Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Analyze This
Paul Vitti (Robert De Niro) is one of New York's most powerful gangsters. But when it becomes time for Paul Vitti to assume his role as the leader of his crime family, he suddenly starts having...  View more >

Starring Billy Crystal, Robert De Niro, Lisa Kudrow...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
It was hilarious from beginning to end. Billy Crystal and Robert DeNiro play off each other wonderfully. You'll love it.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This was the funniest movie I have seen in the longest time. De Niro is the perfect choice for the part of Paul Viti. He plays off of his past gangster performances and is hilarious. Billy Crystal is fabulous as the therapist reluctantly treating Paul Viti. I had tears in my eyes at times from laughter and actually missed some lines because the audience was laughing so hard. Go see this movie, it is so good.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie is very funny Robert De Niro as a mob boss with panic attacks and Billy Crystal as the psychiatrist whom he chooses to treat him or else. The supporting cast is also well done in this film. The theater I saw this in had age groups ranging from teenagers to retired and they all laughed. One other note not directly related to the film. They have a preview for Disney's next animated feature "Tarzan" it's a quick preview like that of "Star Wars: The Phantom Menace". It looks like it could be pretty good for those who are into that kind of thing.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie about a mobster who receives psychiatric help is tremendosly hilarious. Billy Crystal and Robert DiNero are great together. DeNiro's portrayal of the mobster Paul Viti, is wonderful. The theatre that I went to was laughing at every joke. This is a must see!

My Rating:***1/2

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
*laughs* Robert DeNiro and Billy Crystal deliver brilliant, and fully performances in this lastest release film. Simple story line, a big mob leader played by DeNiro needs a shrink for some psychological problems. Crystal just happens to run into the mob, and is enlisted by DeNiro. Definitely a hit on my list this year...I'd see it again no problem!

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
except for the excessive four letter word, -- I enjoyed the movie -- couldn't help but laughing out loud--- actually, I can't remember when I laughed out loud that often in a movie - and it felt good. the comments of Crystal and DeNiro work well together is true - hope they do another movie together.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Saw this movie last Friday and am going to see it again tomorrow... we were laughing so hard during some parts that I missed some lines. I went to the theatre with 5 other people and everyone loved it. Best comedy I've seen in a long time.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Robert DeNiro plays his part as a big time mobster well enough for this genre of film, but if your expecting to see serious gangsta's at work then go and see an Al Pacino film. The film is quite funny at times, and at other times ruined by Lisa Kudrow who is quite the bimbo. If you enjoy light hearted humor then go see it, if you can't make it then grab it on video, don't worry you won't be missing out.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Robert DeNiro is great, I never had seen him in a comedy...Billy Crystal is, as always, absolutely hilarious! And with others, like Lisa Kudrow.... This movie keeps you laughing from beginning to end.....GO SEE IT!*****

Jan 25, 2000
First of all....I loved it. This is one film that will definitely have you laughing for a long time. The image of the mafia has moved from the Godfather of the 70s to the Sopranos of the 90s. Here you have Robert DeNiro playing a very well-known and visible crime family head who seems to be having a stressful time in his chosen career. DeNiro chooses to seek assistance (probably from seeing so many of those Charter commercials) and tracks down Billy Crystal for help. For the next two hours you watch the client/doctor relationship grow and develop through some very comical scenes. Billy Crystal is outstanding in his role as a psychiatrist and DeNiro is tremendous as a member of the Mafia. If you are having a hard time imagining DeNiro in a comedic role, then this is a must see film, for you won't believe it unless you see it. Bottom line...if more Mafia members would be willing to seek help, then maybe we can have a kinder and gentler crime world. Rating: 9 of 10

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
The fear I had here was that Bob DeNiro would make a mockery of the gangster roles he has made so memorable in the past. Add in the Billy Crystal factor (memories of "Father’s Day" and "My Giant" linger) and I was all set to skip this one. Good thing I heard favorable feedback from friends, as it’s a funny and successful film. Both of my concerns were thrown aside: DeNiro is very funny yet I still respected his character, while Crystal is perfectly cast as the analyst. Minor complaints: When DeNiro’s not on screen the movie lags a bit (Crystal’s stand-up bit at the end is tiresome) and the film seemed a tad long (how many ways can you beat the same joke to death?). Again, minor beefs in a well done movie.

10-point scale rating: 7

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
PROLOGUE: Spring Break, 1999. As my break did not coincide with that of any of my friends from my home state, I had to turn to the local cineplex for entertainment. I planned to see as many movies as possible. This was an interesting decision, considering that early spring movies are some of the worst of the year. I was pleasantly surprised, as I enjoyed all of the films I saw.

I was rooting for this movie from square one, as I am a big fan of Billy Crystal and feel that some of his movies, MR. SATURDAY NIGHT and CITY SLICKERS 2 in particular, were unfairly ignored by critics and audiences alike. Obviously, I was happy to learn that ANALYZE THIS was an immediate hit.

And deservedly so. Crystal and Robert DeNiro shine in their respective roles as a squirmish shrink and a hilariously sensitive mafia boss. Actually, until the ending in which Crystal is summoned to a meeting of nationwide crime bosses, DeNiro quietly owns the show, giving his best performance in years (RONIN, GREAT EXPECTATIONS, JACKIE BROWN, COP LAND, SLEEPERS... boy did this guy need a hit!). Of course, the finale in which Crystal is allowed to fully flex his comic muscles.

I think the only weakness of this movie was not making Billy Crystal more likable. His character was a bit closer to Woody Allen than Mitch from CITY SLICKERS. Crystal is at his best when he is likable, not nuerotic.

Besides that one small detail, a fantastically written and performed comedy.

RATING: B+ (8.5 out of 10)

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I thought the movie was great!!! It kept you in your seat. Robert Deniro fit his part quite well, Billy Crystal kept you laughing. It was well worth the money to see it at the big screen. Don't wait to see this you must see it now!!! Great Show.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This Movie is so cool. I loved it. It was hilarious. The acting by Robert Deniro and Billy Crystal was exellent. I give it ****.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Funny, but not hilarious.

Top notched cast. Second tier writing.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Hilarious. No "message", just entertainment. ....old-timers like myself might recognize the 'father of the bride' as Bea Arthur's husband on Maude, & the bride herself, Lisa Kudrow, as the ditsy waitress who makes occasional appearance on Mad About You. I wouldn't take the kids, but as adult fare it's great.

Jan 25, 2000
When Robert De Niro is in a film, you can be pretty sure that it will be a good film. From the Godfather movies, to Cape Fear, to Awakenings, De Niro delivers remarkable performances no matter what role he plays.

Billy Crystal, on the other hand, is less predictable. With marks on both sides of the hit (When Harry Met Sally, City Slickers) and miss (My Giant, Fathers' Day) chart, you're never quite sure what you'll get when you see his name in the credit list.

Putting De Niro and Crystal together sounds like a combination that may work out well, or it may be such a bad mismatch that it makes you want to doubt either actors' reasoning for doing the film.

Fortunately for us, the combination works out pretty well. Billy Crystal plays the straight man that gets the pleasure of reacting to everything that De Niro throws at him. This movie never would have worked out if he had been given the chance to lead more than a couple scenes.

There are many laughs throughout this film, and the crowded theater I was in was laughing hard enough at times to obscure subsequent dialog. The supporting cast includes Lisa Kudrow (Friends, Mad About You) as Crystal's fiancee and Joe Viterelli as Jelly, De Niro's bodyguard. In my opinion, Viterelli had some of the best scenes in the film, offering his own brand of humor and perspective into the story.

I would recommend seeing Analyze This, it's definitely worth the price of admission, and would also make an excellent rental.

This review is the property of Scott Jentsch, Copyright 1999. This information cannot be reprinted without the permission of the author.
[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Was torn between "good" & "wait for rental." The film would be as effective on the small screen, but "wait for rental" seems kind of negative, & this is a good, funny movie. WAG THE DOG showed that DeNiro is a believable figure in an other-than-real-life situation; anyone who has followed the career of Billy Crystal knows that he's a talented actor as well as a fantastic comedian. The combination is right on the money, providing a very nice evening's entertainment. I would have been happier with fewer "F" words, but here they weren't used to shock or be crude, but to delineate the character. See it now or see it later, but see it!

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie had a very simple plot and was one of the most funniest movie I've ever seen. Billy Crystal has a had a slump in movie for a while and this makes up for it. Robert Deniro is the best when it comes to comedy. I highly recommend this movie to anyone who enjoys a good laugh. While it may be out of most theaters, if you didn't see it rent it, you won't be disappointed...

Oct 5, 2003
"Analyze This" is pretty funny movie about a mobster (Robert DeNiro) with personal problems. So he goes to psychologist for help. He is played by Billy Crystal who mixed his schudule between helping DeNiro and his wedding to Lisa Kudrow. It's a orginal comedy with lots of funny moments. the chemistry between DeNiro and Crystal worked very well.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Analyze This.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2020, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook