Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Rise of the Planet of the Apes
Academy Award® Nominee
An origin story in the true sense of the word, Rise of the Planet of the Apes is set in present day San Francisco. The movie is a reality-based cautionary tale -- a science fiction/science-fact...  View more >

Starring James Franco, Andy Serkis, Freida Pinto...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Aug 4, 2011
Aug 7, 2011
Aug 9, 2011
I wasn't a big fan of the original Planet of the Apes series the took place between 1968 and 1974. Somehow, "The Rise of the Planet of the Apes" made me a believer. The film follows a chimp name Ceasar as he is befriended by a scentist, played by James Franco. He is seeking a cure for Alzheimer's dease which my help his struggling father played by John Lithgow. The ape was taken in by Franco and later after he attacked a neighbor, he was in;prisoned with other apes and that's when they plot to began the revolt. I like the movie. I like the way the apes ran ramant though the streets of San Fransico and on the Golden Gate bridge. Somehow, It all works nicely for me.
Aug 11, 2011
Aug 16, 2011
Very well put together, its not packed with action, but it does an excellent job building the character of the leading ape, and establishing how did we get to "planet of the apes". When the story did get to the action scenes it was very exciting, and I believe because the writer and director took their time making a solid story from the beginning.

Well worth the money to see a second time.
Aug 24, 2011
I thought that this was a really good movie. It really illustrated how social norms are developed both for human and ape alike.

I thought James Franco showed a good performance, but I did not buy him being a Scientist. I thought his girlfriend was rather useless in this movie as well. It may have been even better without her at all. John Lithgow did very well as an older man struggling with Alzheimer's disease. The actors behind the Apes were all very convincing as well. Integrity and honor played a big part in this movie.

There was definitely a "what comes around goes around" theme. The suspense was thrilling and the action was very interesting as well. It kept my attention all of the way through. It is worth seeing on the big screen.
Aug 31, 2011
Seems like Hollywood has been cranking out either remakes or prequels to old movies like Planet of the Apes. Most of the time they suck but this one just happens to not suck. This "prequel" actually was good. The movie makers got it right this time.

They did a really good job of developing the main character Ceaser. You really get a sense of his frustration as he becomes more aware. Anyone who saw the original movies will pick up certain details from them that were incorporated into the new movie.

In fact this is the only movie that i would actually tell people to see. It's got a good story line, fairly good casting, good action and the effects weren't so over done that you sit there thinking BULLSH*T...

I highly recommend this movie.
Sep 21, 2011
Great movie with interim development to the Planet of the Apes series. I thought they'd bypass how the apes developed, but they did a good job of showing their upcoming traits, how and why it could happen, etc. Great action, well worth seeing on the big screen.
Sep 20, 2014
Awesome movie! I would hope that they make a sequal to this movie. My husband and I would be there! We saw this movie at The Eden Drive In. If you haven't been there, you should try them out. Reasonable prices and friendly staff. Kid friendly too.
Jul 25, 2016
I watched this movie with my dad and my sister. I loved the way they mixed in the green eyes for the intelligent apes. I would not suggest younger kids watching this movie. There were times when I was tempted to cry, other times when I was scared. I hope that you have fun on this roller coaster plot movie!

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Rise of the Planet of the Apes.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2020, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook