Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Practical Magic
Sally (Sandra Bullock) and Gillian (Nicole Kidman) Owens have always known they were different. Raised by their aunts (Dianne Wiest and Stockard Channing) after their parents' death, the sisters grew...  View more >

Starring Sandra Bullock, Nicole Kidman, Dianne Wiest...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Excellent adaptation of the book. Very "freaky" in some parts...do not allow or bring the kids to see this one! Nicole Kidman gives a stellar performance, as does Sandra Bullock. Stockard Channing and Dianne Wiest steal scenes with their wit and humour. Aiden Quinn paints a sexy, menacing figure for the last half of the show.

Jan 25, 2000
First of all, I liked it somewhat. This film takes a senstive look at the life of today's witches and the struggles they face. Nicole Kidman and Sandra Bullock portray two witches who are sent off to live with their two witch aunts. The aunts teach the two how to appreciate their talents and skills. Unfortunately, the community in which they live treat them with little respect or admiration. Nicole Kidman, the wilder of the two, goes off to see the world and find her place in it; while Sandra Bullock remains behind to help the aunts. Part of the story centers around an old family curse which has the males who fall in love with these women meet untimely deaths. While this film doesn't allow the talents of Kidman and Bullock to shine, it does bring out some great talent from Dianne Wiest and Stockard Channing in their two roles as aunts. Bottom line...if you are looking for a cute film to see this Halloween that won't scare the pumpkins out of you...this is it.
[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
The movie needed to have a warning on the T.V. ads saying this movie contains no real magic. If the magic in the story was suposed to be real they need to change a few things,
1. no people or animals are hurt when (real)witches cast spells.
2. magic is not a point and shoot sort of thing. (you cant point a finger and have something happen.)
3. witches don't fly or hex people.
4. witches can't bring people back to life, or stir there drinks by thinking about it.

The most disturbing thing about the movie is the way they used the pentagram. The pentgram is supposed to represent the elements not some hollywood reserecuraton trash. If you would like more informaition please E-mail me at christy_111@hotmail.com (Spam and mail boming will be reported and ignored)

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Hi! I thought this movie was differnet and kind of eerie but I still enjoyed it. You kind of need something scary once in a while. The actors all did a great job. I don't think any kid under the age of 11 would enjoy this movie. I went to see it with a 9 year old and she got scared out her wits. I liked it though. I was surprised the way it turned out. This is kind of a romantic comedy, eventhough it's all about witches. It got pretty weird sometimes too. Megan

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I loved the book and although the film veers somewhat from the novel (as nearly all movies adapted from a book tend to), I still enjoyed the screen version and was pleasantly surprised. Sandra Bullock and Nicole Kidman have a natural chemistry that makes them believable as sisters and Diane Weist and Stockard Channing are delicious as the eccentric aunts. What critics seem to pan about this movie (can't decide what it wants to be, jumps around,etc...) is actually what I liked about it....it had just a little bit of everything to keep it from getting too trite. Off course it was easier to fill in some of the gaps (like the connection with Sally's letter) if you read the novel and the movie would have benefited greatly from giving the aunts more screen time. But from a visual stand point, this movie is a treat. All the ladies are absolutely charming, right down to their quirky little outfits and the house is to die for (he-he). So what if each scene looks like a page from a Pottery Barn catalogue and that the bread on the dinning table never seems to get eaten. After all, it is a fantasy and part of this movie's appeal is that the line between the mundane and the magical is as thin as you allow it to be.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
The movie was cute... it did have a few "cheezy" scenes, but overall the acting was good, and it had a fun story line. I don't really have anything against this movie, but I think it would be best if you saved your $6 and waited to see it for $1.50 on rental.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Music was good, except for the overblown "Star Wars come Titanic" bits, and so were the performances, but the story wasn't and the attempt to combine a Disney-like fantasy/comedy with drama and horror simply did not work.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
For weeks, the previews for "Practical Magic," a movie based on the 1995 best seller by Alice Hoffman, enticed me. With Halloween and a full moon just freshly in the past, I was in the perfect mood for this cleverly "crafted" film about a family of witches. After seeing such reputable actresses as Nicole Kidman and Sandra Bullock in the leading roles, I was positive I was in for a real treat. However, I was tricked. Coinciding with what the advertisements promised, the first 45 minutes dealt with the struggling love lives of the Owens' women. Dating back for centuries, this family tree of witches had a curse that doomed any man ever loved by an Owens woman. Resulting from this curse, the movie picks up after an unfortunate accident involving the parents of Sally Owens, Bullock's character, and Gillian Owens, played by Nicole Kidman. The two sisters are now forced to live with their mysterious aunts. Here the two girls will be taught to discover their strange talents by learning about their family traditions. Sadly though, Sally and Gilliann realize that they are different when all the other kids don't want to play with them. Dealing with this social issue, Sally spends most of her life denying her true identity by trying to fit in and be "normal." On the othet hand, Gillian accepts her responsibilities as a witch, and takes advantage of the opportunity. These differences cause the two sisters to lead completely opposite lifestyles. Then, the plot of the movie takes an unexpected turn. The two sisters are reunited and bond while the second half of the film revolves around a murderand its cover up. I was caught completely by surprise. I had been introduced to a whole new story line that had absolutely nothing to do with the beginning. The only thing "witchy" about the rest of the movie was a haunting and a couple of sightings of a black cat now and then. There were a few special effects that helped add a supernatural element though. These effects made coffee stir itself, brought the dead back to life, and let the women fly off of rooftops. Even the fine acting was spoiled by the rotten plot. Sandra Bullock did an excellent job of trying to play mother, a witch, and a co-conspirator at the same time. Nicole Kidman had to piece together her personality of a juvenile temptress, a witch, and also a conspirator. But even the combination of their acting efforts were not enough when spread too thin. I guess going into a movie with expectations, and then seeing something totally different is what turned me off of "Practical Magic." The two major themes just didn't fuse together making the plot seem to jump around. Maybe the book ties in the two ideas better. I am just glad that it only cost me $3.50.

Jan 26, 2004
Sandra Bullock and Nicole Kidman are two witches who spells get themselves into trouble. the film is called "Practical Magic" and it about sisterly love, no matter the profession. the film also talks about the prejudice between the witches and the local town that dislikes them.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Practical Magic.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
News Headlines - Theaters - Movies - Reader Reviews - Movie Links
Your Account - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2020, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook