Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

Remove ads with our VIP Service
The General's Daughter
The daughter of a popular general is found brutally murdered and no one in the Army wants to touch the case. Secrets are revealed when a tenacious investigator (John Travolta) begins digging for...  View more >

Starring John Travolta, Madeleine Stowe, James Cromwell...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
"The General's Daughter" is either a movie that you love or hate. If you have looked at other critics, you will see that the majority of the critics do not like this movie for some reason. I could not find any reasons to "cut" on this film. I was very entertained during the duration of 2 hours. I'd have to say this movie entertained me the most out of all the movies I've seen this year, besides "The Matrix".

This movie is based on Brennan (Travolta) and Sunhill (stowe) and they are the two officers of the CID investigating the death of (guess who..) the general's daughter. I felt that all the performances were very convincing and a heck of a lot better than other films I have seen. During the whole movie I was guessing "who did it?" and after i thought I knew, the audience learned some more and I had a new cadidate for the murder.

This is another movie that I have to tell you to ignore the critics. Sometimes they all aren't right. This movie is a prime example.

My rating ***1/2 (3.5) out of ****

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Simply put, The General's Daughter was an excellent movie. This movie had all kinds of things going for it: a great cast, an interesting story, good dialogue. As far as the cast goes, the performances that stood out were those by John Travolta and James Woods. Both were excellent. Also, contrary to what a lot of the critics said, this movie was not predictable. It was tenseful and exciting throughout, with enough twists to keep you guessing. I really enjoyed every minute of this movie and never got bored. Go out and see The General's Daughter, you will not be disappointed.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
For those of you that like a mystery, but aren't too worried about it making a lot of sense or being able to work it out with the characters on screen, this movie is for you.

It played like a bloated JAG episode for me and the "action" was not the type that would lose anything on the smaller screen.

Rent it.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This is not a fantastic film, but it was entertaining. I would not pay full price for this though. See it at the theater, but at matinee rates.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I liked this film very much, I almost gave it a "See Now". I know it has been critcized in the media, but I really don't see why. It had action, and a bit of mystery, and it even made you think a bit about how traumatic events can shape a person.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This was one of the most thought provoking films I have seen lately. It is not for the faint of heart or weak of mind. The reality of this film is closer than we want to believe. I would pay full price to see it again.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie is definitely for the thinkers. The story and plot line are very well constucted and played out. IF you are looking for a a flick that allows for zero thought process stay away. If you are looking for a good who did it, THIS is IT! John Travolta puts forth yet another outstanding performance in this psychological thriller. In fact, most of the supporting cast was very well developed (unlike a certain prequel from earlier this summer).

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
"The General's Daughter" is a murder mystery directed by Simon West(Con Air) and is surprisingly a smart, well paced thriller. The film is very well written, and saves the identity of the killer until the climax. The performances are excellent, as Travolta, Stowe, and especially Woods all turn in exceptional work. And what can I say, when you go from an implausible yet fun Bruckheimer film, to a less action oriented murder mystery that makes you think, you can't help but give West his props. Kudo's to everyone involved in this film from the cast, to the writing.

***1/2 out of ****

Rated R-for language, violence, nudity, a rape scene, and some scenes involving perverted sexuality

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
It was good, but not excellent. It was a fairly well done, suspenseful thriller. It certainly does not compare that unfavorably with "G.I. Jane" or "Courage Under Fire" (in fact I thought it was better than the overrated "Jane"), both of which were lauded by critics, while this one was not.

Some have wondered why this was the case. I think the reason is obvious: political correctness. "Jane" and "Courage" both promoted the cause of women in combat. "The General's Daughter", however, gives out mixed messages on this issue. Apparently aware of the political sensitivity of this, the filmmakers feel obliged to run a trailer at the end of the film to make up for any possible perception of "incorrectness". This was unnecessary. Let the film stand or fall on its own merits. Let ALL films of this kind be judged on whether they work or not as a movie, not on how well they serve the current cause.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Good acting but the script was trash. The plot was weak and they attempt to make it exciting with mystery. There's no mystery about this movie. It's a waste. The nude corpse was not good to have to see so much either.

May 20, 2003
John Travolta shines in this whodunit as he invesigate the murder of a girl whose father is the gerneral. Good acting and a good script keep audiences guessing until the end.
May 21, 2003
A surprisingly good crime thriller.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The General's Daughter.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2019, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook