Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Ever After: A Cinderella Story
A re-interpretation of the classic tale, based upon the original fable from the brothers Grimm.

Starring Drew Barrymore, Dougray Scott, Anjelica Huston...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I loved it!!! This movie was a truely fresh and entertaining re-telling of a classic fairy tale. The cinematography was beautiful but my real enjoyment came from watching, what I thought, were some fine performances; especially from Anjelica Huston and Drew Barrymore. All the characters were interesting but for me it was Ms. Barrymore's "Cinderella" that made me wish I were a young man again.

This was one of those movie's where even the minor characters were well developed and almost as much fun to watch as the lovely Ms. Barrymore. Well, maybe not that interesting.

Well...anyways, have some fun. Leave the depression for those who saw Sgt. Ryan. See this movie and leave the theater: happy, uplifted and completely entertained.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
What a sweet movie - a great re-make of a classic that I enjoyed as a child. I loved the scenery, the costumes, and the acting was excellent, especially Drew, Angelica and the stepsisters. It was predictable, but that's ok in a movie like this. Being a fairy tale, I do think its more of a "girl" movie, so the guys may not enjoy it as much. I left the theatre happy.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
"Ever After: A Cinderella Story" is one of the most refreshing movies of the summer. It is charming, funny, and intelligently written. Part of the charm I believe comes from the decision to film at real castles in France. The Hautefort castle is the home of the King, Queen, and Prince as the Sarlat region plays a major role in the rest of the film.

I extend my deep gratitude to those who produced this film.

Joe Tracy http://www.newtekniques.com/everafter

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I used to think Drew Barrymore was just kind of an airhead, but she gave a great performance in this movie; in fact, she is one of the factors that made it so enjoyable. The acting, cinematography and costumes, were all great. Sometimes it seemed a bit too fantastical at the edges, but at the center of the movie is a lovely, enduring story. Shucks.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This film is excellent. A joy to watch. What a great idea to have Leonardo da Vinci as the "fairy godmother"! The bloke who plays him was amazing. Just go and see this film, miss it and regret it.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
One of the most uplifting, and enjoyable movies of the year. I loved the scenery costumes, and the acting. Drew Barrymore finally did good acting. This is oscar talk. This movie is the bomb. I think boys will like it more than the girls. I left the theater happy. I can't wait to see it for the 2nd time. Whoever dosen't see it will regret it.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This is a WONDERFUL movie! It is one of the best period romantic comedies, or rather, comedic romances, I've seen since "The Princess Bride." Barrymore does an admirable job as the smart and spunky Cinderella, known in the film as Danielle. The beginning is great, the premiss fairly original. Scott is quite charming as the prince, and totally good looking to boot. You feel for him and Danielle. Richard O'Brien of Rocky Horror fame is a delightful villian, as is Huston as the evil step-mother. This film gives her a reason for her resentment of Danielle, thus making her more human. The step-daughters are great too, mirror images of one another. This film is full of "moments," those scenes that make you leave the movie not regretting the seven bucks you shelled out to see it, and wanting to see it again. It is warm and fuzzy and funny, but not so sticky-sweet that it makes your teeth ache. I intend to own this film as soon as it comes out on tape. I've seen it twice. I may just go see it yet again.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Ever After was a fantasy-come-true on screen. It had an excellent storyline and realistic features. Everything from the characters verse to the smallest detail seemed authentic. I like romantic stories with unforgettable characters and this is one I'll have to include in my video library.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I liked this story Because of its formate. I saw it a few weeks ago with a friend. I only went because she wanted me to go but I am glad I went

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
A very good version of a classic story. I was pleasantly surprised by Drew Barrymore's performance. I must admit, I usually don't like her acting, but in this she was excellent. I also loved the touch of using Da Vinci as the "godmother".

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Just so you know, I love Drew Barrymore. She's my favorite actress. I loved MAD LOVE, THE WEDDING SINGER and the Woody Allen movie she was in. I like all her movies (even Batman). But this is my favorite! It had everything- romance, comedy, drama, even action to please the boys. But it's really a romance. You know the story, but the acting is soo good. I want to see more of all the actors in this. Its jokes are smart and clever rather than just gross. Overall, this movie is great!

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
For the romantic. A girl movie. Beautiful landscape, wonderful costumes. Drew sizzels as a "ruff around the edge" Cinderella. A must see for anyone who wants to see a feel-good, fantasy movie.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Hey! I really liked the movie "Ever After." I thought it was a great love story with a lot of humor in it. The commercial for it gave me kind of the wrong idea though. There was more itensity and emotion in it. I think it was because of the music and all the running. The movie was still very good though and it still had pretty much of what the commercial had. I thought that the way they portrayed one of the stepsisters made me want to get up and slap her. It made me so antsy to watch her be so snotty. Same with the stepmother. It was pretty fun to see how salty they felt at the end though. Thanks for reading my review and I hope you go see this movie.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Guys, I am so pissed its not even funny. I was prepared to give this a "Good" rating until that horrible horrible ending. Can you say anti-climatic? Are people really so stupid that they can't handle a film being given a dignified resolution that is up to par with the rest of the film. I walked into Ever After expecting a sexy, icy, spiritual FILM. And got a goofy preadolescent fairy tale. You can thank the trailors which highered my expectations to grotesque levels. They gave me goosebumps. As far as goofy preadolescent fairy tales go, its pretty good. The stepsisters aren't very ugly, (or stupid). In fact I liked them. We find out why the evil stepmother is so evil. It was for the most part pretty fun.

Sep 14, 2003
"Ever After" is another update of the Brothers Grimm tale. Believe me, it's not a Disney Animinated movie, but a live-action movie with Drew Barrymore in the lead. Only in this movie, you can get the complete story of Cinderella. something the Disney version doesn't have.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Ever After: A Cinderella Story.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
News Headlines - Theaters - Movies - Reader Reviews - Movie Links
Your Account - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2023, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook