Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
©Disney Enterprises Inc All Rights Reserved
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides
Johnny Depp returns to his iconic role of Captain Jack Sparrow in an action-packed adventure. Crossing paths with the enigmatic Angelica (Penélope Cruz), he's not sure if it's love—or if...  View more >

Starring Johnny Depp, Penelope Cruz, Ian McShane...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

May 24, 2011
Not a bad movie. The Pirates of the Carribean series' still got strong legs as it goes into the fourth movie in the series. Watch Johnny Depp as Jack Sparrow is fun to watch. nHJe continues to play his pirate role like he's one awesome dude. (Notice the word awesome, a word that I rarely use) I likie Penelope Cruz performance. she is ver appealing a very grogeous on the b ig screen. Every time she appears on the big screen, I can't take my eyes off her. I continue to be amazed by the music score by Hans Zimmer. That music score has help the movie along. I like the score very much. I also like the mermaids.
May 24, 2011
This movie is very close to wait for the rental. It is slow moving, and at times dull. I have loved all the pirate movies but if this is the best they can do in the series, end it with this one.
May 28, 2011
Just barely makes a good rating. Johnny Depp's performance as Jack Sparrow was once new and exciting, but there's nothing new in his performance here and its starting to border on cliche. Ian McShane is also criminally wasted as an under written and not at all threatening Blackbeard. There is still some good here. The action scenes are done well, especially the Mermaid Scene. But mostly the movie just serves to remind of how good the first movie was, and how far from that quality the series has fallen. It is obviously running out of steam.

Also, for those of you looking to save a few dollars, there was not a single thing I saw that made me regret seeing it in 2D. I can't see any way that 3D could have made the experience any different, except in that I saved 4 dollars on the ticket.
May 31, 2011
good movie. penople cruze did a great job. loved the mermaids that was a good add to the movie. Hint wait till the end of the credits
May 31, 2011
Jun 2, 2011
Seen in 2D (3D probably doesn't add much and isn't worth the extra admission cost) and found it to be fine. A little long at times with extended sections of dialog, but overall, a fine adventure for Jack and the other assorted characters.

As stated previously, stay for the entire credits for an extra scene.
Jun 9, 2011
It was really long and a bit boring. The worst of the four movies by far. Don't waste your time seeing it.
Jun 10, 2011
Great characters as usual, Johnny Depp will always hold my attention as Jack Sparrow; Penelop Cruz is also excellent.

The story lacks something though and could have used a spot of Orlando Bloom and Kiera Knightly to bring it back to life. Leaving those characters out left the movie lacking. They tried to make a love story with the Christian and the mermaid, however they leave you hanging in some parts and lost in the end.

Definately excellent Hans Zimmer music and action enough and special effects are always amazing.
Jun 16, 2011
Jun 24, 2011
Not the best of the pirate movies by far, close to wait .
Jun 30, 2011
I loved it ! My favorite Pirate movie yet!
Jun 24, 2013

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2019, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook