Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

Remove ads with our VIP Service
8MM
Tom Welles (Nicolas Cage) is a surveillance specialist waiting for a big break. It comes when a reel of crudely shot eight millimeter film sends him down a gritty and frightening path into society's...  View more >

Starring Nicolas Cage, Joaquin Phoenix, James Gandolfini

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
8mm has been hyped as a gritty movie about snuff pornography. Well, it isn't that gritty, which is OK by me. It is, however, a good characterization of an upwardly mobile private investigator, played by Nicholas Cage, who believes his own PR about how effective he is. When he agrees to investigate whether an 8mm film found by the wife of a recently deceased industrialist is for real, he senses that this will be the case that means financial security for his family. Max, a pornographic shop clerk warns him how he can change as he moves further into the investigation. What remains a weakness in the film is how involved the Cage character becomes. Yes, he keeps in investigating, but is he turned by these violence and sex films? We really don't know. It is a serious film, so folks wanted a little fun for a night out are advised to see something else. Also I saw a father bring a kid about 13 or so into the movie. I really don't think 13-year-olds need to know about snuff movies.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Wow, what can you say about this movie! If you love Nicholas Cage, then it is a must see movie. It has everything from good guys to bad guys to unexpected turn in events. Nicholas plays a character like he has never played before. Not the movie you would bring your family to but a definite must see. You must see it for yourself to fully appreciate the amazing performances given by all the characters. The movie will keep you on your toes. Plus, it will show you something so unexpected that it makes you think "Could this really happen." Wow is the best word to describe the movie. When you see it you will total understand the word "WOW". Wow is brought to a whole new level.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
8mm will be a difficult movie for some viewers to watch and some to follow but it is an excellently written, directed, and acted movie throughout. It almost makes you forget this is the same director who did "Batman and Robin" Tom Welles played by Nicolas Cage is a private investigator hired by a rich widow to investigate a snuff film inside her deceased husband's safe. As the movie progresses, Welles discovers the past of the girl who appears on the reel, as well as delve into the world of underground pornography. Many people in this movie could have simply been written as a stereotypical character, such as the villains in the movie and Max, sort of a "sidekick" who helps Welles out. Better yet is the girl herself as she is not simply a point to speed along the plot but a real person who affects Welles and her own mother. It's difficult to explain the way this movie may affect you, it definitely drives home it's harsh look at pornography and one thing it can do for someone is turn the people involved from "sex objects" into a real person, when the movie is over ask yourself if you would have done what Nicolas Cage's character did. The only thing keeping this from a "See now" rating is it is not for everyone, but regardless this movie will leave you thinking long after you leave the theater.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
There was more than one time during this movie that I thought about walking out and asking for my money back. If you're into very hardcore porn, then go see this movie. Otherwise, go see Patch Adams again. It's very graphic and sometimes very nasty. I'm no prude. As a matter of fact, I'm a big Cage fan and love action movies, but we can easily do without this sort of movie.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Awesome! I have been awaiting this movie for months and was not disappointed. Very dark and sinister. With only one scene that made me think it was slightly unrealistic...ie: the man going for the gun under the car..why didn't he go around? But that's all I will say about the actual movie itself. If you are easily offended by porn and the darker side of life then STAY AWAY..go see Blast from the Past or some other happy-go-lucky- movie. I plan on seeing this movie again. Cage and all the actors were superb. If you liked Seven and Silence OF The Lambs, see this movie TODAY!!!!

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie sums up what most of Hollywood is becoming, absolute trash.

Not for one minute was the movie at all interesting, unless you were a porn-crazed psycho. The acting, save the part of Max California, was terrible. If I had to choose one word to sum the movie up, it would definitely be--wierd. I can't believe I actually spent two hours of my life watching absolute trash.

Anyone with any morals, or at least appreciation for movies will either stay away from it entirely, or walk out on it. This movie had no direction, no story and most of all it had no character.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie was bad. It had an intriguing, if unnerving, premise, but the execution simply did not happen. Joel Schumacher is definitely on my hit list now. First he has to go and ruin the Batman franchise, and now this. He seems to believe that simply making a film "dark" and "gritty" makes it good. But under all that darkness, he forgot to give us appealing characters, an unpredictable plot, and suspense that actually delivers a payoff!

I just don't know about Nicolas Cage. He was brilliant in Leaving Las Vegas. But Con Air was just stupid, and now this. He's not so much to blame, though. The screenplay doesn't give him much to work with. It contains every "thriller" cliche in the book and gives us some lines of dialogue that are truly laughable. This could have worked as pardoy if only it didn't take itself so damned seriously. By the end, I just didn't care about the characters at all. If they had all died, I would have had no problem with it.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Andrew Kevin Walker’s (Se7en) noir thriller about a private investigator’s descent into the dark world of underground pornography. There’s nothing upbeat here. Fine. Get the happytime cliches out of the way and make a good movie. But then comes along Joel (Batman & Robin) Schumacher. Or would he be Joel (The Client, Falling Down) Schumacher? The final answer lies unfortunately more toward the former than the latter. The film has the feel of Se7en but sometimes gropes to find direction, spending too much time on some plot developments but not enough on others. I blame the director for that. One other annoyance was protagonist Tom Welles’ (Nicholas Cage) wife, who whines incessantly for her husband to come home. Hey babe, remember Se7en? You’d better shut up and hope Walker forgets about you. Fortunately, Nicholas Cage is growing on me in this, his now apparent genre of choice. There’s tension and suspense in 8MM, and Cage has a lot to do with that. On the other hand, questions about his motivations do arise and I also point out that actions have consequences. These consequences are never addressed. At the end of the day, the uneven direction and plot holes unfortunately mar the other positives the movie accomplishes. It’s a close call, but I can’t quite recommend 8MM. Either could a fellow moviegoer sitting in front of me, obviously representing mainstream, formula America. "I’m used to more action. All I learned from (8MM) is that there are freaky people in the world," he said. Hmm...He wanted Roland Emmerich and I wanted David Fincher. Ironically, we both left unhappy.

10-point scale rating: 5

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I thought the movie was great. It is realistic, you know it happens everyday. It shows how well our system works when it comes to important issues like these and it also shows the sad fact that if you want something done that you have to do it your self becasue no-one cares as much as you do. I liked it because it was based on reality.... the story line was not one that would make you leave happy but make you think the next time you talk to someone you don't know.... and make you think about many other things also..

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie, like "Seven" attempts to show the average person trying to understand that which most of us would truly define as evil. 8mm is less effective than "Seven" because it too clearly identifies those characters that it defines as evil. In "Seven" we were shown little of the perpetrator and more of the results of his work as is often the case in the real world. Most often, we are witnesses to the piles of unidentified corpses and not to the former farmer who has grown so ripe with hatred that fertilizing the ground with the bodies of his neighbors no longer evokes any questions of conscience. The performances in 8mm are all above average and the movie is worth seeing on those merits alone.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Open minded, that is how I am and that is how every one should be. Go to see that movie right now! It is great, the atmosphere is terrific and Cage is delivering non-stop. Yes, it refers to the porn-world, yes it is violent, but...it is the world in which we live.

What I like about it is the fact that it depicts a unknown "dimension" that lots of us would not like to assess...but we need to wake up and realize that it exists!! Patch Adams is a great movie, but don't fool yourself: the world is much harder than you think! This movie addresses issues that our US society is trying to reject, when we actually should look at it straight in the face--manipulation and usage of teen-age for the pleasure of adults...sick subject!!! It is a great movie because it shows you that those people are sometimes not too far from who we are!! And yes, that may disturb some of us.

Do yourself a favor--go watch this movie and learn a sociology lesson.

Jan 25, 2000
Starring: Nicolas Cage, Joaquin Phoenix, James Gandalfini, Peter Stormare, Chris Bauer, Catherine Keener, Anthony Heald

First of all....I truly hated it. I have taken the liberty of listing above many of the actors names who starred in this film, so that in the future if you ever see their names all together again....you will know to avoid the film. I have one question for director Joel Schumacher, "Why did you ever bring this story to film?". I can honestly say that this film was one of the worse films I have ever scene. It had no redeeming qualities, the story line itself was horrendous, and the cinematography was the darkest and dreariest ever scene. At first glance, you might be thinking that you are going to see something so terrible in that 8MM film (which it is), but it is presented in such a strange way that you just sit there and wonder why you chose this film. Bottom line...stay as far away from this film as humanly possible. A whole bottle of Pepto-Bismal couldn't make you feel better after seeing this movie. Rating: 1 of 10 (because I like James Gandalfini as an actor...otherwise it would have been a zero)

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie was horrible, and although I am open minded and see what exactly they were trying to accomplish visually with the graphic violence and sex, the movie turned out to be nothing more than a poorly acted, poorly writen somewhat nices filmed grab bag of disturbing images. The movie eventually (and seemingly unbeknownst to itself) turns into essentially what it is speaking against... a piece of trash depicting violence to satisfy the primal pervert in us all. ... for god sakes it's not even GOOD porn!

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
8mm was a great movie with plenty of hair raising scenes that made you want to turn away. The people that didn't like this film, knew what it was about before they went. Though the ending was a bit weak the overall film was pretty good. so if you have some free time one weekend check it out for something different...

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie quickly made its way into bargain theaters because no one wanted to pay for this junk. I'm as desensitized to violence and sex as anyone out there. But the porn scenes were both pathetic and gratuitous, the character development was nil, and ironically enough, a movie that claims to care so much about its young victim never bothers to develop her life in anything other than cliches. Add to that the uncomfortable position you're put in watching the morons in the front row who brought a three-year-old into this movie, and this ends up being a seriously bad experience. Just wait for the nonsensical closing shot to crystalize how poorly this movie was put together. What a waste of time.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I hand the misfortune of seeing My favorite actor Nicholas Cage, in one of the sleaziest movies i have ever seen in a theatre. A young girl dies making a snuff film and our Man Nick has to find out who did it. They show many horrific scenes in this movie. I liked City of Angels a whole lot better. None of the characters meant anything to me except the older lady and his wife were decent human beings There are some real rough characters in this film. This film wont win any humanatarian awards Nicholas Cage is a fine and wonderful actor. but he wasted my time and his talent Snake eyes was a much better film I realy liked con air That was a real masterpiece compared to this bloodbath. I hope he doesnt make a 8mm two.. I was realy dissapointed in this film. It looked like it was filmed in 8mm Don't even rent or pay for this movie on pay per view. Wait till its on hbo. I am a semi proffessional film critic for Yesterday usa radio station and I write for three different websites. I am not a professional writer.

May 13, 2003
"8MM" starring Nicolas Cage as an undercover cop to assign to invesigate the murder of a woman who was murdered while filming a prono movie. I like some parts of it, but I came away empty.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for 8MM.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2019, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook