. The poor acting and corny dialogue quite literally made us stifle our laughter throughout the entire film. The story and premise held alot of potential, but it was ridiculously done. Very disappointing and certainly not anywhere near his best work.
Jun 29, 2008
If you go into this movie expecting a parody of a bad 50's sci-fi movie, you'll find it makes an effective comedy, like "Kung Pow: Enter the Fist". The acting, dialog, and story is so consistently bad, it made me laugh out loud on more than one occasion. Every one of these actors are GOOD actors -- they had to be doing that bad on purpose. However, there is no reason to see it on the big screen. The effects were decent, but nothing to get out of your chair for.
Jul 5, 2008
This Movie isn't worth the money. The story ends in the middle abruptly... Not a good movie lay out... at all..

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The Happening.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2019, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook