Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Surrogates
People are living their lives remotely from the safety of their own homes via robotic surrogates—sexy, physically perfect mechanical representations of themselves. It’s an ideal world...  View more >

Starring Bruce Willis, Radha Mitchell, Rosamund Pike...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Sep 26, 2009
It was an OK movie...but not worth the price of a ticket. The first part was rather slow moving.. and it didn't pick up a lot in the later parts. Maybe Bruce needs a movie more his age like Grand Toreno.
Sep 29, 2009
Was worth the cost of the show. Intertaining and I thought Bruce Willis was very conviencing in this movie. He had to play an emotional part. I went to see Pandorum the same weekend and i liked it better, but my wife liked this one more. Good suspense and acting throughout, but i was expecting more Sci-fi thrills.
Sep 29, 2009
Good mix of light action and light sci-fi. Neither is great, but neither is bad.
Sep 30, 2009
A great idea goes sour in "Surrogates." this lame excuse for a science fiction movie has parts of "I Robot" and parts of "Strange Days," and what you get is a mess. Bruce Willis (in yet another cop role) investigate the murder involving surrogates. These are machines that the humans live though in their own homes. I though it was a great idea, but the film fell apart. It got too violent, peachy and in the end, I just don't get it.
Oct 1, 2009
Good, solid movie. Nothing spectacular, but it kept me entertained throughout.
Oct 2, 2009
Oct 4, 2009
This movie was a delightful surprise. They have taken an interesting sci-fi theme and added a lot of imagination with lots of twists and turns and an unexpected ending. I thought this was better than a "Good" movie, maybe half way to a "See Now!". Well worth the admission and the popcorn. Go see it on the big screen,
Oct 30, 2009
I enjoyed many aspects of this movie, even though some fell short of their potential.

Even though it's easy to focus on the sci-fi elements of the robotic substitutes for human interaction, the more important element is how widespread implementation of it affects our ability to interact with people and how society reacts in general to the situation. This was the strongest part of the movie that was lightly touched upon in regards to the former, but more heavily covered in the latter.

The cultural separation caused by people that refused to embrace using surrogates seemed very plausible. I can imagine this happening in that type of a situation.

The part that was not explored as deeply was the impact that using surrogates had on people's ability to function when they had to go out in public in "real life." The anxiety felt by Bruce Willis' character when he had to step out of his apartment and deal with being bumped into, and being vulnerable to injury, was only lightly touched upon. They could have done more with this, but I guess you have to keep a movie focused on the good guy chasing the bad guy or you risk losing the audience.

I would equate Surrogates to I, Robot in many ways. The theme is similar, and the two movies even share an actor (James Cromwell). I enjoyed I, Robot better, probably because of Will Smith's performance, but the ending of Surrogates struck a better chord and ended the story better.
May 6, 2013

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Surrogates.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2019, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook