Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Hercules
Academy Award® Nominee

Starring Tate Donovan, James Woods, Danny DeVito...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Now here is something you don't see every day: a Disney movie that is actually quite damn good. The damn good is referring to the new "Hercules", which is howthe last ten animated films (excluding the masterpiece "Toy Story") should be: fun, high-spirited, good sounding (Hear it in SDDS, as I have said in numerous reviews) and colorful.

I saw this film on a Friday, in a quarter-filled theatre, and that's how it should be watched: without all the crying and yelling of bratty kids. On occasion, there was a sound of a kid, but I hate it going to see a movie like this with kids who aren't even watching it.(When I saw "101 Dalmatians" three kids were running in circles around the theatres, and six babies cried)

While the climax of "Hercules" is rather weak, "Hercules" will be remembered this year as a light, enjoyable and nice treat from a cold, ruthless and over-advertising company named Disney. If this film was released through Miramax they would probably fix the patchy ending and I would give it an A grade. Sorry,Hercules, that part wasn't strong. Grade: B+

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Disney took no risks in making "Hercules," using its tried and true formula--create a truly nasty villain and a couple of hench-creatures (somehow "henchmen" doesn'tsound quite politically correct does it?) and pit them against a "good guy". And this is a guy and a half, supposedly. There's a little bit of "Lion King" as wesee Herc progress from bambino to beefcake, lingering a little longer in his adolescence under the tutelage of Phil, the satyr "Yoda" who has trained many Jedi-- oops-- heroes! In fact, there's a little bit of "Rescuers," a little bit of "Little Mermaid," a little bit of "101 Dalmations," ... in other words, there's nothing new here.

Should there be? Perhaps not. Disney has been badly in need of a hit since its last two efforts to push the dramatic envelope, "Pocahontas," and "Hunchback" pushed a little *too* far. "Herc" may be just the guy to deliver the goods. There is a very saucy and hip damsel in distress who is more than what she seems, and a neat little turn by Danny DeVito as a "Yoda" with an attitude. The problem with this film is... well... it's Herc himself.

The great Disney animated films always resonate with characters who are transformed into something greater than what meets the eye at first; or, there isa villain or villainess who reaches new depths of evil before the inevitable comeuppance. In either scenario, it's what motivates the characters, determiningtheir actions, that moves the audience emotionally, one way or another. It's the essence of entertainment.

Hercules, unfortunately, is made of cardboard. He's Aladdin without a sense of mischief. The Lion King without the mane. There's something missing in thischaracter and that's anything worth caring about. The damsel on the sly, Meg, the satirical satyr, Phil, and the smokin' Hades are what make the movie tick... and it doestick. Formulas, even rehashed over and over again, work when done well.

As for the music, sad to say there is more to forget than remember. If you've been pining for the glorious, soaring themes of "Little Mermaid," "Beauty and theBeast," and "Aladdin," you'll just have to keep pining. The magic isn't back, yet. But it will be.

So, Disney has not returned to the majesty of its earlier animated classics but "Hercules" is a very enjoyable effort... and quite forgetable. But the kids will love it.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
As a mother of three small children, I thought that this movie was excellent.

The violence was toned down from other Disney movies. It didn't have the a Lion King plot where Simba's father gets murdered. James Wood was fantastic as Hades. He was the comic of the show.

The music is catchy. I have the sound track on CD. I didn't think much of it until I saw the show. Now, my kids want to hear it constantly;and I don't mind. It really grows on you. My big gripe is Disney's new ruling that you have to pay for 12 mos and up; rather than the 2yrs and up!

I look forward to seeing this one again.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
What's the worst thing I can say about this film? It's typical, technicolor, mindless Disney fare, and if that doesn't drive viewers with discriminating tastes away, nothing will. The film operates on the premise that the original Greek myths would be "too boring", but the opposite promises to be true. Instead of filling the audiences heads with sappy, pointless morals and comedy ONLY a toddler could find funny, perhaps Disney could have tried to do something different for a change, and make a film based off of the Heracles myth and containing REAL drama. The Disney machine indiscriminantly mixes and corrupts myths left and right- from making Zeus and Hera the perfect couple, to makingHades an evil scheming villian. Perhaps the most disturbing thing about the film was the similarities between the life of the Disney-ized Hercules and Jesus. Is Disney trying to buy back the Baptists? Regardless, don't bother paying any sort of money to watch this mind-numbing dreck--read Bulfinch's "Mythology" and actually learn something.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Hercules is the kind of movie that old Walt would have enjoyed, finally. It is a good heart felt story with good lessons for kids to enjoy. Unlike Disney's other recent films, this movie is actually geared towards kids without all the violence and negative subject matter. For those adults who attend animated Disney films and hate the simple plot of good vs. evil and about the importance of caring for others, then go see the thousands of adult films that are put out for adults. The other characters add a lot of humor to the story. It is a must see for young kids and a rental for anyone 12 and older.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Disney has made an enormous reputation for itself which can at times be more of a curse than a blessing as their new movies are always compared to previous ones. I went to see Hercules expecting an average fair, consideringHercules did not earn as much as other Disney hits like Lion King, etc. However, I am pleased to say that I enjoyed Hercules. Though not as good as Lion King or Beauty and the Beast, Hercules is nevertheless a very enjoyable show. Go see it.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Well I have to say I liked Hercules alot, and I don't watch too many Disney movies, unless it's The Lion King or Toy Story. It had a good plot, lots of action/adventure, James Woods was great as Hades, it was funny, and was just all around good fun. My rating for Hercules: 8 out of 10.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I liked the music and its animations. The movie was really cool.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Hercules is a movie that you don't want to wait till it come on video, but at the same time, don't pay over $6.00 to see it. Disney movies always look and sound better when you are in the theatre.

The music is alright, though I have to admit I didn't come out of the theatre humming, as I did after I saw "Lion King" or "Aladdin" The story is a good one, as long as you can forget anything you have ever learned about Greek Mythology.

If you have children, I think the movie goes up to a Must See. The action is very fast so the little ones won't be getting bored quickly. The characters are cute and quick, and the plot isn't over their heads, as "Hunchback" may have been.

If you are an adult, you will enjoy James Wood throughly. He makes the movie in my opinion. He has taken liberties with the character of Hades, and those liberties really shine through.

It was also nice to see a main character that develops from a tittering, akward adolescent to a hero, mythological adult. It kind of gives Hercules a more realistic aspect than most of Disney's picture perfect lead characters.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Hercules was good, but wasn't as impressed with it as I was with previous Disney films. You should get to see it while its still in the theater though.

Jun 4, 2003
Disney goes for laughs rather than the heart in "Hercules." The film is a retelling of the Hercules myth in a hip sort of way. Plenty of laughs in this Disney movie. When you know Summer's here, you know that there a Disney aminated movie being released.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Hercules.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2019, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook