Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster

Remove ads with our VIP Service
The Patriot
Mel Gibson stars as a reluctant hero who is swept into the American Revolution when the war reaches his home and threatens his family.

Starring Mel Gibson, Tcheky Karyo, Heath Ledger...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jul 2, 2000
This is not a great movie but I found it entertaining. Its a war movie so be prepared for major battle field action. The scope, scale, and spaciousness of many scenes was impressive and is the main reason I'd recommend seeing it on the big screen now instead of waiting for the video release.

There's a wonderful scene of the Charleston waterfront for example with all the tall ships in port. Computer generated or not its quite a stunning set. As for the obvious comparison with Bravehart, no, its not as good. The script was kind of routine and the pacing could have been better. But if you liked Bravehart you will enjoy The Patriot.

What I almost like more than the movie itself is the anticipation of all the liberal media elites tripping over each other to see who can most effectively eviscerate the film without coming across as overly biased. That it comes out for the 4th of July only makes the film critics task of panning it slightly more challenging. The list of Hollywood rules broken in this film is rather remarkable for a single piece of work:

American white forefathers portrayed as rather heroic
Women stay home and raise babies
Blacks in subservient roles without elevating racism to a major theme
Black nanny seemingly liking her job and family members caring about her as well
Taking up of arms in defense against a lawful but detested government
Children taking up arms; defending themselves and family
Father as a strong family leader being treated with great respect by submissive children
People talking to each other politely with civility and deference; I don't believe there was a single vulgar word in the entire film
No nudity or sex (though a couple of low bust line scenes in the outdoors seemed to beg for liberal use of Deep-Woods-Off.)
Prayer and Christian religion portrayed as important and intimately coupled with every day life.

The anti-gun folks are going to scream bloody murder. The feminists are going to hate it. The civil rights types will have plenty of ammunition to spew about. The anti-religion/Christian groups are going to hate it. Liberals and many academics are going to hate it. The animal rights folks will come away in fairly good shape (at least the 6 or 7 that don't also belong to one of the other above groups).

But for the remaining 70% that enjoy a Mel Gibson film from time to time and can see a film for what it is (good grief, its just a movie) you will be entertained as well.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jul 2, 2000
Ultimately the best movie I have seen in the last three years. Mel Gibson has outdone himself with his portrayal of what the American Revolution was like. Without a doubt, a film with multiple oscar winning potential dispite it being a war epic.

Kevin Costner could take some tips from Mel Gibson as to how to make a long movie seem to go by quickly and still keep your attention.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jul 3, 2000
Better than Braveheart.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jul 4, 2000
This is just one of those movies that is a must see on the big screen! Lots of
veteran actors doing terrific jobs even in the smaller parts. Makes you remember that war was pretty bad even back then.

This is one movie I hope they make a wide screen version for on video. We really enjoyed this movie. (We also have a notion that Heath Ledger is going to give Leo de C a real run for his money in the "cutest hunk on the screen" category.)
[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jul 5, 2000
This movie sucked. It was one of the worst movies I have ever seen. This movie is so historicaly inncorrect.

This movie will provide Americans with wrong innformation about the history of the time. The only thing that is true in the movie, is that the Americans did win the war, other then that everything accept the Generals seems to be made up.
The worst part of the whole movie is the portrail of one of the Brithish officers. The movie portraits him as a man without a heart, who kills innocent people, which include men, women, and children. I was sickend by this movie.
[--- Good ---]by  
Jul 5, 2000
Good period piece on the Revolutionary War, but chop off about one hour from the film. Too much sentimental BS, the emotional appeal is over played.

I do recommend seeing this at the theater. The battle scenes are not going to be as good on the small screen, but go to the matinee for the cheaper price and you might get home before morning.
[--- Good ---]by  
Jul 5, 2000
This movie is really hard to give a rating. I found it excellent, but is not for everyone.

This movie will play with all of your emotions. It has the bloodly battle scenes like a Braveheart or Saving Private Ryan. They are not overdone, but they are a bit much at times. The acting was great, from Mel Gibson all the way down.

For people who like Braveheart and Saving Private Ryan, I think you would like this one!
[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jul 29, 2000
When I was picking a rating for this film, I had to do a great deal of soul searching. The reason for this is because the Patriot is not really a bad film, it's just not a good one. How do you rate a film that, in all fairness, should really be seen on the big screen to get the full impact of the scenes, and yet you feel the movie is not that good of a film in the first place?

If you are a big Mel Gibson fan you are in luck, this movie was made for him and many of the scenes have him in full action saving the country. There is plenty of action in this movie, but after an hour or so you get rather sick of all the blood and guts. You have to wonder why the director wanted to put in so much gore in the first place. Granted, war is a messy business, but I think this movie goes far beyond what is necessary to illustrate the point.

I always thought the main purpose of a movie was to be entertaining. I was entertained a little, but I was also disappointed. I was expecting something quite a bit different. From the previews I thought the movie was going to be a wonderful film about the Revolutionary War and how the country was formed. Instead, what I saw was a very bloody film which I feel has little or no historical significance at all. But then again, nobody said this movie was historically correct. Still, when the movie was over I left the theater feeling as though I was somehow cheated out of a good time. I guess that I had such high expectations about this movie, and then when I went to see it, it more or less burst my bubble.

To sum it up .... If you feel you really have to see it, see it on the big screen. But if you are busy and you happen to miss it, consider yourself lucky because what you missed was not that good anyway.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jul 30, 2000
EXCELLENT EXCELLENT EXCELLENT!!!!

This movie is historically accurate right down to the details of the buttons of the coats.

I can't wait to see it again.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Aug 15, 2000
I went to see movie after my 18 yr old told me to go. My wife and I found it very interesting and enjoyable. Then my 2 other teenage daus. really liked it. I found the fact my children liked the same movie a surprise. But, history when presented in a active mode is interesting.
[--- Good ---]by  
Sep 18, 2000
Interesting, powerful...must see on the big screen.
Nov 1, 2000
I thought this was a good movie, not brilliant like Mel’s other historical offering ‘Brave Heart’ But certainly better than Roland Emmerich’s usual efforts (ie Godzilla & Independence Day)

I’m a bit of a history buff and the battle scenes, period costumes and way of life were very well done…………My only real disappointment was the way the producers and director portrayed, unrealistically, the slaves in that period.

For me, this movie was reminiscent of ‘Last of the Mohicans’ with Daniel Day-Lewis. It has plenty of action and a halfway decent (True?) story, even though it is wildly inaccurate historically.

Apparently Mel Gibson’s character was originally scripted to be the real historical figure Francis Marion, "The Swamp Fox," but after historians informed the filmmakers of some of the more sordid aspects of Marion's life (slaughtering Indians, raping his female slaves) they decided to create a fictional story and a more likeable hero.

I could see it again, but will probably wait until video. 7/10 glenk@foxit.com.au
May 21, 2003
Mel Gibson gives a brilliant performance as a family man who is drawn into the American Revolution after his son was slain. This is probaby the first movie in years that deal with the American Revolution. something that filmmakers tend to ignore. The main villian in the movie is a British General who kill civilians and sat houses on fire with people trapped inside. It might shock some people because the British is seen today as our alley. The film's streight isn't come from those war scenes, but it was Gibson's love for his family that fuels this movie.
Sep 11, 2003
This one almost gets a "See Now!" from me. I wasn't expecting much and was pleasantly surprised.

Well worth seeing if you get the chance, and watch out for that cannonball!
Jul 6, 2016
The Patriot is a fun, entertaining movie. Is it completely historically accurate? Of course not. It's an extreme historical dramatization film, and the dramatization is not historically accurate. Many people see this as an extreme negative, but it's not. Just because historical dramatization movies aren't historically accurate doesn't mean that they are bad films. A perfect example of this is Tarantino's Inglorious Bastards. This isn't to say that The Patriot is as good of a movie as Inglorious Bastards because it's not, it's just to prove a point that extreme dramatization isn't always bad.

Besides, could you really expect a film starring Mel Gibson and Heath Ledger directed by Roland Emmerich about the American Revolution to be historically accurate?

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The Patriot.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2019, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook