Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

Remove ads with our VIP Service
The Perfect Storm
In the Fall of 1991, the Andrea Gail left Gloucester, Mass. and headed for the fishing grounds of the North Atlantic. Two weeks later, an event took place that had never occurred in recorded history.

Starring George Clooney, Mark Wahlberg, Diane Lane...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jul 1, 2000
Over two long hours of noise. We couldn't understand or really hear what the characters were saying, storm or no storm.

Sometimes a character used an accent and then sometimes forgot to use it. I got up to use the Restroom, which I never do for fear of missing something important. I took my time, came back and was told I didn't miss a thing.

It was funny how during the storm large pieces of metal flew off the ship like paper, but people remained on. The ship's windows broke, then they were there again. The pg13 part probably came from the one time use of the "f" word. It wasn't needed. Actually that word and mayday are some of the only words we heard.

The story was disjointed, much like this review. You didn't get to know the characters and therefore didn't really care. If you rent the movie, you won't get the same effect as on the big screen as far as the storm part goes, but paying money just for that wasn't worth it.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jul 2, 2000
Although I realize some will disagree with me on this one...I personally found this to be a terrific movie filled with action and excitment and a good deal of emotion.

Based on true events surrounding a storm that hit the North Atlantic in the fall of '91 this film definitely gave one the sense of peril that must surely have been felt by those who were unlucky enought to be caught up in that devestating natural disaster.

The cinematography was breathtaking, the acting was supurb and the characters were given life by a well developed script that truely made me feel the loss of those unfortunate men on board the Andrea Gail and the heartach of those left behind.

While it will lose some of it's scope on a small screen, I do plan to buy this on video when it comes out. I found this human drama to be well worth watching again and again.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jul 3, 2000
I totally agree with Greg it is a Great movie well worth seeing now!!!! Especially on the big screen at the theaters.

After reading the first and only review that was on here yesterday I almost backed off seeing it. I am now glad i did'nt let that stop me.

(Word of caution though, if you are prone to seasickness be prepared for all the wild waves.)
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jul 5, 2000
Excellent!! A must see movie.

The story line was great, the action was non stop the actors were "real". A sure fire award winner.
[--- Good ---]by  
Jul 8, 2000
Just back from the theater after watching the "storm" and I have to tell ya' , on the drive home I had a strange feeling of sea sickeness. This feeling is important to the review because I regularly fish in the gulf of mexico and I don't even get sea sick while on the water. By and large I would rate this movie as better than average but I would not expect many, if any, nominations from the Academy.

For the most part the special effects were amazingly well done except for the " Son of Jaws" that got washed aboard in one scene while reeling in the long lines. I actually burst out in laughter, and had several people seated nearby look at me with that "Perplexed Canine Head Tilt" sort of gaze, wondering why the heck I was laughing. I can only surmise that the ones amazed by my reaction have yet to catch a real shark while fishing.

I have to agree with the other posters about this flicks need to be seen on the big screen for effect but if you can catch it during a matinee showing it would be better for two reasons: You could save some coin and perhaps the " drive home sea leg syndrome " would be less prevalent in the daytime departure as opposed to the dusk departure.

I am usually a pretty harsh critic when it comes to movies so you should take this into consideration as well.

Would I pay to see it again on the big screen ? No
Would I rent it later to watch at home ? Perhaps
Do they charge too much for popcorn and sodas at the cinema ? Definately !
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jul 9, 2000
Lately there have been movies with plots about stupid people making stupid decisions causing other people their lives. In this film super testerone George Cooney wants to be number 1 in fish catching takes his crew into unsafe waters and sails right into a hurricane.

Another threesome sails on their boat from New Hampshire to Bermuda and runs into the same hurricane. The result is tragedy.

This tiresome plot seems to be common this summer. As one movie goer I am tired of watching stupid people do stupid things
[--- Good ---]by  
Jul 27, 2000
The Perfect Storm is a movie that is worth seeing once, but is not one that I would want to see again, and I certainly would not want to buy it on DVD.

The movie starts out rather slow, supposedly to build the plot and the characters, but while slow may be okay in most cases, this movie crawls slower than a snail. I almost fell asleep during the first 30 minutes of the film.

When the storm finally hits, it continues for what seems to be an eternity. I admit there was a lot of action during the storm, but it was way over done. The special effects were well done, but there were so many of them they got old real fast. As far as I am concerned, special effects should be used to enhance a movie. You cannot make a bad movie good with special effects. But bad special effects can make a really good movie seem average.

This movie is average at best, and I almost want to say that people should wait until it comes out on tape or DVD so they can rent it rather than pay full price to see it in a theater. But, seeing it on the big screen is impressive in some ways and because of that I suggest you do see it on the big screen.

To sum it up .... See it once in a theater and forget about it.
[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Sep 17, 2000
one word: boring.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The Perfect Storm.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2020, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook