Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Enemy of the State
Will Smith plays a hotshot lawyer who becomes involved in a murder cover-up, without even knowing it. He has evidence of the NSA-sanctioned murder, and becomes the victim of identity tampering,...  View more >

Starring Will Smith, Gene Hackman, Jon Voight...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
The latest from Jerry Bruckheimer has him once again working with director Tony Scott(Crimson Tide, Top Gun). His latest film "Enemy of the State" stars Will Smith as a lawyer whose life is changed when a college friend unnoticeably passes sensitive materials onto Smith. The sensitive materials is actually a tape with a man being murdered with a member of the NSA looking on. The NSA wants to pass a bill that will make government snooping legal. Throughout the movie Smith's character is running from NSA members who want him dead, fearing he will go public with the information. Gene Hackman is the man who hesitantly helps him and Jon Voight is the corrupt NSA member. Unlike most of Smith's films comedy takes a backseat to real acting. Don't get me wrong, the film is funny, but Smith shows intensity never seen before. And as always a great job from Bruckheimer, I have yet to see a bad film that he produced. A good story,strong performances, and well directed. One of the years best.

**** out of ****

Rated R for violence, and profanity

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This is one of the best, if not the best, movies Will Smith has been in. Smith and Gene Hackman made the best duo. This is one of those constant nailbitters, edge of your seat, rollercoaster thrill rides. In fact, my nails are gone, and I just got back from seeing the movie. I won't tell you anything about the movie, because I don't want to leave out any suprises, and beleive me, there are plenty of them. Will plays a more serious role, and does a fantastic job of it. There is still the humor present to releive the tension. The best thing about this movie, is the ending. Finally, it's not one of those movies that's great until the ending. The film finishes just like you would want it to. It sure made me happy. I just got to say I was on the edge of my seat from the time the movie started until the credits rolled. This is a must see! That's all I can say.

***1/2 out of ****

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I loved this movie. It was a non-stop action thrill ride. It never dragged on. If you see only one movie this year let it be this. Or the water boy which was equally good. The end was a brilliant original finish.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Probably the best movie playing between Thanksgiving and Christmas. Interesting plot from the beginning to end. The blend of Will Smith and Gene Hackman seem to agree with their rivalary (the bad guy) Jon Voight. The action kept the viewers so occupied with the movie that it was hard to go to the bathroom (with fear of missing something).

Anyone who has a home PC or works with a computer can truely appreciate the latest in toys when it comes to some of the high techniques that comes along with the making of this movie. One may think twice about putting his stocks (or anything else) on line after seeing this picture. The big brother concept of "1984" are pretty much a reality.

This is a definite "must see" for the holidays. You will be walking out with a good feeling after seeing the (table turning) justifying ending. See it soon!

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
It has all the makings of a blockbuster movie: its about conspiracy, it has been hyped up to the nines, and most importantly, it stars Will Smith, of Men in Black and Independence Day fame. And it probably will be a blockbuster. But, I didn't like Enemy of the State. I was really excited to see Will Smith and Gene Hackman in a movie together, because they are both extremely talented actors. The movie however, was SO far fetched. Are we to believe that six microphone bugs can be planted on our bodies and our every move can be videotaped without our knowledge? Please. I would say maybe rent it on a rainy day, or even better, wait for it to be shown on TV!

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This is a movie to see, it gives you a frightening insight into just how much privacy we as citizens may or may not have. The casting job for this movie was phenomenol, pairing Will Smith with Gene Hackman was pure genius. The only way to explain this movie is a bonefide thrill ride that keeps you on the edge of your seat. If you have the time go see this movie it will give you alot to chew on and wonder about. It does a great job coming off as a conspiracy movie. Whatever you do make sure you see this movie it is more than worth it. In fact, I am thinking I may go again.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Anyone who likes high-tech will LOVE this film. I don't care if it is far-fetched (although all this futuristic high-tech audio/video crap probably does exist someplace anyway) I still thought it was within the realm of believability. I enjoyed watching an 'average Joe' get caught up in the middle of something he has no knowledge of or control over. It made me wonder what I would have done in the same situation. (I'm sure I would have lasted, like, 3 1/2 minutes.)

Kept me on the edge of my seat. Go see it.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
While similiar to "Conspiracy Theory", Enemy of the State does raise the issue of actual privacy of citizens. The film delights in the technology of this process. And the film likes to provide technical prowess instead of plot. But the pace is steady and pushes forward to the climax. Jon Voight seems to have found a new career in his middle age by playing villains, which he does well. Wil Smith has more talent than we have seen in this or other films. Gene Hackman is always great to see, but he, too, seems to have opted to play under his talent.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This is a really good movie. You need to see it at the theatre to get the full effect of the movie - it needs a 70 foot screen and dolby sound!

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
If you like Will Smith, you will love this movie. Smith makes this movie even better because of his superb acting. This movie was very thrilling and intense. If you like action movies that have a hidden plot, you will love this movie.

Jan 25, 2000
First of all... I loved it. No this was not a fictional movie about the Republicans trying to oust a Democratic President because they view him as an enemy of the state; this film was about a guy who accidently becomes a pain to elements of the intelligence community. Everyone was great in this film, each character's part was perfectly cast. This film kept you on the edge of your seat and the energy flowing. While this can't be viewed as a recruting film for the CIA or NSA, it made you wonder about the whole world of computers. Bottom line....one of the best films of the 90s by far.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie is awesome! From the suspense to the acting and quick thinking, this movie will not disappoint! One thing that is necessary is that you have to remember key parts because they come out to play in areas of the movie keeps the suspense up..

GO SEE IT!

Jun 8, 2003
Will Smith is on the run and he doesn\'t know it, until Gene Hackman enters the fray. the film is \"Enemy of the State,\" and it\'s a thriller that will leave anybody on the edge of their seats. Smith delivers a smart performance in its roller coaster of a movie.
Jul 21, 2003
Well worth the price of admission!

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Enemy of the State.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
News Headlines - Theaters - Movies - Reader Reviews - Movie Links
Your Account - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2022, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook