Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Meet Joe Black
Death takes a holiday, and decides to take human form, namely Brad Pitt's human form. Death proceeds to fall in love with the daughter of a wealthy media tycoon (Anthony Hopkins), causing all sorts...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Today two movies came out that I've wanted to see for soo long, "I Still Know What You Did Last Summer" and "Meet Joe Black". I just got back from seeing "Meet Joe Black" and I first have to say, I WILL MARRY BRAD PITT!!. He's the most gorgeous person I've ever seen, even better than Leo. For any Brad Pitt fan, you HAVE to see this movie! He is so perfect, cute, funny, and charming. HE IS PERFECT. This movie is really good (it totally made me cry) but Brad Pitt's beautiful face and body is the real reason to see it! Now I gotta go, I'm going to go see "I Still Know What You Did Last Summer". I'm so excited!

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Okay, so it is a bit long (almost 3 hours), but the entertainment factor is definitely WORTH it!Anthony Hopkins is superb and Brad Pitt is georgeous. It is a drama, but it is flavored with delightful sniglets of humor throughout the entire movie.

Delightful suporting cast too!

I'd give it at least a 3 out of a 4 star rating!

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
It was great! I loved it and so romantic. Brad Pitt was great in the movie. You should see it now!!!

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie left me feeling like no other. I can't decide if i like it or not!! Brad Pitt looks hotter than ever though!!

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
The movie, "Meet Joe Black," is a heart moving movie. A definite MUST SEE!!! Set aside three hours and bring tissues! This is well directed and well acted movie! It proves that anyone and everyone has a heart, thus, any circumstance opens itself for people to fall in love. This is not a movie where one needs to bring a date this is a great movie to even go by ones self. I would suggest for everyone to see this movie, expect the unexpected.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Last Saturday I went to see "Meet Joe Black" with my mom, and we both loved it! We were both crying by the end of the movie, and neither of us were looking at our watches during the movie every half-hour or so, which is always a good sign, especially for a three-hour movie.

All the actors were either excellent or very good. Brad Pitt was in the excellent category. He did a great job playing two different roles, and his performance reminded me a lot of Jeff Bridges's performance in "Starman". Both of them played very powerful beings who possessed a lot of knowledge yet knew nothing about human nuances. And of course, Brad is very handsome, which doesn't hurt. :)

Anthony Hopkins is excellent as well. This is the second time I saw him in a movie (the first was "The Mask of Zorro", another terrific movie), and he was just as good in this movie as he was in the other movie. Claire Forlaini was also in the excellent category. She was very pretty, and I saw a good deal of chemistry between her and Pitt.

In short, I loved the movie and I would highly recommed it to others.

Belle Book

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
The real problem with this far-too-long film is Brad Pitt. Now, I'm not a woman, and perhaps am missing the attraction of watching this mega hunk bumble and fumble his way through the real world as a Death that somehow knows nothing about life or the real world (implausible to say the least; it'd make me fear death all the more to have this hunky surfer dude presiding over my last exit) and who has sex like a ken doll plugged into an electrical outlet, complete with the same facial expressions. But for me, there was very little to like about "Meet Joe Black".

There are a few things, however. Anthony Hopkins does a credible job saving the atrocious script (at least his bits); Jeffrey Tambor and Marcia..(her name escapes me at the moment, the older daughter) were just terrific. Tambor's bumbling naivete and general goodness, Marcia ___'s desperate need for love and attention from her father, and Hopkins' endearing love for his daughters are things I will take from this film.

What I won't take (for long) are memories of endless pregnant pauses (I honestly think the editor took very long lunch breaks during the editing of this film); the overbearing and manipulative soundtrack; the TERRIBLY trite and generic dialogue and overall poor writing; and in the end, the one thing I'll soonest forget is the thought of Brad Pitt playing a goofy and pathetic Death.

Wait for rental, for sure.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie is definatly for ladies. I liked it a lot but I knew at the same time that my boyfriend wouldn't. So I am glad that I went with my older sister. Also it is for older people not children. Not that it is too hard to understand but it does take an older person to understand it all. There is sex in it too so I really wouldn't take children. It is a very well put together movie otherwise. I would go see it again if I had the time.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I didn't want to see this movie, but my girlfriend Caitlin wanted to go and she assured me that it would be good. I'm really not the sappy romance movie type, I prefer a Will Smith action flick. But Caitlin has this way of saying "really really good!" with big puppy dog eyes, and twirling her blond hair around her ring finger. So I went. Well, two hours turned into three. And Caitlin was more interested in watching the movie and saying "Why can't YOU be romantic like that?!" So that meant I was stuck watching the movie too. I thought it had possibilities, but it really wasn't good at all. Brad Pitt makes me nauseous. He plays a character that takes over the body of a young guy who the main female character was flirting with in a cafe. He comes to her house and says that he is going to kill her father Anthony Hopkins. Yawn. I decided to play with my M and Ms. I wasted 15 bucks on that movie! Guys, don't take your girlfriends to this movie. You'll regret it.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Bravo to the writer of the movie. Very interesting. Anthony Hopkins has played the role of Bill Parrish very well. Nice father to have. The 'coffee shop' Joe should not return. Should the finale as it is. I think Susan is in love with Joe Black not the coffee shop 'Joe'.

But overall I think its GREAT !!!!

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This three hour movie could have been cut down to two, if only the had not been so many pauses between lines. Anthony Hopkins was the best part of the movie, he always gives a great performance. The beginning was hard to understand, unless you have seen "Death Takes a Holiday". Brad Pitt was stiff and lifeless. The scenes were too long and everything dragged out too far. My husband dragged me to see it, and I almost fell asleep. My husband graduated in Cinema from USC and we both love romances. But we both agree that we were glad we only paid $3 to see it, otherwise I would have asked for my money back! For this movie you don't even have to wait for the rental. Just skip it!

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Meet Joe Black.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2019, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook