Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Gone in 60 Seconds
Reformed car thief Randall "Memphis" Raines (Nicolas Cage) and his gang are forced to boost 50 autos in one night in order to pay off his little brother's debt to a mob boss.

Starring Nicolas Cage, Angelina Jolie, Giovanni Ribisi...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Jun 11, 2000
Anyone going to this movie and expecting an award-winning plot or acting should re-examine their expectations. Gone in 60 Seconds bills itself as a wild ride through the world of grand theft auto, as defined by Nicolas Cage and his crew.

A criticism I've heard is that, like with many Jerry Bruckheimer films, the plot doesn't hold up, and that makes the movie bad. Personally, I think there was too much plot and not enough car chases!

The music was great, the cars were fabulous, and the mix of everything was just right to make for a good action flick that lets you escape into a different world, if only for a short two hours.

The car chase scene involving a 67 Shelby GT-500 named Eleanor driven by Cage while evading the police was great, the movie needed more of that! I plan on buying this on DVD just for this sequence alone!

I highly recommend going to this film with your expectations set appropriately, and enjoy this entertaining film!
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jun 20, 2000
If you want action packed this is the movie to see. If you like to see rare cars than this is the movie to see.

Its a movie that will leave you at the edge of your seats wanting more I might just go see it again.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jun 30, 2000
Nicholas Cage is hot!!! Angelina Jolie's character is weird. All the characters and the actors portraying them were quite likeable.

It was impressive to see how easily the cars were stolen, though you must suspend your disbelief of how they came up with all this equipment for stealing cars. They had a limited amount of time, and it was amazing to see all the "tools" they used.

Great movie soundtrack.
Jul 3, 2000
Not a bad evenings entertainment. However, I did feel that the movie was missing something.

There's plenty of action with some well-filmed car chases. The characters were interesting and well played by the various actors, and the cars were fabulous. But, there was hardly any tension created by the possibility that they might get caught.

Someone else has mentioned that the stars of this movie WERE the cars and I think that's where this film falls short. I would have liked to have seen more character development and more 'Edge of your seat' direction.

Overall though I give it 5½/10 glenk@foxit.com.au
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jul 5, 2000
Jump into the drivers seat of a tricked out muscle car that bleeds adrenalin and get ready for a great ride.

This won't win an Academy Award, but who cares! This movie is fun, fun, and more fun! Don't think, just enjoy the fantasy of being in that car and put the pedal to the floor!

Definitely see this film at the theater.
[--- Good ---]by  
Aug 4, 2000
Vaaarrrrooom! Once you get over the shock of the ear assaulting sound system around the screen and the poorly developed dialog on the screen, the movie is actually pretty good. Nickolas Cage plays an ex-professional car thief who is forced out of retirement by a bad-guy auto jockey to finish a job his younger brother has flubbed. Time is critical, so he recruits some of his old car-thief pals and sets out to rip off fifty high priced autos in one night. This shipment must be delivered to the bad guy in order to save himself, his wayward brother, and his mother from the jaws of impending death.

Big deal, right? But wait. There are major obstacles in his way. A gang of competitive black car thieves – the thieves are black, not the cars – try to muscle in on the action, while a couple of hot shot cops do their best to foil the heist. And all the while, clock is ticking, ticking, ticking.

Then we’re asked the age-old question: which is more exciting, having sex or stealing cars? Come on, Baby, pop that lock and talk auto erotica to me. Did you see the carburetors on that Shelby GT 500? Oh, Mama! Hold me back!

Actually, the well-developed action and chase scenes propped up the weak dialog pretty well. And Cage did an excellent acting job, as usual. So all in all, it was a pretty good movie. I give it a C+ because I like hot cars, hot women, and hot popcorn (not necessarily in that order.)

Dixie says: The story was good, the characters were believable, and I love Nicholas Cage. But, if I want to see expensive cars running off the road, crashing into each other at high speed, and jumping over bridges, all I have to do is drive around Dallas. This movie looked like North Central Expressway during lunch hour. I give it a C, but if my hearing doesn’t return to normal,I may change that grade to a D.
May 19, 2001
"Gone in 60 Seconds" is a action pack thriller about a group of car thieves who must steal 50 cars in order for Randall "Memphis" Raines (Nicholas Cage) to pay off his brother's debt.

Lots of fast pace action. Angelina Jolie (21st Century answer to Mae West) is very attractive, but since this film is rated PG-13, she doesn't do much, except work under the car.
Jun 1, 2001
Excellent film. It had suspense, action, drama, and very very cool cars. Anyone and everyone will enjoy this movie.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Gone in 60 Seconds.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2020, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook