Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
The Mask of Zorro
Academy Award® Nominee
A sweeping romantic adventure of love and honor, of tragedy and triumph set against Mexico's fight for independence from the iron fist of Spain.

Starring Antonio Banderas, Anthony Hopkins, Catherine Zeta Jones...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
If you're looking for a good family movie, this is the one to see this summer. There is very little if any objectionable material in this movie, yet it is certainly one of the best one I have seen all year. Where Batman and the other heroes have failed, Zorro succeeds. I am very happy to see a clean, decent movie of excellent quality make it to the big screen. The picture quality was one of the best I've ever seen. I saw the movie at a Dolby THX theater, and the sound is something you have to experience to believe. The sound quality puts you right there. As for the storyline, its entirely believable, and doesn't make the mistake of creating the too-often-seen indestructible hero. The acting is first rate. Anthony Hopkins and Antonio Banderas were perfectly cast in their roles, and each actor performs a memorable role. To be perfectly honest, I was really surprised how much I enjoyed this movie. I didn't expect a lot out of it. This is one to see with digital sound. **** out of *****.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
If you like a good swashbuckler with heroes who are loaded with stature and villains who you can really detest, you'll love this movie. As a added bonus you'll have the pleasure of enjoying Catherine Zeta Jones, who in my humble opinion, is one of the most beautiful women I personally have ever seen. Anthony Hopkins and Antonio Banderas are wonderfully effective in the roles of the hero, Zorro.

There's plenty of action, but never to the point of making the story take a back seat. It's funny, fast, romantic and visually a treat for the eyes.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This film was not exactly what I thought it was going to be, and I think that's why I liked it. It was almost like a Mexican Batman, even down to the place he parked his ride. The movie was entertaining, exciting, and I even found myself laughing outloud at times. I would recomend it for pure entertainment value.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This is an excellent movie for the entire family. Very little gore (flashed across the screen) and the gore that happened wasn't memorable. Minor allusion to nakedness, but nothing like scenes in Titantic.

There are evil and good people in this movie and they play their parts well but your kids won't have nightmares over it.

Overall, a very enjoyable movie!

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Uncreative, but entertaining!

It's interesting how an obscure, resurected superhero can fall flat with an audience, but three years later, get a different company to do the same thing with a similar superhero and you have a thouroughly entertaining movie.

What movie am I talking about? Why The Phantom of course. There are more similarities between The Phantom and The Mask of Zorro than you realize.
1. The trailer for Zorro used The Phantom theme music.
2. In Spielbergesk style, the Phantom was written by the writter of Raiders of the Lost Ark. The Mask of Zorro was produced by Spielberg.
3. The villainette woman of Phantom plays the "vigerous" heroine of Zorro.
4. The new zorro is trained by the "old" zorro following a tradition of zorros just as the new Phantom is followed by twenty other Phantoms.
5. The main action sequences take place on a horse.
6. The main villian is a power hungry rich man who wants to dominate the city by illegal means.

The difference, is that three years later, Spielberg and the director (who directed Goldeneye) can finetune a partially redeamable plot and have a surprise moneymaker.

If you want to see a cheezy but entertaining movie about an old time hero, this movie is worth seeing in the cheap theaters. (My mom's crazy about it.)

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
"The Mask of Zorro" is a thrilling, cheesy and altogether fun movie that reminds me of the old classic films with the swashbuckling heroes and the classy dames. It's all here: the handsome hero (Antonio Banderas), the classy dame (Catherine Zeta Jones), the evil villian (Stuart Wilson), and the classy score (this time it is by James Horner, whose wonderful score is the best thing about the movie).

This movie is all in good fun, and in a way that is a downer. "The Mask Of Zorro" is basically a mexican Batman, where the good guys battle the bad guys for two hours. There isn't really a lot to say that is fresh and original about this movie, however it is still looks great.

The story is extremely simple: Zorro (Banderas) is a new crimefighter after the old Zorro (Anthony Hopkins) has long since retired. Zorro's mission is to stop the evil bad guy (Wilson) from taking over the land.

A very basic plot that is peppered with fantasic sets, fun stunts and good action scenes. There is a hilarious scene with the new Zorro battling some people, and he uses all kinds of instruments of weaponery, right down to cannonballs.

The film is directed nicely by Martin Campbell, who did the dismal James Bond entry "Goldeneye" back in 1995. Here he shows a good editing and good technical skill. It's now time for Campbell to make a really good film instead of just a good one.

Grade: B-

Tech Review:

Picture: 4 The picture is satisfying, though a lot of grain is noticeable. Perhaps a rush was made on the print, otherwise the colors and black level are excellent.

Sound: 5 Mixed in dts and SDDS (though some say there is a Dolby Digital mix in here), the sound is excellent with a lot of split surround effects; the music score shines powerfully into the surrounds.

Photography: 5 Panavision scores again. The film is wonderfully composed in the great format.

Length: 138 minutes. Tri-Star. Rated PG-13 for violence. jason_whyte@hotmail.com ICQ-4339199

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
The Mask of Zorro was absolutely outstanding. It is a great action packed adventure with a twist of love and romance. Antonio and Catherine make a perfect couple for this story. Anthony Hopkins is great showing off his wonderful acting ability as the original Zorro. This movie is the best actionmovie of the summer.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Anthony Hopkins is his extraordinary self, playing an aging Zorro with all the finesse and class that only he can accomplish. The story line is engaging, even believable, with a Count of Monte Cristo flavor. Catherine Zeta - someone is absolutely beautiful, if not stunning, and very effective as Zorro's daughter, While this is niether a philosophical or psychological thriller, it does engage the romance in anyone, a worthwhile romp through a time gone by. And it's a heck of a lot better than the Zorro I saw as a kid!

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
The Mask of Zorro is a beautiful film with Oscar callibar acting by Antonio Banderas and Anthony Hopkins. The energy and magnetism of Banderas in this role is something you have to see. The transformation from bandit to full fledged masked hero is wonderfully told by director Martin Campbell. If you could see only one movie this summer, The Mask of Zorro is refreshingly devoid of all those special effects, and relies on a great story, acting and cinematography that entertains at the highest level. Catherine Zeta Jones is the topping on the cake, it all works to perfection, the swordplay is just outstanding. Antonio Banderas did 100% of the swordfights, and he is so athletic, and stylish in the way he handles the blade. This is a movie to see on the big screen in all its glory with a soundtrack on a level with the music from Titanic and wrote by the same James Horner. DO NOT MISS THIS FILM, ONE OF BEST IN 1998.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I can’t remember the last completely formula movie that I enjoyed as much as this one. The key is the casting: Anthony Hopkins (‘nuff said!), Antonio Banderas, and Catherine Zeta-Jones are wonderful in the starring roles with the necessary chemistry present for the film to work. The stunts are impressive and the scenes flow seamlessly with action galore. Yes, there’s plenty of swashbuckling action, but the focus, thank God, is on the storytelling. Otherwise it would have been a long 2:30. Horse stunts, swordplay, adventure, and just the right balance of humor. Roger Ebert commented that in a sea of summer special effects films it is refreshing to see a film like The Mask of Zorro. I agree: Sometimes covering old ground isn’t necessarily a bad thing. Just do it right.

10-point scale rating: 8

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
The best Zorro yet! Though Stephen Hoskins doesn't seem too Latino to me, he hands the Mask to the perfect Zorro, Antonio Banderas, in this slam-bang adventure perfect for the Saturday matinee crowd. Some of the best horse riding stunts I've ever seen and great sword play punctuate this tribute to all the great Zorros of the past, while riding its own impressive horse into the future.

Let me put this way: I can't wait for the sequel. When was the last time you looked forward to a sequel?

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
The Mask of Zorro is a fairly entertaining adventure, but there are little surprises or good memorable events. It's also a little boring, in my opinion. At least it features Anthony Hopkins, a great actor. But that doesn't help much. The director also worked on Goldeneye, which seemed similar in a way. Catherine Zeta-Jones is easy on the eyes though! My rating: * * 1/2

Jul 21, 2003
Jul 25, 2003
Another retake on the Zorro legend. I saw the serial "Zorro's Fighting Legion" and "Zorro, the Gay Blade." those two are much better than the recent release of Zorro. I was bored by this movie. Why do we need another Zorro movie? I don't know, probaby to make Batman look good.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The Mask of Zorro.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2019, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook