Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Big Daddy
Adam Sandler is a do-nothing who works a strenuous 1-day work-week and takes the other 6 to recuperate. His sedentary life is interrupted by the arrival of the 5-year old son he didn't know he had.

Starring Adam Sandler, Joey Lauren Adams, Jon Stewart...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I just got back from seeing Big Daddy, and I have to say it was a pretty good movie, maybe Adam Sandler's best movie thus far. Sandler is toned down quite a bit here, not giving his usual over-the-top performance that he is known for, and I liked him very much in this movie. There are numerous other actors that Sandler fans will recognize from Billy Madison, Wedding Singer, and The Waterboy. One of these is Rob Schneider, and he is hilarious in his role here. What makes this movie different from Sandler's other movies is this one actually has a pretty decent plot. It has the same kinds of laughs as other Sandler movies as well. So, if you are an Adam Sandler fan, you will love this movie, and even if you aren't a Sandler fan, there is enough here to keep you entertained for an hour and a half.

My rating: *** 1/2 out of *****

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
"Big Daddy" is one of Adam Sandler's more smarter movies. I'd have to say that I liked this one more than "Happy Gilmore", " The Waterboy", and "Billy Madison." In this movie, Sandler actually plays a believable character and shows feeling. This movie may not win best screenplay, but out of all the other Sandler movies, this script is the best.

I was hesitant to see this movie because of the reputation of Adam Sandler. But once I started watching it, I thought that it was a cute movie. The humor in this movie can be dirty, but it's tuned down from the other Sandler movies. There is a good performance by Joey Lauren Adams, and an overall cast that works together well.

My rating: **1/2 (2.5) out of **** (4)

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Adam Sandler has arrived. The fans that spent $160 million on last year’s The Waterboy already new this, of course, but this movie proves what I learned in his movie previous to that, the far superior Wedding Singer. Sandler is a true talent when using his sense of humor to supplement his character, not simply to be his character. It’s the difference between Jim Carrey’s Ace Ventura and Fletcher Reede (from Liar Liar). I also appreciate the effort to which Sandler got into the casting process of this film. He knew what apparently many filmmakers who make movies about kids and adults don’t: If there wasn’t chemistry between him and the little boy, the movie would be a flop. So, after their "proper" interviews, Sandler himself auditioned all the kids up for the role. What did Sandler’s interviews include? Himself, a rug, each individual boy, and a pile of action figures. Brilliant. The bond is definitely there between "dad" and "son," and I credit whatever influence Adam Sandler had in the choice of Cole and Dylan Sprouse for the role of Julian. The supporting cast is marvelous, even including the dreaded Rob Schneider, who amazed me as one of the funniest characters in the movie. Sandler’s also forming a comedy troupe of his friends who keep popping up in his movies. Allan Covert (the limo driver in The Wedding Singer) has now been in 6 Sandler movies! Big Daddy also features the non sequitur-type humor that I loved in The Wedding Singer. Finally, it’s refreshing to predict the things that will happen in a formula film and then have surprises actually thrown your way. In a movie like this? Are you kidding? I think what happened is Universal realized this was their baby. They don’t have an "event" movie for the summer, which is why they made sure that you have seen the Big Daddy trailers beaten to death. More importantly, they made a good movie. Big Daddy is funny (often hilarious), warm, and at times a truly poignant film.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Although I did get a lot of laughs out of this movie, it was so typically Adam Sandler-ish that it was hardly surprising. Also, the humor was charactoristically low brow and I would prepare to deal with a lot of obnoxious little kids if you decide to see this movie in the theatre. My best advice would be to avoid being pelted with junior mints and jujubees and simply wait for the movie to come out on rental...it was funny, but it's not worth the $7.25 and the screaming children.

my rating *** out of *****

Also, this is not a movie for small children. Although it deals with a child the movie is far too vulgar and disgusting for a younger child to see. Get a sitter.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
If you haven't seen big daddy, it's not something big you missed because you can catch it on video and be glad you waited for it. It's funny, but not funny enough to be a comedy, it is romantic but not enought to be a drama, so that's what was missing, it wasn't any genre, so you often question about what type was this, and it doesn't meet your expectations. However, it wasn't stupid comedy with special effects like will smith. Adam sandler did about the same type of comedy in this one as in wedding singer, which i think is his best in chemistry between characters. Big daddy has chemistry between the father and son, and it is sad at some moments, but the conclusion is often too easy, too cheesy we might say and the ending is so much a happy ending you wished it stopped before the ending so that you can instead of saying, "oh my god", saying, "what will then happen? do you think it's gonna be good?" finally, i have to talk about the suporting characters, i like steve buscemi, he is hilarious once again, and i liked rob schneider, he had good lines and he acted pretty well, his make-up was also very good. That movie was really too much like some hong kong comedies, easy ending, so i didn't enjoy the ending, but the movie was worth the time. email at akaspeak@hotmail.com for any comments.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Big Daddy is Adam Sandler's best movie yet. It is so hilarious and it keeps you laughing every two-minutes. One minute you want to cry, but the second the tear drops, you just burst out laughing. If you're in the mood for a comedy, Big Daddy is the movie to see.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Very good and funny but some bad words.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I'm going to keep this one short, folks: It's funny, but it's not Adam Sandler's funniest material by far. As typical comedies go, I would rate this as just that--typical. There are certainly some truly funny moments. However, I know that I went to this film (kids in tow--they are big fans of Sandler's, and this film was tame enough for them in my opinion) expecting to be busting my guts, rolling on the floor over the bizarre characterizations and absolute ridiculous charm I've seen in his earlier films (my favorite along these lines being _The_Waterboy_). There were no loveably extreme characters, and I was somewhat disappointed. Mind you, there was nothing really wrong with the characters--I was just expecting something else I guess. My kids liked the film more than I did. I'll see it again, most likely, but not until it's out on video.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I had good reason for giving this movie a see now rating. Anybody who likes adam sandler will enjoy this movie. Anybody who wants a good laugh this could be the movie for you.

this movie is worth the $5.00 I payed to see it it gave me a good laugh and it also made me cry.

I hope you enjoy this movie as much as I did

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
excellent

sandlers humor didn't get annoying in this movie, but i still luv happy gilmore!

it was great to see that adam can be more than just funny guy.

rating- 3.5 * out of 4*

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
the Movie was great i was laughing through the whole thing see it now great movie

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
You have to see BIG daddy now this movie was really funny in all sorts of ways! go see it now i loved this movie and couldnt stop laughing during the movie!! adam sandler is the best THIS IS ONE OF HIS BEST MOVIES YET!!! 5 out of 5 stars for me! i loved this movie!

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I am sick of the critics dogging Adam Sandler flicks. I know most aren't exactly Academy material, but can't they give a guy an extra half a star for experimenting. His latest "Big Daddy" has him adopt a 5yr old kid who was left on his door step. Yep you guessed it, he becomes attached, uses the tyke to get women, ... But the script isn't what makes this movie good. It's the fact that it's darn funny, and a bit sad.

Rated PG13-for language

*** out of ****

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I thought there were some incredibly funny parts but all in all the kids, ages 6 & 8 really liked it and hubby & I thought it was ok. It's a renter.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Only Adam Sandler could make Big Daddy fly at the box office. Sandler plays the role of Sonny Koufax, the typical loser with lack of direction and motivation. His only job is that of a tollbooth worker one day a week. When presented with an ultimatum from Vanessa (Kristi Swanson), his girlfriend from college, Sonny must find a way to prove himself responsible. As a young boy, Julian, is dropped off at the front door of Sonny's apartment. Sonny is confused, but exited to take on the challenge of temporarily taking care of the child. Julian instantly wins over the heart of the audience and adds the lovable character that plots thrive on.

I found this movie extremely funny, due mostly to the maturity level of Julian, and in contrast, the immaturity of Sonny. One aspect of the movie that stood out to me was Sonny's unique parenting style. Sonny is constantly angry with his father, played by Joseph Bologna. Not wanting to raise Julian as his father had raised him, Sonny lets Julian do anything he wants, and says, "I'll show you some cool stuff along the way." This freedom leads to some very interesting scenes, as Sandler's childish genius shines through.

Aside from some of the overly dramatic scenes, I laughed the entire movie. Sandler does what he does best in this movie by playing the hilarious moron to perfection. You can't help but fall in love with innocent Julian while he and father figure Sonny attempt to overcome the everyday trials of a five year old's life.

This movie is a good laugh - nothing more, nothing less. Some of the acting may not be superior, and the plot is somewhat predictable, but Sandler makes up for these imperfections. I don't expect any oscar nominations for this film, but if you are in the mood for a good time I strongly recommend you rent this movie today.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Big Daddy was entertaining at most parts of the film. If your child is younger than 7 don't let them see it because it has lots of swearing and Sonny(Adam Sandler)gives bad examples. For indstance saying "I whipe my own as*"

Sep 14, 2003
Another lousy Adam Sandler film and there are so many of them, I had lost count. Sandler found out that he\'s got a kid to support. Sandler did his best, but the film lost out in the real world. This film is nothing more that a fantasy that fails to deal with child care issues.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Big Daddy.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
News Headlines - Theaters - Movies - Reader Reviews - Movie Links
Your Account - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2023, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook