Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Entrapment
Robert (Mac) MacDougal (Sean Connery) has an untarnished reputation as the world's greatest art thief. So when a priceless Rembrandt is stolen in New York, the evidence points to Mac. Insurance...  View more >

Starring Sean Connery, Catherine Zeta-Jones, Ving Rhames...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Just OK, The movie never pulled me in, which is disappointing considering the cast. Cathrine Zeta-Jones wasn't able to make me belive in her character.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Extremely slick and stylish action movie that discards the usual noise and flash and focuses instead on effective underplayed acting and the planning and setup of the elaborate schemes. In Independence Day, it is decided at the blink of an eye that a drunken crop duster can save the world. In Entrapment, ample time is allotted to the planning of the heists that the characters concoct. Are these actions believable? Not for a second. But neither were those in the best James Bond movies. Entrapment is pure escapism. And it’s done very well. Director John Amiel wowed me with Copycat, and he’s done it again with Entrapment.

10-point scale rating: 8

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
THE GOOD: This movie had great high-tech scenarios and many exotic locations. And if you're the kind of person who will see a movie merely for its attractive stars, they don't get much hotter than Catherine Zeta-Jones.

THE BAD: Zeta-Jones is the worst actress in Hollywood. She is so bad in this movie that I almost wanted to leave. The plot was pretty weak, too. Come to think of it, this movie had just about the worst plot of any movie I have ever seen. I acknowledge the fact that this is action movie and that, as such, you naturally must suspend your disbelief to enjoy it. Hey, I loved True Lies despite its improbibilities. But THIS is another story. Good Lord, it is so pathetic.

Overall, if you want to see a popcorn movie and can't wait a couple weeks for The Phantom Menace, go watch The Matrix. Trust me. It is better the second or third time than this movie is the first.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
It was okay but it could have not been so long and drawn out. It felt as thoughI was sitting there forever. Overall, it was a good action, love kind of movie.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Hi, I just wanted to say that the movie, "Entrapment" was da bomb. It was cool! It surprises you throughout the whole movie.. you never know what will happen next. It is one of the greatest movies this year. You have to See it as soon as you can!! I loved it!!!

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This is an awesome movie. Anybody who likes OO7 type action will love this movie. I never got board. And the movie keeps you thinking. I don't like to sit and feel like mush...

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Entrapment is the best movie I've seen this year! I couldn't wait to watch it a second time and I guess I'll watch it even a third time. Sean Connery and Catherine Zeta-Jones are amazing, they make the whole story even more thrilling and also somehow erotic. So don't wait, check it out!

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Sean Connery and Catherine Zeta-Jones star in Entrapment, director Jon Amiel'sdisappointing new action thriller.The plot goes like this:A Rembrandt is stolen from a high-rise building in the night and an insurance agency,which stands to lose $24 million if the painting is not recovered,sends beautiful insurance investigator Gin Baker to find legendary thief Robert MacDougal,whom she has been tracking for some time and suspects of stealing the Rembrandt.Baker manages to find MacDougal and pretends to be a thief like him to get close to him, hoping to alert the agency on MacDougal's whereabouts when she gets the chance. This film has a promising start,what with the elaborately staged high-rise heist sequence,and the viewers look forward to the smart and spunky Baker teaming up with MacDougal.However,sceenwriters Ron Bass and Michael Hertzberg introduce too many twists and turns in the plot,and as a result,the much-anticipated film falls apart and the viewers are left trying to grasp the film's meaning.Another flaw is the obvious lack of sexual chemistry between the two leads due to their forty-year age difference;Connery is old enough to be Zeta-Jones' grandfather! There are a some good-looking scenes though.There is the opening heist sequence,a scene where MacDougal teaches Baker to avoid invisible sensors surrounding the object to be stolen(Baker's butt is focused upon),scenic shots of the countryside and an exciting sequence where Baker and MacDougal hang on for their lives to a string of decorations threatening to break off any second hundreds of metres above the ground. Sexy Welsh actress Zeta-Jones delivers a sizzling performance as Gin Baker, raising the adrenaline level of hot-blooded male fans I'm sure,and veteran Scottish actor Connery gives his usual polished performance as Robert MacDougal. Golden Globe winner Ving Rhames leads the band of supporting actors as MacDougal's assistant.Will Patton plays Baker's boss who will do anything to get the painting back and Maury Chaykin is a fat,slimy,Kuala Lumpur-based crime boss. I just feel it's a real shame that such a promising film with plenty of action and good performances is let down by inept sceenwriting,which throws it into disarray.Entrapment is therefore just passable.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
The plot has originality, but it was not put together properly. The age gap between Zeta-Jones and Connery was too wide, but Sean Connery was portrayed quite well as a thief with charisma. However, the movie is slow moving and has a pathetic ending, the complete opposite of the beginning. What's more, the wide range of vocabulary used can confuse many people as to what the heck is happening. Therefore Entrapment is only worth renting, much to my disappointment.

Jul 21, 2003
Jul 22, 2003
"Entrapment" is a smart adventure about a theif (played by Sean Connery) who join forces with Katherine Zeta Jones to rob Asia's of millions. The chemistry between the two is very good. I like the movie, even though one of the film's main villains isn't crediable.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Entrapment.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2018, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook