Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Scream 2

Starring Jada Pinkett, Omar Epps, Heather Graham...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
It was one of the best horror films I have ever seen, keeping you guessing till the end you truely don't really know who did it till the end, fantastic in visuals as well, I was kinda disappointed in the fact that they focused too much on one thing and not the other, but I'm going to review it all over again when I see it again tomorrow!

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Scream 2 is One of the few sequels I have ever seen that actually lives up to the original, others include Aliens and T2(oddly enough both are mentioned in a scene of the movie where they talk about how sequels usually suck and they are the exception) Scream 2 has an incredible cast and their character development surpasses the first film, especially that of Gale Weathers. And interestingly enough by the end any one of them seems like a possible killer. The jump factor in the movie is substaially high and Craven's directing is taught and well-done, especially in such scenes as the greek tragedy scene(you have to see this to understand). Yet the film is not as funny as the original the parts that are funny are really funny and the movie inside the movie is hilarious in his own respect. Scream 2 is MUCH scarier than the original and much more gory, but not to the point of too much gore. Williamson's script is much deeper and more like an intelligent thriller than a horror movie, and his willingness to poke fun at his own story enhances the film even more. I can't tell you much more without givin too much away, but I was really impressed with one line in the film. As Jada Pinkett watches Stab(the movie inside the movie about the events in the first film)in the scene with Casey Becker, Jada says "Bitch, Hang up the phone and *69 his ass" which is funny cause that is almost exactly what I was yellin at the screen when I saw Scream in the theater almost a year ago. And on one final note, to answer the repeated question from the killer - "What's your favorite scary movie?" I'd have to say Scream 2, and I think after you see it, you'll think so too.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie is good, but I still think the first Scream was better. It is fun to watch, Who will get killed in the movie and it is much scaryier then "I know what you did this summer" That movie was a big disapointing and in Scream 2 will not be a disapointment to Scream fans of the first movie. Scream 2 is still a good horror movie to watch with some comedy in it.

Rating:***1/2

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Rarely does a sequel ever surpass a film, or even equal it. Rarely. Of course, there is "The Empire Strikes Back" to the original "Star Wars" (even though that is just a continuance of a story that was already written), "Ace Ventura: When Nature Calls" was better than the original, so was "Grumpier Old Men" to "Grumpy Old Men", for example. Then there are the equality films, like Terminator 2 to the First Terminator (which was far better, actually, because the film had a more realistic nightmare; T2 just had better special effects). A sequel barely passes the original because it is just rehashing its old formula for more cheap thrills for box office dollar.

Yet "Scream 2", for all its hype about whether it is steam from the amazing original is over, you will be glad to know that this film is as good as the original, but not better. Which is odd because the film is a satire of itself, since the words "Sequels suck!" find its way into the movie. Working again from a screenplay by Kevin Williamson and under the direction of Wes Craven, "Scream 2" is hardly one of the best films of the year, but it is one of the year's most entertaining and funny.

Once again, the film opens with the same opening scene that made "Scream" a classic: the one that kept it entirely apart from the rest of the movie. In the first movie, we saw Drew Barrymore get harassed by a stalker and then killed by him; now it is Jada Pinkett and hubby Omar Epps as the killed. Ironically (a big word that is apparent throughout both the movies), the couple go to a free sneak preview of "Stab", which is based on all the murders from the original "Scream" in Woodsboro, and written by none other than tabloid idiot Gail Weathers (Courtney Cox). Double ironic happens when what actually happens on screen is the opening from the original "Scream", but it is the post-filmed version of what Weathers actually thought what happened. So we see a bogus retelling of Casey Becker, this time played by Sarah Michelle Gellar, get into the shower, then sneak around the house like an idiot and get easily killed by the guy with the Ghost Mask. Idiotic, of course, but it is fun watching what Hollywood misinterprets as cold hard evidence.

Both Pinkett and Epps (college students) get killed, the title "SCREAM 2" blasts on the screen, and instantly we move to a college, where the film's original characters reappear, the ones that survive anyway: Sidney Prescott (Neve Campbell), the tough as nails chick that was the almost victim, Randy (Jamie Kennedy), the genius on slasher flicks (not even deservant enough to be titled films), and goofy, lovable Deputy Sheriff Dewey (David Arquette), who appears on campus (with a dislocated arm thanks to the original killer) after the news about the murders to protect Sidney.

There are new characters as well, including Sidney's boyfriend (Jerry O'Connell), Mickey, the "Freaky Tarantino Film Student", and Ms. Salt (Laurie Metcalfe), the nosey reporter who takes a shrine to Gail Weathers. Before you can say "Oh, no, not more murders", college students start dropping like flies, and the killer is on the prowl, stalking beautiful teenagers again and questioning who the real killer is.

"Scream 2" is great fun, a dynamic and well-written satire of horror films that is both cheesy and entertaining at the same time. While it bogs a little bit, and it is excessively gory (do we really need all of it?), it has a great time fooling the audience with disarming quiet and goofy slasher music (thanks to composer Marco Beltrami), with the nicest touch, adding Hans Zimmers' "Broken Arrow" theme to Dewey, every time he shows up on screen. These touches, along with many other, make movies like "Scream 2" the reason I go to the movies: to be entertained. Thank god, and Wes Craven, for that.

Grade: A-

Tech Review:

Picture: 4 A good picture with good blacks and details, fine resolution and clarity. It needs more colors, though.

Sound: 3 A middling dts mix (also with Dolby Digital and SDDS) that has some good split surrounds (especially during the opening sequence), but other than that it all collapses into mono soundstage.

Photography: 5 Just like the original, it is filmed in grand Panavision, far superior than the flat format. Great angles and shots with scope.

Length: 121 minutes. Rated R for excessive gore and language. Any questions or comments would be greatly appreciated at jwhyte2@hotmail.com

Jan 25, 2000
Bringing back the people that survived Scream, Scream 2 picks up two years in the future. Sidney (Neve Campbell) and Randy (Jamie Kennedy) are now enrolled in college and Gale Weathers (Courteney Cox) has written a book about the events that took place in Scream, which has been made into a movie (Stab).

Scream 2 opens with a young couple attending a sneak preview of the new movie "Stab". Everyone in attendance is issued a costume, just like the one used by the killer in the original Scream, as a publicity stunt by the studio. Well, anyone can guess where this will go....

So, the murders start up again with a couple of random college students biting the big one, and then gets down to business by targeting pretty much everyone else.

The only performance that I thought was better this time around than last was that of Courteney Cox, I thought she did a great job.

Scream 2 inherits the qualities of Scream. I felt it was consistent in theme and style, but not overly new and creative. It makes a nice companion movie but doesn't necessarily break new ground.

Did it keep me guessing like the first movie? Sort of. The problem was that there weren't enough new characters. In the original, everyone was a suspect, this time around, well, I wouldn't want to give anything away...

Copyright 1997 - Ron Higgins No unauthorized publication or distribution without the consent of Ron Higgins.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Not many sequels are better than the original but, Scream 2 is extremely better than the first.

With a bigger cast there is more people to get killed, which isn't exactly better but, it keeps you interested. I recommend not seeing it by yourself or you may get nervous about the people sitting around you. It by far surpasses Scream in jump factor and guts and gore factor. If you aren't on the edge of your seat for almost the entire movie, you'll definetly be out of your seat a couple times. Especially when you least expect it. On the mention of guts and gore, you might want to close your eyes once in a while.

The cast was outstanding, especially, Neve Campbell. She stands out and shows her true acting ability in Scream 2. Not that it was doubtful that she was a great actress before Scream 2, but this verifys it. Well, I really can't think of anything else to say about it except that it great and you HAVE to see it.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
It was a good movie yes the first was better, but this one was good. I have seen it 3times and if you haven't seen it I think you should go see it

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I think Scream 2 was one of the best movies that I have ever seen. It is as good as Scream. If you did not see Scream you will never get Scream 2. During the movie you can guess who the killer is but you will not find out to the end. It deserves two thumbs up in my book.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie was a total bore, first they wanted to do a sequel like others, not as good as the first, well it is a success, this is really bad. They made jokes about the first movie, ok, that may be funny, but what if i haven't seen the first one, it would have been a bore, the acting is really lame, not only they are too young to act but these teenager movies should be banned, they are too bad for viewers to see. Don't go see it, no tension at all, and really makes no sense. email akaspeak@hotmail.com for comments.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie had me jumping out of my seat. One note: if you have not seen the first "Scream", you should rent it before going to this movie. The sequel contains many references back to the original movie which would be lost on those new to the series. In fact, I would suggest that even those who did see the original rent and watch it again, to allow for full appreciation of the sequel. And yes, I also feel that this movie is at least as good as the first "Scream".

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I have seen some better horror moview I think the first one was much better because it was the original I wouldn't worry about seeing it right now because it'll be at the movies for a while

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I thought this movie was ok, but it focused too much on killing characters we really don't care too much about. It had a very strange outcome that almost made the movie way too cheesy. Scream1 was much more clever and entertaining, this one was a less scary joke. A 3rd Scream (which has been said will complete this trilogy) will be difficult to create, Scream2 barely had any originality to it, they will have to come up with some major new plots that are more interesting if they want a successful 3rd sequel.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Scream 2 was as good as the original it kept the audience thinking and pondering who the killer is. I had my own pick of who the killer may be, but in the end of course I was totally wrong. The actors and actresses had a lot to do with the movie also. They all did great. I can't tell the movie cause then you'll know the film basis but I can tell you that the show was great and I would see it if I were you. It was a bit more intense than that of the first and along with a lot more gorry scenes but that is to be expected. I think the best part of the movie for me was the begining because it falls as if you were in the first movie not tacky kind of a bright way to start off a sequal to a movie kind of a reminder as to what happened in the first to refresh the people's minds. Take a trip to the Cinema if you haven't already.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
'Sequels normally suck!' That was the type of comment I kept hearing from my friends when the news about Scream 2 was out. But boy, were they wrong! I can confidently say that this sequel was as good as the original- the thrills, suspence and terror of Scream were not spared here. You won't be able to even guess who the killer is until right at the end (watch out for the way cool ending!) Generally, this is a 'must watch' movie. Don't miss it!

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Wes Craven and Kevin Williamson once again team up in a horror movie, but this time they prove to us that not all sequels suck, a topic that is debated through out the film. All the Scream veterans are back including some new ones such as Sarah Michelle Gelllar, Jerry Connely, Jada Pinkett, and Omar Epps. I will not tell you any parts the of the story (You'll enjoy the movie More) but I will make one complaint: It is almost impossible to guess who the killer(s) is(are). Craven and Williamson were born to work on this kind of work and they surprisingly pull off another milestone in moviemaking of the horror genre.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie rocks!! I took two friends to see it , we were both jumping at any sound for a week! A total must see! You have to see SCREAM first though!

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I thought it sucked. It was whimpy! I would've gone to see little mermaid. I would give it a 1!! My name is Alex I am 18. I do not think you would like It!!

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This sequel is not even remotely as good as the first Scream. It is a typical example of how no matter how high the demand for a sequel, they just don't cut it. The acting is poor, the story is poorer, and it was a total let down. The best thing about seeing this at the theater was the popcorn.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I liked the movie. I thought Scream was better with Stu, Matthew Lillard. I liked Scream 2 about as much as the first. If I were you I would go see it. I give it a ***.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
WOW! All I can say about this movie is WOW! I can remember a few years back renting the original Scream and lovin it! I do enjoy scary movies quite a bit, and I must say, Scream 2 is equal, if not better than the original. Neve Campbell, David Arquette, and Courtney Cox return in the sequal...all of which, of course, survive. The movie is now avaliable to rent on videocassete, however, nothing can take the excitement away from seeing it on the big screen, which I had theoppertunity to do when it was brought back. Rent this film now, get some popcorn, A "ghost killer" outfit and get someone to watch it with, then WATCH IT!

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Scream 2 was pretty good, but the first one was better! If you didn't catch it on the big screen DONT WORRY.

Jul 16, 2003
This movie continued the fun from the first film. the second Scream is better and funnier than tha first with plenty of plot twist that will keep horror fans on edge. I scream, you scream, we scream for "Scream 2."

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Scream 2.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2019, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook