Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Double Jeopardy
Framed for the murder of her husband, Libby Parsons (Ashley Judd) survives her term in prison with the desire to find her son and to solve the mystery that destroyed her once-happy life. Standing...  View more >

Starring Ashley Judd, Tommy Lee Jones, Bruce Greenwood...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Jan 25, 2000
As in "Kiss the Girls," Ashley Judd delivers a great performance in a leading role. Portraying a woman who has been framed for the murder of her husband and sentenced to prison, she plays the sympathetic part perfectly. As a woman who finds out she's been framed for the murder, and her not-actually-dead husband has her son, she excels at showing her determination to get to the bottom of the mystery and get her son back.

Unlike Judd's partner in "Kiss the Girls," which was played very well by Morgan Freeman, Tommy Lee Jones turns in a lackluster showing as Judd's parole officer that must track her down after she breaks her parole. Jones definitely didn't strain his acting range in this movie, drawing mainly upon his role as Deputy Gerard in "The Fugitive" and "U.S. Marshals."

Despite the usual plot holes that you could drive an old beat-up truck through, the story is engrossing and suspenseful, and well worth the time and money to see this in first-run theaters. This movie should establish Judd as an actress that can hold her own in a leading role, and has me thinking that I should check out her other films as well.

This review is the property of Scott Jentsch, Copyright 1999. This information cannot be reprinted without the permission of the author.

Jan 25, 2000
StarringTommy Lee Jones,Ashley Judd,and Bruce Greenwood,this film leads the viewer on a suspense filled roller coaster ride through Washington, Colorado, and New Orleans.

The premise of the movie is simple, husband dead, wife convicted, family friend takes custody of child. The problem is that the husband isn't really dead, and while the wife is in jail, he and the family friend run off together.

The wife, played by Ashley Judd, spends time in jail for murder, and while in the joint, learns a few things about her husband, family friend, and the law.

Finding out that her husband really isn't dead, and exactly what appears to have happened, she receives some good advice from some of her fellow inmates.

See, there's this law that states that you cannot be tried twice for the same crime. Thus, since she has already been tried and convicted of murdering her husband, she is free to go and actually do it again, with no consequences.

Did that make sense? If not, go see the movie. (grin)

Tommy Lee Jones plays the part of a parole officer in charge of a boarding house full of women who have been released early from the joint for good behavior. They are given a very strict set of rules under which they must live, or else be sent back to prison.

Looking for revenge on her husband and getting her child back is all that Libby (Ashley Judd) has on her mind. Not silly rules.

So of course, we end up with a fugitive on the run (Libby) trying to cleanse her name, being chased by a law enforcement type person (Travis, Tommy Lee Jones) much like in the Fugitive and U.S. Marshals movies.

Ashley Judd turns in a wonderful performance, and her husband, played by Bruce Greenwood, turns in an equally evil performance. Tommy Lee Jones is given lines much like those in The Fugitive. This role was no stretch for him as he has done this all before.

The scenery is great, and the tension is always high because you're never quite sure when or where everyone's paths will cross.

While I found this film to be highly enjoyable, it was somewhat formula reminding me of The Fugitive and a little of latter James Bond films.

I rate the film a "Good", because you don't necessarily have to run right out and see it....however, if you're in the mood for a good action/suspense flick, this is the one to see.

Copyright 1999 - Ron Higgins
No unauthorized publication or distribution without the consent of Ron Higgins.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
The movie was great!! Very fast moving - kept you on the end of your set thoughtout the whole movie. The previews gave away the plot and the results of the end of movie - which was a bummer!! A must see movie!!

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie is very entertaining! As with any movie, you can find flaws with the plot, but overall the premise is excellent! Other critics have claimed that Tommy Lee Jones didn't strain his range of acting ability, and portrays the "Fugitive" and "US Marshalls" character. I believe, as many others do, that those roles were his best... why change a good thing.

See this movie... you'll like it!

Also, you can reproduce all or part of this review. I don't care!

Jan 25, 2000
First of all....I kinda liked it. Double Jeopardy brings together the elements of mystery, murder,intrigue, action, and a bit of legaleze to make an interesting film. Tommy Lee Jones is a parole officer who oversees the probation of Ashley Judd. Judd has just completed a few years in prison for the murder of her husband, but is released early into the caring hands of Tommy Lee Jones. Jones once again is seen in the role of the ever consuming hard butt, who would probably die if he cracked a smile. Basic premise of the film...while Judd is accused of killing her husband, the audience spends the next 100 minutes following the did she or didn't she story through the eyes of those around her. There are a lot of holes in this film. The biggest hole being that of "double jeopardy" and the validity of such a claim. A second hole is motive...why did she do it and if she did, couldn't she find a better place to do it than in front of the U.S. Coast Guard. Bottom line...despite the holes, the film keeps your attention and you get a decent movie for your dollar. But if you don't want to spend that buck, then watch the trailers, they tell you the entire story.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Plot is a bit predictable but, absolutely excellent movie!!

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Tommy brings a much awaited great performance. The movie would be a See Now, yet there were several parts where the movie got a bit too sappy, even though they all tied into the rest of the movie.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Ashley Judd's performance leaves a little to be desired, but she is progressing nicely as one of our top leading ladies. Tommy Lee Jones, however, and in his usual fashion, does not fall short of the expectations of his fans.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
After reading many not-so-wonderful reviews, I was hesitant to see this movie. I'm glad I did. I loved it. Ashley Judd is incredible in this role. It wasnt at all predictable, and I never lost interest or got bored. If it were up to me however, I would have cast someone other than Tommy Lee Jones as Leyman. I LOVE that man but after the Fugitive and US Marshalls, I've had enough of him in that type of role. Overall, the movie had a few minor flaws, but I would still highly recommend this movie

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
this movie was excellently made and acted!! ashley judd did such a wonderful job, i truly believed her!! her husband was just an awful awful man!! he did a great job also. tommy lee jones was great too. the son was just adorable in the beginning. this movie was very good, please go see it today!

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie was not the greatest i have seen. It had charm, and the scenery was almost worth ur $8. It is basically about a woman with motives, a gun, a parole officer, and fate. As you can guess there will be some predictable twist of fate. WEll maybe there is and maybe there isn't. In a few scenes there are moemnts when my heart did stop and i gaspt spilling my popcorn on the old man next to me. It was a fine film, though when it came to plot it seemed more like a piece of swiss cheese than an air tight bullet proof piece of sheer brilliance.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This could have been an excellent movie but they gave it all away in the movie trailer. Very unfortuante.

[--- Good ---]by  
Feb 6, 2000
The script has enormous potential, which unfortunately wasn't carried through into the movie and causes believability problems. Ashley Judd's character is an assertive woman who goes through a process of change and growth, but scenes which would have explained this transition were not included in the movie - instead, the impression one gets is that she popped into prison for a weekend, said the right things, and got out. The audience does not see how she develops her resolution develop. Likewise, this is the biggest acting stretch I've seen yet from Tommy Lee Jones, who usually seems to gravitate towards straight faced, competent, emotionally controlled chararcters. It's nice to see that he's loosened up and is showing emotions outside of his usual repertoire, however he just does not know how to portray "pathetic."

The plot alone is enough to carry this movie in the theaters, and to earn the actors and director another shot at this kind of project. The impression I'm left with is wonderment that the flaws in such a potentially good project could not have been corrected before it hit the theaters. It could have used a bit more development, and at a length of 1hr 45 min the director had access to the luxury of time.
Sep 21, 2003
I like Ashley Judd. She could hold her own. but "Double Jeopardy" is a lame thriller that most the scenes are copied from the successful 1993 film "The Fugitive." Even Tommy Lee Jones couldn't get away from his Oscar winning performance in "The Fugitive." I love Judd, but this film couldn't fly.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Double Jeopardy.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2020, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook