Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Five young New Yorkers throw their friend a going-away party the night that a monster the size of a skyscraper descends upon the city. Told from the point of view of their video camera, the film is...  View more >

Starring Michael Stahl-David, Mike Vogel, Odette Yustman...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Jan 19, 2008
Jan 19, 2008
Jan 21, 2008
We were dissapointed, as was the rest of the audience. As we heard unfavorable comments as we were leaving the theatre. It did have some scary parts, and I have to say the 'monsters' were not bad. But I would have liked some explanation at the end. Maybe a news broadcast tying up what happened or where it came from. As it was it seemed unfinished. I should have waited for the rental and not wasted our money.
Jan 24, 2008
A grest monster thriller. One of the best that I saw in months. "Cloverfield crosses "Godzilla" with "The Blair Witch Project" and you'll get one hell of a thrill ride. One of thge reason why I dislike the Godzilla series is that the monster just like to knocked tiny little buildings to the ground without any respect to the people on the ground. well, I hope "Cloverfield" will changed all that. five young people are trapped in New York city as a huge ugly monster goes on a rampage. Take with him are tiny little monsters that can attack. the slight of building fall to the ground as the people fleed will be a painful reminder of the attacks of 9/11. I heard an rumor that the monster in question is a rabbit. I saw the monster and he's too ugly to be a rabbit. don't let those things scare you from seeing this movie. This is a great thriller and you will be scare like I have.
Jan 26, 2008
This flick had a great story line but it was more like a bad home video. Left our entire family with motion sickness. We kept waiting for it to get better. Finally we left half way through the movie.
Jan 27, 2008
Feb 2, 2008
Somewhere between a "Good" and a "See Now"

I liked it. A lot of "monster" flicks lately have been storybook formula. This one had me on the edge of my seat. Pretty tense, not knowing what'll happen next etc...
Mar 7, 2008
Mar 28, 2008
Sep 19, 2008
The idea of a Godzilla-type movie for America is appealing. The fact that J.J. Abrams was at the helm and the effective publicity for the movie sealed it for me -- this was a movie to see!

The the initial reports came in and it seemed like it may be more sizzle than steak. I decided to wait for the rental instead.

The shaky-cam amateur video look to the proceedings was probably necessary because of that you-are-there approach they took, but man, is it hard to deal with! It's a good thing I'm a fan of the Jason Bourne movies, so at least I didn't get motion sickness before the movie was over! (This happened in many theaters, from what I understand)

That said, this is a pretty effective monster movie. You even come to care about the characters in the movie, so the suspense of what will happen to each of them is palpable.

The special effects were great, but I didn't like the Human Scale Parasites at all. They were an unnecessary supporting evil that distracted from the main monster and the trouble that the people were in. However, I can imagine that it was a little difficult to keep up the suspense when the monster was off destroying some skyscraper or getting hammered by military jets on the other side of town, so the HSP's kept the action moving and made sure the body count kept climbing.

One particular value in renting the movie was for the extras. I ended up watching the entire movie a second time after watching all the extras, so I could listen to the commentary and the "Special Investigation Mode" that was included on the Blu-ray disc which provided quite a few insights into the movie and extended the movie-watching experience.

If you've seen the movie before, make sure you get a chance to watch these extras. If you haven't seen it, pick up the Blu-ray version so that you can check these extras out as they will most likely enhance your opinion of the movie!
Jun 24, 2013

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Cloverfield.

New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search

Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2018, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook