Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
The American
As an assassin, Jack (Clooney) is constantly on the move and always alone. After a job in Sweden ends more harshly than expected for this American abroad, Jack retreats to the Italian countryside. He...  View more >

Starring George Clooney, Thekla Reuten, Bruce Altman...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Sep 2, 2010
Sep 3, 2010
Sep 4, 2010
Slow. Boring. Basically awful.
Sep 4, 2010
The priest had more lines than George did. Movie was extremely slow and boring. I can't believe Clooney did this movie. What was he thinking. We all could tell he was conflicted and lonely immediately. And what's with the sex??? How integral was it to the movie? NOT!
Sep 5, 2010
George Clooney is a good actor but this film is boring. He's a hit man being chased by Sweds who want to kill him. Why? Who knows...He has little dialog thoughout the movie. Several opinions from other's in the theater was the same as mine: BORING! Sorry George!
Sep 7, 2010
This movie was a waste of time, unbeliveable! It took everything we had not to fall asleep, the boringest movie ever!
Sep 7, 2010
Sep 8, 2010
Not a bad movie. Often slow at times, I though George cloony gave a shadow performance. In the past, he played likable characters, in "The American," he played a totally different character. He played a assassin who wanted out of the business. His character reminded me of "Up in the Air." In that movie, he fires people. In the "American" he fires at people. Cloony gave a good performance, not a great one. I like to mewntion the performance of Thekla Reuten as a female assassin. I hope to see her again in a another movie.
Sep 10, 2010
Boring, Boring, Boring.
Worst movie Ever!
Sep 18, 2010
This movie was awful!! Ewtremely boring. Its hardly worth writing this review cause for some strange reason "expert" movie critics seemed to really like it!! Giving it 5 stars! Whatever! I can only see George as an "old man" now thanks to that awful sex scene looking like a chemo patient!!
Sep 26, 2010
Oct 5, 2010
Hopelessly boring and pointless
Jul 19, 2012

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The American.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2019, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook