Have an Account?
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service Facebook logoTwitter logo
Halloween: H20
Michael Myers returns to dispatch original scream queen Jamie Lee Curtis, who is now a dean at a private school.

Starring Jamie Lee Curtis, Michelle Williams, Josh Hartnett...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Halloween: H20 is fun and scary. Jamie Lee Curtis is awesome! And the ending is shocking! Don't miss the latest movie in the 'Halloween' series, Halloween: H20- Twenty Years Later!

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
As the title suggests, this movie takes place 20 years after the original "Halloween" takes place. Jamie Lee Curtis reprises her role of Laurie Strode. I won't go into too much detail because divulging too many details wrecks the experience of seeing a "scary movie". At least it does for me. Anyway, let's just say the events of Halloween 1 & 2 still are having its effect on her.

I found this movie very suspenseful despite having seen numerous "slasher flicks". The supporting characters are very well cast. Especially LL Cool J as the security guard/aspiring author and Janet Leigh as Laurie's secretary. Also the many pop culture references come off smooth. All of this makes for a fun and thrilling movie.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
being a big fan of the "halloween" series, i was looking forward to seeing "halloween: h20" since hearing about it several months ago. i went into the theater with my friend and mom, a huge bag of popcorn in my arms, and was ready to have some fun and experience some thrills.

i was nowhere near dissapointed! this is the scariest film i have ever seen.

it starts out with a chilling and well-done sequence in which nurse marion (played by nancy stephens, who also portrayed the nurse in the first two "halloween" films) comes home to find her house broken into and a mess. she runs next door to the neighbor's, and the boy who lives there, jimmy (played by joseph-gordon levitt) goes back to her house to investiagate, brining his hockey stick in case the intruder's still there. the rest- well, go see the movie if you want to know! this was a very good opening scene, though not as good as "scream"'s.

cut to the next morning, in which laurie strode (jamie lee curtis), now keri tate, wakes up screaming in her bed, after having a nightmare. this was just one in a large number of nightmares she'd been having about her horrible experience 20 years earlier with michael meyers. she now has a 17-year old son (josh hartnett), and a sweet, sensitive boyfriend (adam arkin, from "chicago hope"). she's on every kind of pill imaginable, and drinks her problems away. she's now the headmistress of a posh private academy in northern california, and has a sweet secretary (played by jamie lee's real mother, janet leigh) who makes an interesting reference to "psycho", and a good friend and security guard of the academy (played by ll cool j). halloween is here, and keri is getting more and more nervy, and her son doesn't help out either by pressuring her to let him go to yosemite with his friends. she finally does let him go, and that's when her nightmare starts all over again.

there are a few of the typical "jump" scenes (accompanied by some loud burst of music), but even those don't fail to startle you. *then* there the very suspenseful scene in which our heroes (or should we say victims?) are being stalked by the dies-and-miraculously-comes-back-to-life-every-time michael meyers, played by chris durand this time around. michael has never been so sinister on-screen. still it kindof erks me.. how he can be set on fire, stabbed, shot, hit with axes, and who knows what else and still comes back to life, but he *walks* when he's chasing after somebody.

still, despite this minor nit-pick, "h20" is a very entertaining film. there are some scenes that really send chills up your spine, particularly the one where laurie/keri stares into michael's eyes through the small glass window on the door. that is perhaps the most chilling shot in the entire film.

strong performances come from just about everyone in the cast, especially jamie lee. ll cool j and michelle williams (from "dawson's creek") also are impressive, not to mention adam arkin and josh hartnett. janet leigh delivers a good performance as well.

the music reminded me a little of "scream"'s score, but better. it added the perfect touch to the suspenseful parts.

the ending will shock you. just when i thought it was the ending, it took a new turn.

"halloween: h20" is all that a great movie should be: fun, clever, witty, suspenseful, and scary.

go see it, bring your friends, and get the popcorn - you're in for some scary fun!

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I would say that H20 is better than H2 but not as good as the original. This is not saying too much, but is at least acknowledging that this film was entertaining, fast-paced, and of better quality than H4-H6, and even better than H2 in many respects. H2, for example, had too much gratuitous blood/gore and an unnecessarily high body count.

However, some things are noticeably missing:

1. Donald Pleasance
2. Although H20 centers around what has happened to Laurie Strode, where has Michael Myers been? (Certainly not in H4-H6.)
3. A little more "halloween the holiday" mood setting, perhaps a detective thread, some more "false sense of security" scenes, and some more footage of "sightings" of Michael Myers (by Laurie or others) "on the road" to get Laurie and "in and around town".

Overall, though, the pluses outweight the minuses, and if you are/were a Halloween fan, you must see it. If you're just a horror fan, I would still get around to it, simply for the quality of the picture. It's a little short in running time, primarily due to the above, but a good ride nonetheless!

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Definetilly a must see thriller. Go right now.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I saw it last night and I am pissed. I felt like wanting to kick the ticket seller. Since when are horror movies not scary at all. I don't care if you are bored never go to see this movie. Wait a second. If you have problems with insomnio go watch it. Satisfaction guranteed.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
What this movie lacked in plot development it made up for with blood. Obviously, I did not go into the theater expecting a storyline that would stir my emotions, but I did hope that the whole movie would not be a dark, knife-weilding monster chasing after Jamie Lee Curtis. The entire picture did not last longer than 90 minutes, and even at its miniscule length the characters escaped death too many times to be even remotely believable. No wonder the movie was not longer; how many different ways can the masked murderer attack the same four or five people before someone dies? Granted, the movie did what it intended: scared the audience. The chase scenes were suspenseful, but with exception of only a few instances, the outcomes were very predictable. In short, this movie did not develop the characters enough to make the audience actually care whether they lived or died. The director mistakenly assumed that the audience would automatically root for the "good guys" when they faced a crazed murderer, but the shallowness of the characters left me not caring one way or the other.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Hardly worth the wait. I can't believe Jamie Lee Curtis agreed to this yawn. Stay away.

The only thing of interest is the cast. LL Cool J actually has the best part and the daughter of TV's Nash Bridges and the son on 3rd Rock from the Sun are in it. Adam Arkin, an excellent actor, wastes his considerable talent in this flick in a rare big screen appearance.

As for Michael: I'm sorry, but he was better in I, II, and IV, but this time, he was mainly not even there. Most of the filming was so dark you can't even see the action. Give him a rest.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I really liked this movie. It's scarier than the first HALLOWEEN and Jamie Lee Curtis shows that women can be action heroes too!

May 5, 2003
Jamie Lee Curtis is back to battle his choopy brother Michel Myers in \"Haloween H20.\" H20 means that the first halloween was released 20 years ago. the fiolm has very few scares as Michel Myers goes a privite school being run by his sister and that\'s where the terror begins. Not much to see, but the film didn\'t go down fighting either.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Halloween: H20.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Feedback
News Headlines - Theaters - Movies - Reader Reviews - Movie Links
Your Account - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2024, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook