Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
The Mummy Returns
Brendan Fraser, Rachel Weisz, and many others are back in this sequel to the funny and successful adventure-comedy.

Starring Brendan Fraser, Rachel Weisz, John Hannah...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

May 4, 2001
This was a good entertaining family type movie. A lot of action, special effects
are great, and it was a good movie. No sex, bad language, blood and guts. Clean action for all the family to enjoy.
May 4, 2001
I was luke-warm on the first "Mummy", but I really enjoyed this one. Definitely less campy than the first.
May 5, 2001
Indiana Jones type movie.....full of excitement and fun. Better then the original Mummy made in 1999........

A plus is the scenary......breathtaking.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
May 5, 2001
I went to go see this on Saturday. I thought that it was going to be another boring sequel, but that’s not the truth. It’s extremely funny, and exciting.

There are a few parts were you think to yourself “yeah that’s believable”, but that only happened to me two times. The action sequences are really cool, so are the special effects. This is one that I definitely recommend.
[--- Good ---]by  
May 5, 2001
Although I truly liked this movie, I liked the original better. I also thought it looked like an Indiana Jones type movie.

Definitally a movie to be seen on the big screen! Go see this movie. You won't be disappointed.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
May 6, 2001
The mummy returns is a great sequel. It surpasses the orignal made in 1999. The movie brings back the all-star cast from the original and adding to its line up is the WWF star: the Rock. The sequel has a lot more action than the first one. It also fills your plate with comedy, suspense, romance, and many others. The special effects have matured greatly since the original.

The movie picks up ten years after the orginal. Evelyn (Weisz)and Rick (Fraser) are now married with an eight year old son, Alex. The awesome couple and son are back on a dig in Egypt after Evelyn has a weird dream that she just can't shake. Following along the same type of plot line as the original. Imotemp "the mummy" is being awakening for the sequel, joining him is his love interest, Auk-sun-amun.

Well I won't give away the plot line but I saw it two times opening weekend and the long lines were worth it. The movie just got better the second time around. See this movie right away, however get tickets early or else you will be left out in the sand.
May 6, 2001
As the first movie of the summer blockbuster season, and as the sequel to the surprise hit of 1999, expectations are high for "The Mummy Returns."

While probably not a candidate for best picture honors next March, this second round does a very credible job of holding up to the original and entertaining the audience as well. Brendan Fraser and Rachel Weisz are married now, and I think there is even more energy between them than when they first met. Returning characters Im-Ho-Tep (the original Mummy), Anck-Su-Namun (his body-painted girlfriend), Ardeth Bay (desert good-guy), and Evie's brother Jonathan complete the sequel transition in a smooth fashion. New to the scene is the son of the happy couple (the main one, not the Mummy & girlfriend), who gets himself involved in the other couple's (the Mummy & girlfriend) ploy to take over the world.

The first film succeeded because it wasn't afraid to poke fun at the action-adventure genre while still supplying the action and special effects that we all crave. The combination kept the viewer entertained.

I'm here to tell you that the original formula is in place again, and this time, they've decided to poke fun at the original as well. All the comedy doesn't drown out the action, which is a good thing, since I'm not a big fan of Brendan Fraser comedies.

One downside was the lower quality special effects than what I was expecting. Perhaps films such as The Phantom Menace have heightened my expectations of computer generated effects, but I found myself noticing that certain backdrops and characters were generated, momentarily de-focusing my attention from the story. This is a minor quibble, and probably has more to do with the fact that I may have been over-scrutinizing the effects from a technical perspective instead of sitting back and enjoying the film. I'll find out when I see it again...

Overall, a very enjoyable film, and well worth the cost of admission. Find a theater with digital sound and a good picture and settle down with your popcorn and soda for a little over two hours of great entertainment!
May 6, 2001
Good movie overall. Very entertaining, though the plot could have been a little stronger. I didn't see the first Mummy, so I was lost at some points in the movie, but I still enjoyed it overall.
May 7, 2001
Tremendously exciting movie with all the over the top action, thrills, humour and characters that made the first one so successful.

This is a true popcorn escapism style movie. One, like the Indiana Jones series, that you’ll want to see again and again.

Although it is largely special effects driven isn’t that what we want from action films these days? Don’t we complain if the special effects are cheap and badly done? Or if an action film has a lack of them?

For me this is the best movie of the year for all around entertainment value and one that I would recommend to anyone who wants to get away from boring old reality for a couple of hours and go on a cinematic, action driven, special effects piloted, rocket to the outer reaches of your imagination.

9/10 fdperth@wiredcity.com.au (If you have any comments, be they good, bad or just constructive, feel free to contact me)
May 8, 2001
This is worth seeing at the theatre. I would not purchase it, though. The special effects are first rate. The visuals otherwise are too. A thumb almost all the way up. As expected.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
May 15, 2001
A very enjoyable movie. Lots of action that is well balanced with humor. I plan on seeing it several more times before I buy it as soon as it comes out on DVD.
May 16, 2001
More fun in "The Mummy Returns," this time the Mummy returns and once again wreck havok on Brandom Frazer and crew.

The film is fun to watch due to the special effects, there is romance and heroism in the movie. More monsters and more bugs (and I like the bugs). I can't say whatever or not the film is better than the orginal, but I'll say that both films are good.

"The Mummy Returns" helps kick off the summer movie season, but see it now before "Tomb Raider" hits theaters.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
May 18, 2001
It's rare that the sequel to a movie is better than the original.. But this one took the cake!! NOT saying the original movie wasn't good, because it MOST definitely was..

The Mummy Returns has the most excellent special effects that I have ever seen!! You won't be disappointed by going to see it.. And placing the WWF Wrestler "THE ROCK" in the movie added that special touch.. I hope that there's a part 3!!!
[--- See Now! ---]by  
May 19, 2001
The Mummy Returns is a total nonstop action movie. It will kept you on the edge of your seat seat. The thrills and special effects of this movie in my opinion make it the best movie since Independence day.

There really isn't much plot, but you really don't realise it during the movie. My summary of the movie is a must see thriller that you will not want to miss, it is just one of those movies that is really intense in a theater!
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
May 19, 2001
Predictable. Take The Mummy 1999 and add a child. The Mummy Returns is a special effect movie with a rehashed plotline.

All of the hype regarding the appearance of "The Rock" is greatly exaggerated for the 10 minutes of screen time that he has. The concept of the Scorpion King is a good one, but doesn't warrant a prequel of its own.
[--- Good ---]by  
May 24, 2001
The first one was better. I think they got a little carried away with it.

You have to see the first one to understand alot of the humour. The end kind of screwed it up.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
May 28, 2001
Well... I *LOVED* the original mummy since it had that "Indiana Jones" feel to it but was a completely new story idea. The sequal was a disappointment because it didn't and it wasn't.

The Mummy Returns could have been a good movie in my opinion, if it had started over from scratch and invented a new plot for the Scorpion King. Instead, it used all the same characters from The Mummy (including Imhotep! wasn't he... um... dead?), no matter how badly they fit in the story. I was disappointed.

One of the main reasons I wanted to see it was because of all the hype I heard about the Rock, but I reached for some popcorn and almost missed him. Granted, not everyone is as big a WWF fan as me, but I was looking forward to seeing him act in a real role... he didn't. He had one battle scene early in the movie and one spoken line... in ancient egyptian.

The acting and special effects were great... Brendan Fraiser is great as always, and there were a few parts where I jumped, but I just don't think it was worth seven bucks. *shrug*
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jun 16, 2001
I really liked the first movie, it was good. I saw the previews for this and I thought this was going to be even better, but alot of the times a sequal is usually the same, worse or sometimes a little better.

Oh man when I saw this movie it's like The Mummy times ten. The first one was cool for the special effects, well this one had alot more which were all really cool and realistic. This is a movie you have to watch on the bigscreen to get the full effect because it also has good sound.

Hurry and see it!!!!!!!
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jun 16, 2001
See this movie if you liked the first one and like indiana jones type action. It had a prety good story but some side plots were weak.

Make sure you see the first one first!
[--- Good ---]by  
Jun 24, 2001
Good entertainment.Lots of action and adventure. If you liked the first Mummy you should definitely enjoy this one too.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Aug 29, 2001
Better than the first far as the undead warriors and scenery. Could have done without the Rock. Story line was more involved and kept you on your toes. Ending is kinda disapointing, but thats me.

All in all go see it very very good movie.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The Mummy Returns.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2020, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook