Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

Remove ads with our VIP Service
The Siege
An FBI agent, a CIA operative, and an Army General form an alliance (each with their own agenda) to combat an outbreak of terrorism in New York City.

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
The Seige was a pretty damn good movie. It had good action and a pretty decent plot. There were a few problems, though, that prevented me from giving it a "See Now" rating. First off, Kurt Douglas (I think that's his name, the General Guy), goes from being a good guy to being a guy we're supposed to hate and be against with no charecter development. Also, many charecters and situations go unexplained. Basically if this movie had taken more time to develop charecters and less time showing a nude guy run around a bedroom it would have been better.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
The Siege is a rather predictable film in which Palestinian terrorists attack New York City.The army is called in and the General takes over and declares martial law. The FBI in this film are the good guys, who are trying to investigate and prosecute through the rule of law. Not much depth takes place in terms of why we have Palestinian terrorists in the first place, nor do we have creative characterizations. But we have an entertaining film that in spite of itself raises some questions in the public marketplace. Denzel Washington can posture in this film which he does well and does Bruce Willis.The end is not satisfactory dramatically. It seems as though somehow the producers had to find an ending quickly.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie is what I love to see. FBI everywhere. The story line: Denzel Washington plays the FBI Special Agent in Charge (SAC) for the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)'s New York City field office. Denzel is forced to deal with terrorist bombings in the New York Area. First, a bus is blown, then a Broadway theater, and then, the New York FBI Building is bombed. Denzel is aided, but somewhat shaddowed by CIA Opperative Sharon played by Anette Benning. In result to the bombimg, the President orders Martial Law to be declared on the City. General Beleveau, played by Bruce Willis takes charge. Tanks roll in, army soldiers take the street armed with Assult Riffles and heavy artiliary...turning new york into an anti-constitutional town. Denzel and the rest of the FBI try their best to offset this invasion and continue to investigate. All and all, a superb film, and I recommend to all. As many of you can probably tell, I love the FBI and what they do. I plan to make a career for myself working with them, solving crimes, and investigating foreign threats. Law Enforcement is what I beleive in. This film depicts the FBI in a very good way. I was pleased. One technicallity I noticed about the FBI here, is in how they presented the FBI Agent Credentials. Being who I am, I know what they look like, and the only thing this film did right, was to put the badge itself on the front of the Wallet, away from the actual credentials.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
It was a good movie, but the plot moved slowly. Many of the items that occur in the movie go unexplained and leave you wondering. Some of the effects are good. It's nothing to run and see, but it is something worth watching at some point. Denzel does a great job in the movie, Bruce is o.k. I guess I expected more, yet I wasn't entirely disappointed.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Washington was great. Bening was great. A very intelligent political thriller with some important underlying themes.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Action packed movie but not much of a plot line.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
i did not like this crapy movie but it would have been okay if i didn't have to pay seven dollars for it.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
The Siege is an interesting movie, a movie, that I liked. It's got an interesting plot with some good scenes and dialogue. There's not much more to say, really. Bruce Willis appears as a sort of villain character, but he's not in it enough. Denzel Washington and Annette Bening are pretty good in their roles. And I love those red lasers on the ends of the guns in one scene. My rating: * * *

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I personallly felt for my age that the plot was different then other movies I have seen. The plot was excelent but the direction needed help. I missed some of the things they were trying to tell you. Oh well. I can't always see everything at once and some of the sutalties of the movies are too well hidden. The violence that I was looking forward to seeing, was not as bad as I thought it would be. All in all I would reccomend this movie to all over Eighteen. I gave it three and one half thumbs up.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
While Seige moves slow at times, it still has enough strong acting and storyline to keep the audience involved. Key moments are downright chilling, especially for movie goers. It's one of those movies that makes you stop and think afterwards as to whether the scenario could really ever become a reality. The preface isn't strong enough to make the audience fully take the bait, however. Good enough to keep you entertained and a good performance by Denzel Washington.

May 21, 2003

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The Siege.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2019, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook